We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 661)
Filter reviews
2 661 results
Traveller rating
1 415
920
228
68
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 415
920
228
68
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porto bay hotel rooftop pool copacabana beach christ the redeemer top floor sparkling wine overlooking the beach excellent hotel beach service panoramic view flip flops sugarloaf mountain corner room sugar loaf welcome drink our honeymoon breakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2 661 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Nice glass of sparkling wine on arrival ! Good location right on Copacabana beach.
We had a Superior Limited Ocean View room so we had a side view of the beach and a front view of another building. The room itself and the bathroom were a good size and the shower was the best we had on our trip.
The bar on the 20th floor was great,perfect for a few early evening drinks and the staff up there were lovely. The swimming pool is tiny and only 3 metres deep so no good for swimming.
Lifts are a pain as there are only 2 for the whole hotel so there were long waits.
We enjoyed breakfast but the room was far too small for the number of guests. Whilst we didn't have to queue,it did mean that it was chaotic and the tables were squeezed together. Shame as on our last day it would have been nice to linger and watch the beach but it was not peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norrisBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Gustavo Zanotta
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

I’ve nothing negative to say about this hotel. It was in a perfect location for Copacabana beach and they supply sun beds and towels on the beach, directly across the road. There is an excellent roof-top pool and bar area.

The staff were all excellent and our room was good. The breakfast was fine. The wi-fi worked everywhere. Very good value for money we think.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stavros45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,
It is very important for us to receive your feedback. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next stay at one of our hotels.
Best Regards,
Gustavo Zanotta
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

The location is perfect. Sits directly on Copacabana Beach. Food options walking distance. SAFE. Pool is small. Elevators take time. View is very good. You can see Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf mountain from your room. As an American traveler, no wash cloths can confuse you so bring your own. They only use HAND TOWELS in Rio which was backed up by my stay at the Sheraton Rio Resort. They also provide beach towels and and beach chairs FOR FREE. FREE! The breakfast didnt appear very appealing but this was something I encountered at most non American restaurants. Housekeeping was IMPECCABLE. As a Housekeeping Manager in Washingtion DC, I was blown away by the cleanliness of my room upon arrival and the stayover service I received. Truly 5 stars. The roof top pool is mostly for lounging, tans and socializing.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cortez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and comments. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to PortoBay Rio de Janeiro.
We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel.
We hope to see you again in Rio de Janeiro
.
Kind Regards,
Gustavo Zanotta
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

I stayed here for one night only during a quick visit to the city last july and found the service, staff and accomodations all to be outstanding. The rooms are nicely appointed and decorated. The food is good and the reception goes out of their way to help you. The elevator have keycard access for all floors for security.
Will bring my family here. I like the hotel and love the location.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank star_boy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the PortoBay Rio de Janeiro hotel for your stay in Rio. We were very pleased to read your message about our hotel and team. Your comments are very valuable for us and for our future guests.
We look forward to having you back with your family!
Kind Regards,
Gustavo Zanotta
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights while in Rio. The hotel has a lovely pool and bar on the 20th floor. We spent many late afternoons there sipping Caipirinhas enjoying the view.
The hotel also offers beach chairs, recliners, towels and umbrellas if you want to spend time taking in the Atlantic. (Keep in mind locals will walk up to you trying sell you all kinds of stuff, but they are harmless).
There are many restaurants and bars within walking distance from the hotel and we felt safe walking around the area at night.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hjk131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Gustavo Zanotta
front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews