We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$233
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$230
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/29
Agoda.com
US$233
US$184
View deal
SAVE US$49
Free cancellation until 21/06/30
Hotels.comUS$230
TravelocityUS$230
eDreamsUS$233
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
428
66
23
8
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
428
66
23
8
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold lounge main pool spirit bar le labo pools are lovely vogue magazine morning sun butler service poolside bar bedroom suite every amenity the ocean view room sugarloaf mountain infinity pool exceptional hotel sugar loaf hotel gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2021 via mobile

This was the most incredible experience I’ve had in a long time. 5 STAR service. Do not stay anywhere but here. The manager Mohammed is to be commended For his service and dedication to his guest!!!

We were blown away by everything he and the staff did. Everybody in the entire hotel was polite and accommodating.

5 star all the Way around. I travel a lot and I stay in hotels all the time around the world at this by far was the best experience I’ve had.

From the moment I walked in until we left everything was perfect.

The view, the pool, the beach, the food. Everything literally was perfect.

The gifts and surprises they left us made my wife feel amazing and there’s no price tag on that.

If you’re reading this I promise you you will not be disappointed!!!!!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 801jullianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont Rio, Proprietário at Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Hello,

We are very happy to see comments like yours about Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon to make new incredible memories!

Kind regards,
Netto Moreira
General Manager
Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021 via mobile

Having stayed at other Fairmont hotels & resorts elsewhere in the world, our expectations from this particularly understated property - in contrast to the grandeur of many of its other cousins - were unfairly high.

The panoramic view of Copacabana from the main pool & restaurant on the 6th floor was stunning compared to the view from the room we were assigned.

We had already been irrevocably spoilt and pampered during our stay at Belmond Copacabana Palace a week earlier with a stunning complimentary upgrade to their 1-bedroom suite with a fabulous view of both the beach and pool from their newer wing.

Having stayed at both the Fairmont and Copacabana Palace - at the same price - our preference for our next trip to Rio would be to book with the latter for their more luscious historic rooms & suites.

However, to be fair, the restaurant & main pool at the Fairmont does have a very impressive overview of Copacabana beach, especially from sunset onwards.

Service was - as to be expected - stellar at every level.

From concierge parking to reception to restaurant staff, the greetings were genuine and welcoming.

Food & beverage was on par with other 5-star luxury hotel establishmens in Brazil that we have stayed at.

Our sincere gratitude to everyone at the Fairmont in Rio for their very kind hospitality and professional courtesies.

Cheers!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank philipswestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

After a long work trip offshore on the Peregrino field, it was like heaven to stay at Fairmont to finalize the VISA-procedures and do the required Covid19 tests before the flight home to Norway.

Concierge Lionel organized everything for us through WhatsApp and emails, what an excellent service!!! And at front desk Mohammed responded quickly to all our needs, and even managed late checkout to match our flight. Thank you very much Lionel and Mohammed, and to the rest of the staff!

Food & drinks was perfect, recommend to try the lunch cheeseburger and something cold to drink at the pool bar!

Covid safety was top notch, we felt very safe at the hotel!

Would love to come back here again after covid crisis calms down!

Room tip: Seaview! Wake up at sunrise, make a cup of fresh coffee and enjoy it on your private balcony while taking in the magic scenery!
Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mistergard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont Rio, Proprietário at Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

Hello,

We are very happy to see comments like yours about Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon to make new incredible memories.

Kind regards,

Netto Moreira
General Manager
Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2021 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time and during Corona times- the measures are very good with everybody wearing a mask and effective protocol in the Restaurants, Bars, 2 pools, room service and Spa.

The food in the Michelin recommended Marine Resto and Service, Wines and ambiance was even better than last time. During weekend the front pool with one of the finest views of Rio is a bit crowded mainly with boy (old and not so old) groups. We liked the music of resident DJ and local artists. But the other pool was very tranquil and the Bar service the same or even better as more relaxed.

As Accor Diamond I was offered a nice upgrade to a front view room, a bottle of very good local red wine, no choclates or other food options though due to COVID. The discount at the Spa was available wothout further request- also worth to mention.

Unfortunately the Gold lounge is also closed due to current contingencies but the Concierge at the normal Check in was very attentive and flexible as in the former lounge. Just the breakfast is a bit annoying in the day to day Restaurant as Brazilians are very demanding and foreigners feel a bit neglected by service.

Very pleasant is the spa with a wide range of treatments and very attentive staff (Ariane is superfriendly, efficient and speaks perfect English)! We would like to point out the massage of Stefania and Artur who made us feel newly born.

At least Mohamed at the reception who wears always funny large checkered suits is almost a friend of us- with his friendliness he made even the very bureaucratic local Check-in requirements a pleasure and kept in mind a lot of information of us from our last stay!

If we had his brain we would like to name a lot of other people (Ronny at the bar is the only one I recall) who make us feel here like we‘re part of the family in a home away from home.

We hope this excellent striving in this hard times will be continued many years and we always can return to this beautiful place in this fascinating city; hopefully Covid goes away soon, and we can again savour the royal service and Gold lounge.

Stay safe knowing you have a place in our heart and we‘ll pray for you and this wonderful hotel

Maria&Michael

Date of stay: February 2021
2  Thank MichaelX16XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont Rio, Proprietário at Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Hello Maria and Michael,

We are very happy to see comments like yours about Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon to make new incredible memories.

Kind regards,

Netto Moreira
General Manager
Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2021

Very beautiful hotel with an outstanding view, newly refurbished. Nicely presented, complete and tasty breakfast. Safe and clean environment. Friendly staff, we were well taken care of by Silvia. Very much recommended, even if not staying at hotel.

Date of stay: January 2021
1  Thank philipwE1211DW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont Rio, Proprietário at Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Hello Philip,

We are very happy to see comments like yours about Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon to make new incredible memories.

Kind regards,

Netto Moreira
General Manager
Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews