We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Loved Our Two-Hour Introduction to Tai Chi

My husband, our 9-year-old son, and I really enjoyed our 2-hour introduction to Tai Chi with Master... read more

Reviewed 19 July 2018
KHWanderlust
,
Atlanta, Georgia
Great

Kim and ah wei taught our classes and it was a great experience. We stayed in the school as well... read more

Reviewed 11 July 2017
Tommy255
,
Singapore
via mobile
Read all 63 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Yangshuo County
from US$95,00
More Info
from US$90,00
More Info
from US$60,00
More Info
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
55
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martial arts kim master ping introduction beginners village
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

My husband, our 9-year-old son, and I really enjoyed our 2-hour introduction to Tai Chi with Master Ping. I have been trying to get my son to take martial arts since he was four, and the flame has finally been sparked. We appreciated Master Ping's introducing some kung fu as well, which was particularly interesting for our son. The school is peaceful and set in a beautiful area. We would love to come back for a longer stay and more training. Thank you, Master Ping!

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank KHWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Kim and ah wei taught our classes and it was a great experience. We stayed in the school as well which was great! The food is simple but the experience of sitting, eating and drink tea into the night with everyone is really enjoyable and you learn a lot. Very friendly and patient Teachers. The living conditions are quite basic, so the rooms aren't for someone looking for luxury. Met rly interesting people there as well

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Tommy255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

About the school: I was in school for 6 weeks to learn Tai chi. This school teaches Chen style of Tai chi and the teachers are Master Ping and Master Kim.
The full day classes are divided into 2 parts, morning 2 hrs and afternoon 2 hrs, both masters taking class at their respective time of the day. Their teaching is in English for foreigner students which is a welcome relief to understand the basics, theory and all small details of the movements. The school is open for you to train extra and practice on your own as well. The teachers are also helpful for any extra help around in Yangshuo. Overall a very good place to be to get an introduction to tai chi. Good food and made friends for life here.
About the location: The school is located in Yangshuo and has pristine views within few minutes of walk. Many of us also frequented the Yulong river for dips on sunny afternoons. Cycling is the most preferred way to commute around to the market, town or just to go around. You can find coffee shops, cake shops, supermarket and plentiful shopping at west street as well.
PS: recommend the breakfast and chocololate cake/brownie at Wada hostel. Also several other places like giggling tree for cakes, breakfast, famous cake shop of Mila and an Indian restaurant 'Ganga' for indians like me.

Date of experience: May 2017
4  Thank niki28042017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We had an introductory class with Master Ping yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it with our 3 teenagers!
Booking and communication with Master Ping was very easy through their website.
The school is set back a little from the road, through a narrow passage. The class was outside, in a covered area. It lasted two hours and we had lunch afterwards. This was 'family style' with other students currently at the school. They were very accomodating for our daughter who cannot eat gluten and they made four dishes especially for her.
Very pleased we had this experience!

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank HelenB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We spent 1 week at the school and were very happy. Teachers were wonderful and patient with us beginners :) you feel like at home with your family, staff is great, Kun's food is delicious and even the dog is adorable! We were sad we could have stayed only for 1 week because of the visas, it was a great experience and a great way to feel immersed in Chinese culture.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank inesa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews