We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/24
Booking.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
US$154
US$66
View deal
SAVE US$88
Expedia.comUS$93
eDreamsUS$154
TravelocityUS$93
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 126)
Filter reviews
2 126 results
Traveller rating
1 661
318
86
27
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 661
318
86
27
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge great hotel free shuttle beautiful property the hotel offers lobby bar rooftop pool international airport top floor metropolitano ezequiel rio copacabana uber gym brazil safety
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2 126 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2021 via mobile

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in the world .... Just to start they tidy up the room in 3 in 3 days nor the bed make up you still have to take out the trash ..... The lowest price is R $ 2500 reais a room , weak breakfast, childrens pool and kids can't go into the jacuzzi ..... I asked the receptionist if it was okay to tidy up the room every 3 days and he told me this was an international Hilton standard ..... all that money to save on cleanliness everyone was complaining. #HILTONBARRANUNCAMAIS

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 603danilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Paula Comaru, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. As it has always been, the safety and security of our guests and team members remains our highest priority. We appreciate your comments regarding the cleaning system, this is part of our biosafety program focused on least possible contact during the stay.
Thank you again for your comments, it is really important for us.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

Hilton Barra - Rio de Janeiro, promising to pass an quiet relaxing happy New Year in Rio de Janeiro during the pandemic situation.
After a long journey arriving very thirsty I was surprised that there was not a bottle of drinking water or any other beverage in the Hotel room.
(The times when “welcome” drinks were offered in Brazil’s 5 stars had past long time.)
But even in a simple “Pousada” in the Northeast of Brasil were a complimentary bottle of water available daily.
Hiltons Front Desk informed friendly that Water is offered in shelfs and refrigerators at the reception for R$ 10,00 a water bottle of 310ml. What ?

Well next day, with the hope that things may get better at Breakfast, it was just a big mess. Even with only a small quantity of tables available, Waiter’s and helpers were running around in high speed so that one trying to have a peaceful breakfast could feel as sitting in the corridor of a subway station.
After getting a rough answer when appointing that the Orange Juice spender was empty (1 minute to 10 AM when in an impressive hurry everything was just removed), I stopped requesting any.
A nice guest couple sitting beside me explained that all older and experienced employees were fired due to Covid arguments, and with this salary costs went down and younger people with no culture or proper training in gastronomy covered the complete operation.
Maybe it’s the truth - who knows?
Well the next day breakfasts coffee was served in disposable Paper cups with plastic spoon.
So never believe things could go worse.

Go to Hiltons 5 star - but don’t expect anything so you cannot get disappointed.
For all big companies today the Pandemic is the best excuse to downgrade on employees and rip of clients and guests.
Let’s see what’s yet to come...

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank WorldTravelerPOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Paula Comaru, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy.

We are doing everything we can to ensure your travel safety and provide maximum flexibility in the situation around coronavirus (COVID-19) and we appreciate your understanding that your stay experience may look different during this time, Cleanstay biosecurity international Program Protocols are also aplied.

Thank you again and your comments and it will be shared with Our Executive Team to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020

New and modern HILTON Hotel in the middle of nowhere - so its a good hotel for business travellers who need to be in this Barra area.
For leisure travellers, they provide a free shuttle to the BARRA Beach and a big shopping complex ("Metropolitana") is just across the hotel (with Satander ATM's right at the entrance for money exchange).

Due to the bad weather conditions during my stay and nothing to do, I was happy, that I shortened my stay in advance from 6 to 3 nights...
In the meantime, I was able to use the well equiped fitness room on the top floor right to the rooftop outdoor swimming pool. This pool is overlooking the Barra area and has a nice size for swimm practice.

Rooms a modern and well equiped with soundproof windows either with street or courtyard view.
Go for the spacious balcony rooms ( 1 bedroom appartment) with spacious bathroom en suite and second toilet and furnished balcony overlooking Barra area).

Check-in was quickly and efficiently done - the Staff is very friendly and helpfull in any case.

Be aware, that due to the covid-19 pandemic some services are not available
(some are acceptable-some not...).
Executive Lounge and Restaurants are closed (except for breakfast at the ground floor restaurant).
For HH Diamond members and guests of the Executive rooms, the hotel offers a daily 40 Reias discount at any food and beverage consumption in exchange to the regular lounge benefits.
My Tip: try the delicous and perfectly cooked Filet Mignon at the Lobby bar - with the discount you will never get such a meal for this little money again...:-)

As in-room minibars are empty, the hotel provides a small kiosk at the reception for minibar items to purchase (but aware: also HH Diamond members need to pay even for coffee -which would be free of charge in the Executive lounge-).

Thanks God, the hotel opened at least the Lobby Bar since 1st November, so you can enjoy the 40 reias discount on F&B in an nice enviroment instead of room service...

In my opinion HILTON makes a big mistake, when it comes to breakfast options.
Like at the other Hilton Hotel at Copacabana, those breakfast options are very limited (allegedly to the Hilton Clean Stay procedures, but in my opinion its only "cost-cutting").
They do not offer the regular (and very good) breakfast buffett like in pre-pandemic times anymore.
Instead they seal every single slice of cheese and every single slice of meat on a single small plate (thats a lot of work to do for the staff every morning). Every single drink like orange juice comes in prepared plastic boxes.
Apart from not acceptable plastic pollution - this is not necessary.
(By the way: they offer every morning the same 1 sort of cheese and 1 sort of meat - after a couple of days you cant stand it anymore...)
Hot options are available by order - but not buffett style).

Like other 5Star hotels in Rio the competitor MARRIOTT offers a simple solution to provide fully buffett breakfast for their guests which I enjoyed very much during my stay at the SHERATON Leblon in Rio:
They offer thin disposable gloves for everybody at the entrance to the breakfast area, so everybody is allowed and able to take whatever they want from fully breakfast items.

It's so simple.....Sooooo HILTON: Why can't YOU ??

Room tip: Balcony rooms (1 Bedroom) are spacious with large furnished balcony
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank boytoy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Paula Comaru, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel in such detail!

As it has always been, the safety and security of our guests and team members remains our highest priority.
We are doing everything we can to ensure your travel safety and provide maximum flexibility in the situation around coronavirus (COVID-19).
We follow Hilton's international biosecurity protocols for each service offered. We value food safety by avoiding exposure, which is why we use disposable products and packaging to protect food.
We thank you very much for your comments. The opinion of our guests is very important to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020

Nice business hotel very consistent with Hilton standard, but with an inconvenient location - there is a shopping mall across the street and nothing else, all other spots are at least 15-20 minutes driving.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank joaovsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Paula Comaru, Marketing at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Dear Mr Joao,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel!

It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

All the reviews are true, this is a great hotel with perfect service!
It's not beachfront but the hotel shuttle drops you off (and takes you back) to a beautiful, clean beach where they partner with the restaurant there to offer you free beach chairs and umbrellas.
The passion fruit caipirinhas are my FAV but it takes ALOT of insisting to get them to put LESS sugar in them.
This is a great break from the centro or Copacabana where you can just lie on the beach all day and not worry so much about vendors or others.
Treat yoself!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank angelamyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus Z, General Manager at Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear Angela,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, and for all details you have mentioned.
We work hard to make our guests feel at home.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews