We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
15
10
3
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
10
3
1
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

The apartment was very spaceful and clean, bed was comfortable and is a quite place despite it is in a noisy area. Walking distances of the beach...literally 5 minutes to spot 9. Some fancy restaurants around, but the supermarket is a bit further away. Only negative thing would be that the airco was quite noisy, and if you are not willing to try to understand Portuguese will be challenging, but service is super efficient and really nice!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
Thank FrankCortesBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014

The Ipanema Beach Star is a very lovely comfortable self catering aparthotel. It has all the necessary one looks for in a hotel, with staff that are always very helpful and informative. We used them on a professional level for the World Cup and were not disappointed at all.
All our guests were very well taken care of.
The aparthotel is situated in the heart of Ipanema - One block from the busy shopping streets and one block in the opposite direction to the beach - Perfect location for long or short stays.
A cold breakfast is served daily. There is a swimming pool and sauna available if you prefer staying in.. All in all a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Rooms street facing with balcony have more natural lighting. Back rooms are not bad at all either. All very cosy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LukeCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

location is great, but the appartments are not - small, overlooking small internal patio or rather a tube, with no view and little day light nor freash air, rather noisy. The double bed is small, the convertible sofá is even smaller, maybe 1,2m and with very thin materace. unfonfortable to sleep. we asked for a baby cot and they provided us with a touristic bed with deformated bottom and NO! materace...not clear how the baby was supposed to sleep in that? they wanted to charge us addtionally for towels for the kids, even though the reservation was for 4 persons. the towels were never changed. the breakfast is basic and served in a dark and stuffy room with no view of course, on Sunday they did not want to serve us the breakfast at 9.40, because they were supossed to close sharply at 10. The staff is not very helpful and a bit lost, they only pretends to speak English, so it is diffcult to communicate if any problem occures. I would recommend the location, but not this place. They were very careles for the customer and the place has no charm nor any personal touch. It was a pitty to stay there, as Rio seemed so nice and beautiful city to us, so would be nicer to stay in some nice place as well with some view at least! It is probably ok to sleep for 2 people (sofá is unconfortable, so not a good option to sleep on), if you have no other options, but do not plan to spend any nice time there...

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ewa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa F, Gerente at Mc Flats Ipanema Beach Star, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear customer,

We´d like to thank you for your feedback and although we didn´t find any booking in your personal name, I suppose you have stayed with us in the early september ( from Sep 04 - 07 ) as the only guests we had in this period with a baby stayed at the apartment 203 ( standard category as requested ).

I´d like to apologize for not having met your expectations and I´ll personally check for more comfortable cot options in order to improve our services for families who travel with babies like you. About the convertible sofa, we normally provide a bigger one when we know previously how many people are suppose to stay in the apartments and in this case, the only request we received was concerning to the cot for a baby ( 18 months ) and we didn´t identify any mention to 04 people, so the existing sofa would be big enough for a child up to 06 years old.

We appreciate your colaboration and I can assure we´re working hard to offer each day a better experience to our guests by training our staff and presenting the suggestions to the involved departments like the one you did about closing time of coffee shop.

Finally, I´d like to invite you to stay with us during your next trip in a special condition and as far as you tell us when it will be, we´ll book an apartment in a higher and lighter floor.

Thanks in advance and please feel free to contact me in case you need any further clarification.

Friendly regards,

Teresa Freitas
Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a great time there. Good service, amazing location (in the heart of Ipanema), clean rooms and good breakfast. The employees were also very nice. Nothing to complain about it, except the fact that it had no cell phone signal in the room (but this does not seem a matter related to hotel from my point of view). I would easily stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rafaelfeldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I've now stayed at the Ipanema Beach Star on three extended occasions while working in Rio. Each time has been a one bedroom apartment with a small kitchen and living room. The furnishings are very basic with TV's from decades past. The wi-fi is reasonably fast and reliable by Brazilian standards. Really, the only high point for the apartment is it's location - just one block from Ipanema Beach and close to plenty of shops and restaurants. Ipanema apartments are famously expensive so you get very little for your money. And the apartment owners are equally famous for spending as little as possible on maintaining or upgrading. Despite all that, I enjoy my stays and love my evening walks on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews