We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
Hotels.com
US$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
Agoda.com
US$95
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$59
HurbUS$62
Trip.comUS$95
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 160)
Filter reviews
1 160 results
Traveller rating
650
354
81
36
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
650
354
81
36
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vila gale beautiful pool staff was friendly and helpful nice hotel central location recommend staying here great shower spacious room pool bar excellent breakfast lapa mariana nightlife rio brazil copacabana metro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 160 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2020

The hotel is nice and comfortable, however I felt incredibly scammed by the hotel employees. At checking in, I was told that I had to pay an extra amount (app. 15%) for 'taxes'. However, my booking confirmation clearly said that my payment was with all taxes and indemnities included. I tried to explain to the hotel staff, and in the end they accepted that I did not wanted to pay the extra amount. Later I found out that they try to charge the amount as "tax", but it is in fact an optional tip (for which purpose is completely unclear, since all the staff did was checking me in?). Although this could be a misunderstanding, the scam continued during check out. A (different) staff member told me that he saw in his system that I was not willing to pay the extra amount, but nevertheless asked me to sign a receipt, which he told me stated "that I did not want to pay the amount". The form was completely in Portuguese without translation. However, I understood the Portuguese text which said that the amount would be paid from my creditcard after signing the form. Meanwhile the staff member told me with a straight face that my signature meant that I did not had to pay the amount and that the signature was only for their internal accounts!

I have never experienced such a sneaky and unprofessional tourist scam in a decent hotel. The whole experience made my stay (of 1 night) very unpleasant.

Room tip: The rooms are very noisy, the area is unsafe in the evening
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 760ingem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020

Great find in Rio, area is a bit on the edge but for me much better than staying in Copacabana or Ipanema.
The pool is amazing but the service is even better.
I really recommend for couple and anyone trying to relax in the beautiful Rio

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
2  Thank 752lucianog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente at Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Client, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Vila Galé Rio de Janeiro. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

Good overall experience starting from check in. We had an infant and they went out of the way to make our stay pleasant. There is language barrier but it's not a complain but an awareness for everyone reading this. It is rio and english is not their first language so download a translation app on your phone before coming here If you don't speak their language. Food is great. Pool is beautiful. Wish we had more time to spend at the hotel. Area is safe. We walked around at night and just make sure to watch what you are wearing and carrying on your hand while walking the streets. Highly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank KingpinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente at Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Dear Client, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Vila Galé Rio de Janeiro. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

we stayed in the new rooms, they are spacious but a bit outdated, very decent bed, breakfast buffet was amazing, staff very helpful, very good value for money, plenty of places to eat around, night life close by but hotel quiet, spa disappointing

Date of stay: November 2019
3  Thank agnieszka z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente at Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Dear Client, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Vila Galé Rio de Janeiro. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019

A very pleasant stay at the Vila Gale. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, good breakfast. My room (344) was spacious with fridge, safe and air conditioning. Good standard of housekeeping. The hotel is within walking distance of Cinelandia and Carioca metro stations and Lapa itself is a vibrant district, excellent for food and nightlife. Plenty of shops and supermarkets nearby. Recommended.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jasonmE8645DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente at Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2019

Dear Client,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Vila Galé Rio de Janeiro.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews