We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, fresh, hip yet unpretentious food in a bowl”
Review of Hi Pokee

Hi Pokee
Ranked #464 of 40 470 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$10
Neighbourhood: Jardins
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Jardins
Reviewed 22 August 2018

This little gem seats less than 40 and is so well hidden you certainly miss it unless you're looking for it. It's intimate, busy, hip, with plenty of young and attentive staff. Inspired by the cuisine of Hawaii and the Pacific Islands, the main dishes - the pokes - are served in bowls and extremely fresh, tasty, and healthy. Tuna, salmon, octopus, pork, sprouts, mushrooms, rice and quinoa are primary ingredients. Lovely stuff. Personally, I enjoy a little more heat in my food, but on the other hand that could possibly have masked the delicate flavours in the dishes.

Certainly not cheap, but not expensive: a starter, a poke and two Jamaican-imported beers set me back US$ 25. Well wort it. Will no doubt be back, and hopefully soon.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KristianBengtson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018

I was probably expecting too much of it but , I liked it i loved the ingredients I do recommend to do it yourself and experiment trying to put together a bowl yourself , but unfortunately I thought it did not had a good taste like all the ingredients are awesome but it did not tasted good. The concept is good . They do not have enough space for everyone to eat , we ate at some stairs nearby and liked it but not worth the value unfortunately , although I do believe they can improve it to make it delicious .
I think you can share it because it is really big .

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nyleve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

It's within a narrow corridor that you can easily miss.
The food is very fresh, made to order, fast and tasty.
Due to the fresh fish it is not cheap, but it's worthy.
I can see my self coming back on a hot day to get another bowl of fresh ingredients.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andreasw182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

I liked the food freshness. They have a short menu and the option to customize your bowl. Try the POG juice and the HaiPie! It’s clean decorated and tiny so get in line early or you will wait a lot until you have a table.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Minoue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Fantastic little restaurant with a huge potential for an incredible chain around the country. Following Hawaiian and Pacific Island taste/inspiration, you can have a choice of protein that includes salmon, tuna, shitake, shimeji, etc with a rich variety of side options including sauces, sides, vegetables, rice, quinoa. Everything comes in a bowl. Tasty, fresh well balanced and healthy. Service is fast and efficient. Good cost benefit for the quality and presentation offered. Location became unfortunately too small for the concept. I look forward to seeing the well deserved expansion of this successful venture.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank D3065WMcarlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hi Pokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing