We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$33
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/24
Agoda.com
US$31
View deal
PricelineUS$37
Booking.comUS$37
HurbUS$42
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 206)
Filter reviews
1 206 results
Traveller rating
281
365
322
132
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
281
365
322
132
106
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1 206 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Comfortable, very good breakfast. Good cleaning service. It has a good restaurant-bar and swimming pool. The view is great, you can see the Hercílio Luz Bridge if you stay in a high apartment. Across from it you can walk in the Parque da Luz.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CindyBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson_Rosa, Gerente at Castelmar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Dear Cindy,

First we would like to thank review , know that it is very important to know where we should improve.
We are available for a new visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

The rooms are good but I had some issues with the room service. Actually is not a room service as long you have to order by the phone and go down to the reception to get your food. They were also unable to do a simple change in anything from the original menu. A simple change in the kind of salad is forbidden. Therefore the hotel is good but I strongly recommend to avoid the restaurant called "Lounge".

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 194brunog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson_Rosa, Gerente at Castelmar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Dear Bruno,

First we would like to thank review , know that it is very important to know where we should improve.
We are available for a new visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Gives you exactly what they offer.
The room was fine.
The breakfast was more than enough .
They explain to you everything you want or you need.
They have restaurant inside
They have travel agency inside.
If you want more, PAY more.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jose Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson_Rosa, Gerente at Castelmar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Dear Jose,

First we would like to thank review , know that it is very important to know where we should improve.
We are available for a new visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

We stayed at Castelmar Hotel in early January 2015 and had a lovely time there. Our room had an amazing view of Hercilio Luz bridge. The hotel is well located, within walking distance from the high street shops - we wanted to stay in the city centre and not near the beaches as we stayed for only 1 night. The room was very spacious, had been recently redecorated, and our 4-year old had a comfy sofa bed all for himself, which was great. Breakfast was also very good. Thumbs up to the hotel staff!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank redwards2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2014

This hotel is very basic. It seems to be an option if you are looking for a sleep-only hotel. Cost is very low and the quality you get is somewhat questionable.
We stayed here for 4 nights during an extended holiday where the hotel was fully booked.
Staff was gentle and happy to help but they were clearly understaffed (eg.: There is no room service and the kitchen/lounge staff is composed of only 1 waiter. The poor guy could not keep up with the demand of 8 people for example. Our room was not cleaned during 3 days out of 4. Used food trays were left for a couple days on the door entrance. There are more examples)
Some people in our group had problems in their rooms: mold and termites. In our case the room was ok. Stained furniture, a bathroom with no ventilation and a few other aspects that make this hotel a “sleep only” option.

Pros:
Price
Staff willingness to help

Cons:
Understaffed
Rooms have a few problems like termites and mold that should be solved

Room tip: Ask for one with no Termites on it and you should be fine.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank taioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews