We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 479 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Pur travel agent booked us a "family room" in what was to be a "countryside " experience. Upon arrival, we felt it was run down and not rustic. Stone floors and walls, slightly dirty and air con barely working in the tiny sleeping rooms. It's quite far from town and not a place for families. Might be better suited for those seeking an off the beaten path experience, back packers, the adventurous honeymooners or if you're ok with fairly unconventional accomidations. We ledt and found another hotel for the night in town.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cal346304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Cal346304,
We apologise that your visit didn't meet your standards. We have investigated your complaints and have rectified the problems, thank you for your feedback as we are continually working to improve.
We wish you well in your future travels.
Kind regards,
The Secret Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

Yangshuo has become a tourist destination for everyone, but there's still the opportunity to find an authentic slice of Guangxi culture and a place to stay away from the crowds. Faye and all of the staff immediately make you feel welcome, and the inn is a beautiful Qing style set of courtyard buildings, with a great ambience and comfortable decor. The food is fantastic, especially if you ask for the spicy dishes. We've stayed twice here, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting. The inn is set in the small village of Jiuxian. There are fun hiking paths available, and you are close to the Yulong river. It's a great place to get away, with modern comforts but set in a authentic corner. Get away to this secret place.

Room Tip: For a real treat, ask for one of the suites - Plum Blossom or Peach Blossom rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShenzhenJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Shenzhen Jim,
It was wonderful to welcome you back, thank you so much for your kind words. Faye and the team always go above and beyond to make every guest's stay special, and the beautiful Qing dynasty buildings here really do make for a cosy and welcoming atmosphere.
We're glad you enjoyed eating at our restaurant, and our chefs are always happy to prepare dishes according to your level of spiciness! The scenery around the village and river is looking so beautiful and green at the moment, it's definitely worth getting out and about to explore.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Big room beautifully decorated
Peaceful area with beautiful garden which we sat in for our meals (especially enjoyed the treehouse)
Big selection of meals - try the local cuisine
Helpful staff who helped with our bookings around the area and arranged transportation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ccandynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Ccandynz,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel , and for posting your great photos, the tree house is definitely a beautiful place to eat, drink, and relax! Our team has a wealth of local knowledge, and they were so happy to help you make the most of your time here.
We are continually working to expand our varied menu, so we hope you have the opportunity to come back and try some more of our chefs' creations in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I learned of this place through a friend. I'm happy I did, this is one of the memorable hotels in Asia for all the right reasons. The décor is set in the beautiful and mysterious Yangshuo region. The hotel itself is made up of houses that are all over 200 years old and have been beautifully done up. The restaurant is simple and simply good (try the green beans, bacon and chilis). The hospitality is stunning. The owner (a South African architect) is great company. Many of the staff speak English. The hotel part is geared towards the international traveller. Super-fast internet, good beds, good shower, a/c, all spotlessly clean. This hotel in itself is worth a trip and is great value..

Room Tip: We had a large room with a separate sitting room and balcony at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Honky_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Honky_Richard,
We are so glad you had such a memorable time at the Secret Garden. Great care has been taken by Fengzi Ian, the architect/owner, to preserve the ancient buildings and keep a traditional atmosphere while at the same time providing all the amenities the discerning traveller requires.
Our reception and restaurant team do have excellent English language skills and are always happy to assist our guests, from organising fun days out to recommending menu items.
Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We had a great time at the Secret Garden. Was first recommended there for the food but found the hotel stay to be as good as the food they prepare. Western taste in services at a Chinese cultural heritage, beautifully restored building. Helpful English speaking staff.
Highly recommended.
Rob.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bastosfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Rob,
Thank you for your high recommendation. The Secret Garden project began as an effort to save these beautiful historic buildings, so we are always happy to welcome people who also appreciate the importance of preserving this cultural heritage. We have a great team here who always go above and beyond the call of duty with smiles on their faces, and we all hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
6.8 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 479 in Yangshuo County
1 104 reviews
2.2 km away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 479 in Yangshuo County
621 reviews
8.7 km away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 479 in Yangshuo County
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 479 in Yangshuo County
467 reviews
7.8 km away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#5 of 479 in Yangshuo County
297 reviews
7.4 km away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#15 of 479 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 479 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: R598 - R1 342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is a boutique hotel and restaurant near the Yulong River in the stunning Yangshuo countryside. Our hotel consists of Qing Dynasty buildings that have been beautifully restored in order to preserve the historic character, while providing customers with a unique and inspirational environment in which to relax or explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Secret Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing