We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
41
61
42
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
61
42
12
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is newly renovated and truly comfortable. The ocean views and airy atrium with fountain are welcoming. Rooms are spotlessly cleaned.

The managers are fluent in English and their staff is sensitive to their guests' interests and needs. They arranged excellent tours of the Elqui Valley and a fine Observatory (Mamalluca), and even provided an early morning yoga class! The (included) breakfast is superior. Overall great value.
La Serena is charming, even in the off season.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 April 2017

Dear Marjorie

Thank you very much for you review, we are very happy to hear that you have a great stay with us. It was an honour to have this lovely couple in our hotel and we really hope to see you again here soon.
Kind regards

The Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is an excellent choice on the beautiful beach on Avenida Del Mar, just walk across the street and your feet are in the white sand. Easy access a few blocks from the Pan American Highway (and from a major mall), and on to Los Choros or Elqui Valley. Free parking.

You'll pay a little more for an ocean-front room, but the view is worth it. No worries about noise from the restaurant on the other corner -- the hotel has installed virtually soundproof windows, and the rooms have AC. The rooms are clean and the bed super comfortable. There is a lovely bar/restaurant on the ground floor, with an outdoor terrace facing the beach. And lots of cafes, bars and restaurants along the beach.

Staff are very friendly, and extremely helpful. Lots of English spoken.

Liked this place so much, stayed on the way north and again on the way south.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 83Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

La Serena is a lovely city with small shops and is much quieter than the beach towns to the South. Campanario is the perfect augmentation if you want to get away for a romantic evening or weekend. The rooms are clean and modern, the bathrooms are nice and the room we stayed in looked out across the ocean to the worlds edge. It is there that each evening we watched the sun take its rest. With an excellent restaurant on site, we enjoyed food in the lounge as well as on our patio.

Date of stay: April 2016
1  Thank Tanarin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We stayed there for 3 nights in march.

The hotel is pretty decent. Rooms look like they've been refurbished recently, even though the hotel is much older.
They were spacious, but not very clean. Towels and bed sheets had many stains.
Safe box was awful, one of the worst i've ever seen. In fact they changed our first room because it wasn't working there...we struggled a bit in the second one.
Wifi was pretty good and breakfast was ok.
Andres in reception was very nice, and gave us good advice.

The biggest problem with this hotel is it's location. It's in the party area of Avenida del Mar, and surrounded by many bars that have very loud music until very late. The rooms are not very well sound proofed. So at night you hear the music until 2 a.m easily.
The views of the ocean were great and the price is pretty fair.
I recommend it to anyone wanting to stay near the beach, but don't go there if you have difficulties sleeping with noise.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

We've stayed here a few times and we have enjoyed the service and cleanliness. The breakfast is good with a great view and the rooms are comfortable. Ground floor rooms are good but did not like the second floor corner room. The bathroom was way too small. Ask for Maria at breakfast. She is a gem.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Johnhdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews