We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
22
35
17
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
35
17
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Large apartments with large rooms with comfortable beds. Portable electric heaters barely warmed the room (winter). Clean rooms and linen. Small, dated bathroom with malfunctioning fixtures and clogged lavatory. Average breakfast served in apartment's kitchenette. No sound insulation from noise in adjacent rooms.

The venue has palm tree lined central swimming pool and garden. Good on premises parking and completely enclosed compound with guard. Located 4 long blocks from beach on a quiet side street. Safe for walking in area during daylight hours.. Plenty of plants, shrubs, vegetation and swampy areas that probably harbor many flying insects during warm summer months.

Room tip: Rooms facing swimming pool and away from side street are quieter.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geowestpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We arrived here with no booking and we were lucky enough to get a two bedroom ground floor apartment, the managers were exceptionally helpful and even took us to a supermarket to get supplies, also helped sort out a local dentist for one of us with a loose crown. The rooms were a good size and clean and comfy. The pool is really nice and the Jacuzzi was perfect to relax in. Although we didn't use it there was a nice BBQ area and lots of pool toys for children, made a nice break for us after staying in hotels, good to get our own beer and wine and cook a homemade meal.

Room tip: All the apartments seem to be pool facing
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jackiemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014

We stayed 1 night at Hotel Serena Dream. We had a two bedroom suite for the 2 of us. Although you can tell this is a older hotel it is not badly maintained. The bathroom was small and there wasn’t much room in the main bedroom but that was because we had a big king size bed which I appreciated more than the room size. The aprartment was clean. The kitchen had most of the basic utensils you needed to cook a basic meal. The staff were very nice.. The pool and surrounding area were very good. The breakfast in the morning was average. They bring the breakfast to your room at either 8:30 or 10. The breakfast was white bread (which you could toast as there was toaster in the room), cakes, cheese,ham, jam, butter and orange juice. There was a kettle in the room to make tea or instant coffee if you wanted. The Wi-Fi was excellent and there was lots of hot water.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Serena Dream is more suitable for people looking for a place to stay for a week and do their own cooking. They have plenty to keep the little one's busy. The beach may be only 2 blocks away, but they provide enough pool space and all of the water toys kids could want. They have a play ground area and a small football pitch. Even though we only spent one night and had a late departure they invited us to remain during the day and make use of the pool and their amenities. Once we were ready to leave they offered us the possibility to shower and freshen up before leaving. If we were to stay in La Serena again, we would happily stay at the Serena Dream.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loulouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I can see how a family would enjoy the place. Pool, table tennis table, close to the beach and restaurants, bar at the pool, apartment with kitchen, 2 bedrooms, breakfast brought in in the morning. But we were disappointed.

First, the pictures look really nice while the reality is that the building looks old. Inside, it smelled funky, like it was the first time the apartment was being used after the slow winter season. It was clean, just that it was humid. Still, to the point that the walls showed signs of mold (like... with fur...), the floor was kind of slippery, even with my hiking shoes. Once we turned on the heater, it was better.

The hotel is not easy to find, even with the map they send. It's located in a construction and field area. Sure, it's pretty quiet around but it also feels unsafe. We wouldn't walk at night. No way. First, there's a guy in each section of the parking lot. Day and night. Although there's a fairly high fence around the property, we were wondering if they had a robbery issue. Well, at some point, as we were sitting inside with the window open, the receptionist came to us and said we couldn't leave the window open day or night. I assume he meant "while we were away during the day" but still, it makes you wonder how unsafe it is. As a matter of fact, that night, something was up in the street with a police car warning someone right in front of the hotel. I didn't sleep very well the first night since we were right at the first floor.

Like I said besides the humidity issue, it was very clean. The staff was very nice. There was a parking attendant who was eager to talk a pretty good English although I also speak Spanish. The bed was comfortable enough. Except for the toaster, we didn't use the appliances but they looked clean and well maintained. The breakfast consist of hot milk, bags of tea/coffee, ham, cheese, jam, breads and some kind of bad juice.

So all in all, it was just okay. We went once to that kind of apartment/hotel in France and it was way worst that that, even if the smell inside wasn't bad, it was a nightmare. Nevertheless, since we don't spend all day at the beach and moved around (Reserva Pinguino de Humboldt/Valle Elqui), I don't think we would go back.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica4wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews