We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Primary Photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Primary Photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Primary Photo
South-North view
Living and Dining Room
Living and Dining Room
Living and Dining Room
The Master Bedroom
North wall
Kitchen
Kitchen
South-North View
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Glass Roof Terrace
Terrace
Glass Roofed Terrace North-South view
Ipanema view
Terrace
The Pool
View of open sea
sunset
Sunset
Entrance
maps.google view of penthouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
WinstonIo...
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Very Nice, But Overpriced”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

It's a nice apartment, and Francisco is a very very nice person. We truly enjoyed our stay there.

But the price is way above the market for the area. About 35% overpriced. For the same price I paid for this room, I could have stayed at several nice area hotels...Arena, Vermont, Ipanema Inn, Ipanema Plaza, San Marco, Everest, etc. Could have enjoyed pools, daily maid service, 24 hour desk, daily fresh towels, etc.

Besides the price, a couple other negatives about Francisco's unit. He advertises that it is 50m to the beach. 50m = 165 feet I believe. This apartment is actually a block and a half from the beach....not 165 feet. The mattress on the only (small) bed is also kinda lumpy and uncomfortable.

I'm sure you would enjoy, as we did, Francisco's hospitality and spacious terraces if you stay there.....but I think the pricing is just too rich for the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Hi Dug Garret,
I appreciate your comments on this penthouse. FlipKey’s ad is absolutely clear and precise, including the location map, and all other previous guest attested. I feel that it is necessary to make some remarks on your comments: most hotels that you listed are more expensive than this penthouse, for a small, dark, often noisy double room compared to this penthouse with about 10 times more private area than any of these hotel rooms and proper for four guests. Anyway, you had access to all these prices before deciding for this penthouse, therefore I see no reason for your surprise. Guests choose this penthouse for its spaciousness, internal and external privacy, the private shallow pool, its wide views, its silence, possibility of cooking, etc. Credibility is absolutely important to me and that any potential guest has complete confidence in what is advertised in FlipKey. All that you have read and seen in detail in TripAdvisor is exactly true. Please make sure to check prices before you choose any place. However, I'm very glad that you have enjoyed your stay in this penthouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTra...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I felt like I was hosted in a very unique apart-hotel. It's in a perfect location, with a fantastic view and very spacious penthouse. It surpassed my expectations as I felt it was better than what was announced. The host Francisco is very kind, helpful and easily accessible and always left the place clean. Strongly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Hi Célia:
Thank you so much for such kind words. I am very happy to be able to make your stay in Rio nicer. I hope to host you in the future, for longer period....
Thank you!
Best regards,
Francisco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArealaR
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Indeed.... a charming penthouse!”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a fantastic place to stay! Easy booking process and communication with Francisco. He was there to welcome us and provide information about the area and things to do.
The apartment is very private, spacious and unique! It was hot and humid when we were there so the lovely air conditioning was a blessing. The outside decks provide the opportunity for relaxing with an amazing 180 degree view! Just magic!
The beach, many restaurants, shops and metro were all very close and the added bonus of the 24 hour supermarket, basically across the road, was the best!
Thanks to Celia for farewelling us with such warmth. We were made to feel like friends :-)
We loved the opportunity to stay here and would highly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Hi Wendy and Steve:
I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Rio and in this penthouse! This is my objective. Thank you so much for such kind review. I hope to host you again in the future.
Best regards,
Francisco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy T
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed in this appartement for 10 days in February during carnival and had a wonderful time. Francisco, the owner, lives in the appartment below, is very friendly and speaks perfect English. He responded promply to our booking request, all subsequent emails and whilst we were there seemed more than happy to provde advice on the area and answer queries.

The appartment itself is a large studio with kitchenette and two terraces that are great for sunbathing on. It is in a good location, minutes away from Ipanema beach. There is a 24hr supermarket across the road, lots of restaurants and bars near by and is absolutely perfect for a couple visiting Rio for a short break. It has all the amenities you might need like washing machine, fridge, iron, hair dryer and even some plug adapters. There is a small pool (about the size of a large hot tub) on the top deck which is great for cooling down in. To access the building you have to open a security gate at the front that is monitored by a guard. The appartment itself is on the 10th floor past another two locked doors so it feels very safe.

All in all my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Francisco and his lovely apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Hi Billy and Emir: I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in this penthouse; this is my objective! You were great guests and hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you very much for such kind review and remarks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owl_428
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing location. Great apartment.”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is located in the Posto 8 area of Ipanema, close to Astor restaurant. It has one big open plan room with a bed, a sofa bed and a kitchenette. There are two terraces with views to the beach, Cristo Redentor and Sugar Loaf. The apartment is the perfect size for a couple, a small family or a couple of friends. There is free wifi, towels, bedsheets and a cleaner comes twice a week.

The beach is about a two minute walk away and there's a 24 hour supermarket opposite. There are lots of cafés, bars and restaurants nearby as well as a metro station and bus stop. The owners are very attentive and make sure you have everything you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noise
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Hi Omid!
Thank you so much for such kind review and remarks! I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in this penthouse.
I hope to host you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing