We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$193
View deal
Booking.comUS$194
Expedia.comUS$193
eDreamsUS$194
TravelocityUS$193
PricelineUS$194
Orbitz.comUS$193
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
194
34
18
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
34
18
12
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2020

The “hotel” was an old mansion that was converted into what felt like a “high-end” bed and breakfast. There are only 7 rooms. Each with a designated color. We stayed at the Black Suite which is their most expensive suite.

The staff (a few who only who spoke fluent English) was amazing. Very friendly and attentive. I give them 5 stars but my review is only 2 stars because the amenities and condition the building is in deserves less than 1 star.

Our room was not in a great shape. However, it had AMAZING views. The curtains had holes in them, the paint was peeling, concrete cracking, holes in the stained bedsheet...I could go on and on.

The breakfast was fantastic for the first 3 days but the last two days, we were served what felt and tasted like microwaved scrambled eggs. We paid over $2500 for 5 nights and I honestly believe that it should have been only $1250 for 5 nights.

One thing I didn’t like was the lack of an iron and a hairdryer in the room. You had to ask for for them and then leave them outside your room so others can use them.

The location is not bad at all and it’s a short car ride to the hustle and bustle of the city. The area is gated and felt very very safe.

Again, the staff was phenomenal and the service was great. The place is severely run-down and in desperate need of maintenance and constant upkeep.

If the hotel was kept well and maintained properly, I would have given this place 10 stars. It felt like we were staying at our old grandma’s mansion who did not want to change one thing about it and had to share it with our estranged cousins.

Would we stay there again? Yes, but only if the curtains, the furniture, the walls and everything else were fixed.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Luai Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2019

A quiet hideaway in Jaotinga Hills, away from the busy beach area of Rio de Janeiro. Beautiful rooms with great vistas and sunset. Its like being in a private villa with your own private chef. Ideal for a romantic getaway for 2 days. Its about a 15 min drive from Ipanema.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank nitin2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByDussol, Gerente de relações com clientes at La Suite By Dussol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Dear Guest!

Thank you so much for your wantastic review.

We are so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It was a real pleasure to have you as our guests!

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at La Suite By Dussol,

Warmest regards

By Dussol's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019 via mobile

Our first visit to Rio de Janeiro was made so special by this wonderful boutique house. From the moment you step through the red door, you cannot stop yourself saying wow!.
With only seven rooms available we had booked the Blue Room, large and stylish and extremely comfy bed. The private balcony just assists the amazing views.
Breakfast on the terrace is wonderful selection of fresh juices, fruit and eggs. We ate out most nights, but as we were flying back late in the evening we had lunch, massive compliment to Vinnie for arranging so late, and also to the chef the fish was gorgeous.
Thank you to Francois for all your recommendations and assistance during our stay, and to your staff Dudo, Daniel and Vinnie you have excellent customer service skills that would put many 5 star establishments to shame.
We will be returning as soon as possible, and look forward to your special Caipirinhas.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByDussol, Gerente de relações com clientes at La Suite By Dussol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Dear Nicki,

On behalf of By Dussol Luxury Boutique Hotels, I would like to thank you for choosing La Suite By Dussol for your first visit in Rio de Janeiro.

Thank you very much for your wonderful words and detailed review. It is always such a great satisfaction when our guests experienced exactly what we wish to offer to them: a home away from home.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at La Suite By Dussol,

Warmest regards

By Dussol's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

This is the only travel review I’ve ever written but I feel compelled to write something to acknowledge the amazing staff and service at La Suite. It’s small but the best ‘hotel’ experience you could imagine. Beautiful room, immaculately cleaned, stunning pool view and the friendliest staff I’ve ever encountered.
I hope this hotel thrives.
X

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Annabestpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByDussol, Gerente de relações com clientes at La Suite By Dussol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Dear Anna,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to write such a fantastic review. We are really honoured that your first review ever is for us. We are really happy to learn that you experienced exactly what we wish to offer to our guests.

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guests and we are delighted that you enjoyed being with us.

We all have a great memories of you stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at La Suite By Dussol!

Warmest regards

The whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019

When we travel we like to stay in unique and beautiful places. La Suite delivered. Back home, when asked what was my outstanding moment in Rio, I had to say it was when we walked through the outside door (which is in a residential neighborhood) and saw the beauty of the hotel and the vista beyond, both truly exceptional. The service and food are also first-rate. The breakfasts feature fresh fruit, but the are many other delicious items. Lunches and dinners are also excellent, remarkable for such a small place. You just need to tell them in advance that you are dining there and what you want to be served. The staff look after you very well -- for example, when we decided to walk to a nearby beach, Duda brought us water in case we didn't have enough. In addition to the beautiful accommodations and surroundings, the place is very comfortable - beds, AC, common areas, and the the pool (very nice!) accommodations. A few caveats: the hotel is very vertical so stairs to climb (I am 75 with 2 knee operations and managed to get by okay). Second, the place is a bit far from central Rio (which is a good thing). We were able to use a combination of vans (including an excellent guide), Ubers and taxis which, despite warnings about safety, worked well for us and were reasonable economical. Third, the place reminded us of an European inn, where staff fulfill many functions. While the service is excellent. it is not instantaneous, and some patience is necessary. That being said, we loved this place and would not hesitate to recommend La Suite to anyone looking for a relaxing and fulfilling vacation in Rio de Janeiro.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steinwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByDussol, Gerente de relações com clientes at La Suite By Dussol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Dear Steinwald,

We thank so much your for your wonderful review and for having taken the time to tell about your stay at La Suite by Dussol in such a detailed manner.

It is a true honour for us to read that your stay with us will always remain a superb experience for you and "the outstandig moment" of your stay in Rio!

We have shared with our team your fantastic feedback and they were truly thankfull.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at La Suite By Dussol,

Warmest regards

By Dussol's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews