We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Come as a guest, leave as a friend!" is the best way to describe this amazing resort”
Review of Li River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Li River Resort
Ranked #5 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed in Li River Resort for 5 nights. We had a superior bed room, which was huge! The bathroom was amazing, and we could feel that much thought was put into all details. Overall the place is very well kept, and in high level.
We ate some meals at the restaurant "Amy on the Li", and the food was really good. There were traditional Chinese dishes as well as Western food. I am a vegetarian, but my husband not at all, and we each had enough choices from the menu. They even make their own bread and yogurt so as to keep the level of food high.
The Chinese staff speaks good English, and are very helpful. The owner of the resort puts a lot of effort to have good, dedicated people working there. We run into some technical difficulties due to heavy rains, and the staff and owner of the resort helped us out.
The pool is very nice and the view from the bedroom windows and all over the resort is awesome.
We traveled in China for three weeks, and this is by far the best place we stayed at. When we left, we felt the best way to describe our stay is "we came as guests, and left as friends!"

Room Tip: All rooms look fine, all facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ofer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Ofer K,

We do try to make everyone feel at hone when they arrive here. Our staff are really nice people and want everyone to have a great experience here.

It is so nice that you had a great time here and that you enjoyed everything we had to offer here, the restaurant, the pool, your room and our hospitality.

Have fun in your travels and hopefully we will meet again.

Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

If you would like to stay in a smaller, quite place in beautiful nature and still be near Yangshou city, you should stay at Li River Resort. We experienced great help and kindness from Alf and his staff. Both towards us and our children. Much of the staff also speak English and can help arrange trips. The hotel is newly rebuild with very nice rooms and great pool. The food is excellent - both chinese and western food available.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Trine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Trine J,

I am so glad that you enjoy our family run resort. My wife and I have a young family ourselves as do some of our staff so we all love kids. The pool is a great place for everyone to relax and have fun in.

It is pleasing for us to see that our staff helped you arrange your trips. We have trained them up to be very knowledgeable of the Yangshuo region and can answer just about any question to do with Yangshuo.

We do love the food at our restaurant (Amy's on the Li). We have put a lot of work in to make great dishes consistently. The team in the kitchen and restaurant are all lovely people who work really hard.

Anyway, we hope to look after you and your family again soon

Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Li River Resort for 2 nights with our family and friends. We had the standard family room which was spacious and well planned as well as being beautifully designed and decorated. This was the only hotel we stayed at in China that catered to a family of 4 all staying in the same room. The kids loved having bunk beds and thought that this resort was fabulous. This was a very family friendly place where all the staff know your name and the names of all of your children. The food at the restaurant was fantastic and we chose to eat here rather than in town on more than one occasion as the food was so delicious. The pool overlooking the river was lovely and with only a short walk to town (able to be done easily by my 5 year old) I would recommend this resort to anyone staying in Yangshaou.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank omiatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear omiatravels,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We ourselves have a young family and we try to make other families stay as comfortable as possible. We expect to add more family rooms to our hotel during the off season at the beginning on 2018.

We are also very pleased that you enjoyed eating in our restaurant. We have a great team in the kitchen and they take great pride in the dishes they prepare.

Hopefully we will get to see all of you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Alf


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and book this retreat/resort right away! My Australian family of 5 (kids aged 9, 6 and 5) with another Australian family with 2 kids of similar ages absolutely loved Li River. It was such a treat to enjoy good coffee, happy hour beers and sangria, homemade chocolate cake and muffins, milkshakes and delicious food (western Or chinese). Try the homemade pesto (on pizza, chicken pasta, burgers- delish!).
We were in room 208 which had a gorgeous balcony overlooking the Li river and limestone mountains.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and so comfy.
Australia Alf and Chinese Duncan have done an incredible job with Li river resort- all 9 of us were relaxed, happy and well taken care of here. Laundry was done fast and perfectly.
Can not recommend this place more highly- thanks Alf, Duncan and to all your team for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank TravelJaneFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear TravelJaneFamily,

It is great that we were able to make your stay so special.

Our team is so nice. Between Duncan, Amy and myself, we are developing a team with high levels of service. Even our humble room cleaning team are lovely.

We do want our guests to have a relaxing stay with us. The swimming pool is great after a day of sightseeing that is why our happy our coincides with the times that our guests usually return from their day's activities. Those cold drinks are really refreshing by the pool.

It was fantastic to see all of you having so much fun.

The decoration of the rooms were designed by a number of people (Amy, Duncan and some other great friends) and they have done a great job. I am so proud of everyone involved in the new Li River Resort.

We hope to see you again in the future
Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

My husband and I, along with three friends, have just left Li River Resort after a three-night stay and I'm ready to return. We arrived in Yangzhou via cruise boat and took a taxi to the hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted with glasses of water and warm smiles at the reception desk. Our luggage was whisked to our rooms - which were stunningly beautiful and comfortable, with views of the Li river and karst mountains from our balconies. This is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in in my life! The bed was comfortable, the shower huge, bath sheets soft and cuddly, and the furnishings modern and warm, neutral in tone, with subtle and tasteful hints of China. No fussy dust-catchers anywhere. The Continental breakfast features yogurt made on the premises and lots of fresh fruit. The Chinese food we had was delicious, especially the cucumber salad and the spicy chicken. Thanks to expert advice from owner/manager Alf, our friends were steered clear of a touristic location they may not have enjoyed, but were instead directed to activities they loved. My husband and I made the 20-minute walk into Yangzhou twice, wandering the streets in the pedestrian area, as well as exploring farther afield. My camera was put to good use! The grounds at Li River Resort are beautiful, and relaxing. Alf and his wife Amy have developed areas where one can join a few friends for talk and good cheer, or one can enjoy the quiet of the countryside. My husband made extremely good use of the pool, swimming two or three times a day! One strong plus is no TV...but an excellent WiFi hookup. This is our fifth trip to China, and I have to say our three nights in the care of the good folks at Li River Resort will stand out as one of our best times. I truly hated to leave!

Room Tip: I sincerely doubt there is a bad room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Vera W,

I am so glad that you enjoyed Yangshuo and your stay with us.

We do try to offer useful advice on the things to see and do here. We do understand that everyone is different so one site that is famous my not be what you really want to see. We are really flexible with all the options we give to our guests.

Since our re-opening, we have been working hard on so many aspects of the hotel. Our cleaning staff are great at their jobs. The restaurant (Amy's on the Li) has amazing chefs and is consistently producing great dishes and our reception staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. We will keep working hard on improving in every department.

I am also glad that you walked into town and enjoyed taking photos. There are so many opportunities for great pics in the town.

If you ever come back to Yangshuo, be sure to drop in. It would be great to see you again.

Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
6,1 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1 134 reviews
6 km away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 483 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
6,8 km away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6,7 km away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
175 reviews
0,5 km away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#12 of 483 in Yangshuo County
26 reviews
6,7 km away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#17 of 483 in Yangshuo County
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Resort

Address: No.1 Shuangtan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#17 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: R914 - R1 405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Li River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yangshuo Li River Resort is a family run Resort. Our stunning location takes in some of the best views in the Yangshuo region and our close proximity to the town of Yangshuo gives our guests the opportunity to explore its multitude of shopping, dinning and entertainment options. We have a variety of rooms to cater to couples, friends, families and those who want a luxurious experience. We also have a restaurant which serves a large range of Chinese and Western dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All of this is complimented by our high standards of service. We have a good size swimming pool which is exclusive to our guests. The pool is open during the warmer months of the year, approximately from April to mid-December. The pool is excellent for early morning swims, relaxing during the day or soothing your body after a day of sightseeing. We hope to take care of you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Li River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing