We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveller rating
795
145
30
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
795
145
30
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alternative menu outdoor shower hot springs salt flats altiplanic lagoons full day excursion chilli all inclusive package san pedro restaurant staff beautiful pool high altitude unique experience knowledgeable guides the general manager luxury hotel magical place
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 975 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018

This place is awesome. Very expensive, but worth every penny. Technically an "all inclusive," but nothing like what you'd expect from "all inclusive." No umbrella drinks, discos, or waffle stations. Instead, at Tierra, we enjoyed a boutique hotel with 30 rooms designed to blend into the surreal environment. Every room and common area has breathtaking views of the most incredible landscape. We took a number of amazing excursions, usually it was just us and two guides. The level of attention was almost over the top, but the guides knew how to read the group and created a friendly, chill, appropriate vibe. They'll tailor the excursions to your fitness level, interests, and altitude tolerance. If you just want to hang, there's plenty of places throughout the resort to relax and soak in the environment. Private fire pit terraces, a nice pool, a yoga area, etc. Food: absolutely amazing - knowing that it was "all inclusive" I expected mediocre food, but had some of the best food I can remember.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank thebigpapi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Thebigpapi34:
Thank you so much for this fantastic review!
We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful time with us at Tierra Atacama and that you loved the whole experience!
It is great that you enjoyed the area, surroundings and beautiful views!
Warm regards,
Cecilia - Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We booked an Orient Room, All Inclusive, for three nights at Tierra Atacama. If landing at Calama, the driest city in the world, located inside the 105,000 km2 Atacama desert will definitively look like landing on Mars, the transfer to the lodge will confirm this as an extra-terrestrial adventure. Seeing El Valle de la Luna, the Salar de Atacama and the sunrise at El Tatio geyser field will eventually leave you with the belief of having visited a few planets & satellites of our solar system. The lodge itself is gorgeous. We were assigned room nr. 4 which was large, comfortable, well architected, tastefully furnished and with heated bathroom floor. See attached photos to have an impression. Upon arrival we were greeted and briefed by management on various subjects but specifically about guided tour options according to our interests, experience, physical condition and schedule as treks tend to be taxing because of high altitude, wind, exposure to sun, aridity, dust, salts and thermal excursions. All our guides (Leo, Tomàs and Marcela) proved technically very prepared, connected, charming and able to transmit enthusiasm. À la carte food in the restaurant was very good, breakfast selection quite gorgeous. A couple of Pisco Sour in front of the fireplace completed the picture. Ask the bartender to add rica-rica, a spontaneous fragrant herb that grows here in the Andean Highlands.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Sekok:
Thank you very much for your wonderful review!
It is great to hear that you had an amazing stay at Tierra Atacama and that you enjoyed the desert, the views, the cuisine and our hotel service!
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards,
Cecilia - Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Excellent hotel. Not cheap but all inclusive. Staff (hotel, restaurant and guides) always very helpful.
Trips organized very well. Normally 9am in the morning until 1pm. And then from 4pm to 7:30pm. Leaving a good time for lunch and resting in the hotel.
I liked all the trips and on arrival there is a good planning with recommendations which trips to do. My trips were always in very small groups (max. 3) with several times 2 guides and only me! I am not sure whether this is always guaranteed (I was there in low season), but made it very helpful as everyone has different speed to walk or time to spend for taking photos. Often food (lunch or small picnic is provided) which I found sometimes a bit exaggerated if 2 groups from our hotel went to the same place (with different guides) and then having separately 2 tables with large amount of food. Guides are very helpful, knowledgeable, speaking different languages (I had German, English and Portuguese) and also – I prefer this – taking food together with the guests (I really do not like trips where the guides need to eat on a different place which I experienced in several place in the world).
Only weak excursion was star gazing. The guide did not seem overly motivated and seemed more to try to get the excursion done. For example, he used the same eyepiece/ocular for watching deep sky objects (e.g. galaxies and nebulas) and for planets.
Lunch and Dinner excellent. Very large variety changing every day with 3 options. When I did not like one of them, they provided me something else which was not on the menu. Breakfast was ok (but good for South American standards).
I was in the Atacama mid of August which in my opinion was an excellent time. A bit chilly in the evening and even more in the morning; however, during the daytime excursions the temperature was very good (18 – 20 / 64 – 68 degrees) as the sun was still very strong.
Not overly interesting was the city of San Pedro de Atacama. The hotel is still within 15 minutes walking distance to the center, but it is not overly nice.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Florian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Florian B.:
Thank you so much for this fantastic and detailed review!
August is indeed a wonderful month to visit Atacama!
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tierra Atacama and that you had a great time with us!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime soon!
Warm regards,
Cecilia - Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing time in family in this very nice hotel lost in the desert ! The manager of the hotel welcomes you and is really close to her clients we really appreciated that ! We could do many excursions everyday, do not miss the geysers it’s absolutely unique. Our french guide, Marcella, was very competent and friendly, thank you to her for this good times ! The hotel with its outside jacuzzi and the massages at the spa are just wonderful ! At this place you just forgot everything else and brief again in the desert, one of the best place of the world you should definite experience !!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Louachd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Louachd13:
Thank you very much for your great review!
We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing time at Tierra Atacama and that you loved all aspects of your stay with us!
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again sometime soon!
Warm regards,
Cecilia - Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

I would recommend Tierra to anyone travelling to Atacama. It was initially out of our budget but because it was our honeymoon, we decided to splurge and we were not disappointed! Everything from the time we landed at Calama to the time we left, we were impressed - by the welcome, the service, the hotel facilities and view, the food, the excursions and the knowledgeable guides. I understand that Tierra has 3 properties in Chile. If I were to travel to Chile again, maybe Patagonia, I will for sure stay at Tierra after this fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ShiMinL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Shi Min L.:
Thank you very much for your fantastic review!
We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay at Tierra Atacama and that you enjoyed our hotel service, the cuisine, the excursions and our overall service!
Of course we would love to welcome you again to any of our Tierra Hotels: Tierra Atacama, Tierra Chiloé or Tierra Patagonia!
Warm regards,
Cecilia - Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews