We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
132
305
183
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
305
183
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ipanema beach great location budget hotel an expensive city front desk staff air con minute walk from the hotel bed was comfortable visit rio christ the redeemer commerce taxis portuguese neighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Hotel Vermont is located in an excellent area in Ipanema. Street with nice commerce, 2 blocks from the beach, near the subway. The front desk staff is super sweet, the breakfast excellent. The cost benefit is great.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvermont, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Mrs. Claudia P
Thank you to report here on Trip Advisor your experience at our Hotel, our team was very happy about and also for help you to stay lovely days at our city and, certainly, we will work hard reach the stage "Very Good" to " Excellent".
We are leaving you an invitation to return at our Hotel.
King reguards,
HOTEL VERMONT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

There ought to be a mid point between "Average" and "Very good" on this site--it's exactly in that gap that the Hotel Vermont exists. Really reasonable (at least in the off season & for a large group), and offering a lovely breakfast (and a GREAT location), the hotel should be on your radar if you're a fan of the clean, efficient, studiously bland budget hotel with superb friendly service in a good neighborhood. It would be better if they could dial back the disinfectant maybe, or find another scent? Nothing can be done about the lack of view.

Room Tip: Go high up...
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SubjectTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvermont, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Mr(s)
Thank you to report here on Trip Advisor your experience at our Hotel, our team was very happy about and also for help you to stay lovely days at our city and, certainly, we will work hard reach the stage "Very Good" to " Excellent".
We are leaving you an invitation to return at our Hotel.
King reguards,
HOTEL VERMONT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Reception very helpful on arrival and we were shown to our room on the fourth floor. After we had partially unpacked, we noticed that the bed was not very stable and discovered that it only had three legs with the fourth lying on the floor in the middle. How this was not noticed when the bed was made up is beyond me. Reported to reception who asked us whether we would like another room as maintenance was off duty. We were shown to a room on the 3rd floor, the only one apparently available. The following evening we were informed that the bed had been repaired/replaced and would we like to move back but we declined.
The room was OK, decor would have been modern in the 70's but the bed was comfortable, and the air-con quiet and effective. Bathroom (in both rooms) really small and claustrophobic. Nowhere to place toilet bags except on the floor. Most powerful shower ever but that did mean some leakage onto the bathroom floor. Towels thin and bath towels on the small side. Towels changed every day and the room was kept very clean. No robes and no tea or coffee making facilities. WiFi good. Breakfast was well stocked and acceptable, if a little unexciting.
One issue with reception/concierge - as suggested when in Rio, we requested reception to book taxis for us and this was delegated to another employee. On the first occasion we ask to go to Sugarloaf Mountain.. After a short distance we asked the driver where he was going and he said Corcovado ( Christ the Redeemer) and we managed to persuade him to turn round as we had pre-booked tickets. On the second occasion we requested a taxis to Corcovado train station and the driver proceeded to the highest accessible point of the mountain and we were unable to make clear that we wanted the train. Did not spoil our visit but we had pre-booked the train and thus paid for it and the taxis ride was 60 reals as opposed to about 20. Was this deliberate as we saw money pass from the driver to the concierge?
Hotel was in a good, secure location for our purposes but if we ever visit Rio again we would choose somewhere else to stay

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Culture809479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvermont, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Mr. MJB

Thank you to report here on Trip Advisor your experience at our Hotel, our team was very happy about and also for help you to stay lovely days at our city.
We are leaving you an invitation to return at our Hotel.
King reguards,
HOTEL VERMONT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel itself was okay, the staff also very polite. Some basics could have been improved though: one of the two lifts looked awful, with patches to cover the wall, dirty cutlery for breakfast and very noisy airco in the room. Perhaps we were just a bit unlucky...

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank CodaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvermont, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Mrs CodaQ
Thank you to report here on Trip Advisor your experience at our Hotel, our team was very happy about and also for help you to stay lovely days at our city.We are working at the lift to fixed and repaired the patches wall and the breakfast team was warned by the cutlery breakfast
We are leaving you an invitation to return at our Hotel.
King reguards,
HOTEL VERMONT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

2 block from ipanema beachside at it's best. Amazing staff organizing excellent airport transfer, great tipps, always happy,... We stayed at small older backside room on 10floor with Corcovado view and enjoyed this cosy, clean room. Yes AC isn't silent. However room has everything needed and we spend more time in town and at beach than in room. ; ).
Our highlight was breakfast with a lot of tropical fruits (mango, papaya, pineapple,...)!
From airport u can reach hotel with Omnibus 2018 (16 realos 2017, 1hour) or per taxi (30-40min). To Urca (sugarloaf mountain) bus 581 station is just a block away. Wave as in US and the bus stops for u (ticket 4relaos 2017). Just go till endstation.

Room Tip: backyard rooms are quieter as rooms to front street
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RolandS2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvermont, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Mr. Roland S

Thank you to report here on Trip Advisor your experience at our Hotel, our team was very happy about and also for help you to stay lovely days at our city.
We are leaving you an invitation to return at our Hotel.
King reguards,
HOTEL VERMONT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews