We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$230
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/29
Booking.com
US$233
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$233
US$184
View deal
SAVE US$49
Free cancellation until 21/06/30
Hotels.comUS$230
TravelocityUS$230
eDreamsUS$233
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
428
66
23
8
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
428
66
23
8
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold lounge main pool spirit bar le labo pools are lovely vogue magazine morning sun butler service poolside bar bedroom suite every amenity the ocean view room sugarloaf mountain infinity pool exceptional hotel sugar loaf hotel gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

Situated overlooking the whole length of Copacabana beach, our junior suite was just about perfect. We really enjoyed every aspect of hotel...pools, bar, restaurants, service etc. However the staff really shone when we had a problem.
A yellow taxi driver insisted that we pay only by credit card on our return from Sugarloaf mountain. However his system withdrew R$4300 from out account instead R$27....over £750. Their porters etc, realising our problem, called the police and surrounded the driver until they arrived. The front of house manager came with us to the police station and helped us with translation etc. as we gave our statement for over 3 hours.
Now that is great service!
Please remember, pay all taxis in cash!
Have fun!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 7RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont-Rio, Gerente geral at Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

Hello,

We are very happy to see comments like yours about Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. We will share your words with our team.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Netto Moreira
General Manager Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

We were really looking forward to a few days of luxury at the end of our trip of Brazil but were very disappointed with the Fairmont Rio. The service was awful!! We waited two hours for a club sandwich at lunchtime, twice we ordered a bottle of wine only to be told it wasn’t in stock, food at dinner turned up at different times and the swimming pool is more like a plunge pool!! The public areas are far too small for the amount of people that need to be catered for. Quite frankly we can’t wait to leave!!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank janet405983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

The hotel is great! Great structure, great views and location, great rooms, spacious common areas, tasteful decoration and decent restaurant and bars.

We stayed 4 nights at a 1 bedroom suite oceanfront. The room was very spacious with 1 full bathroom (with separate tub and shower) and an additional 1/2 bathroom. Spacious living room, bedroom and closet space and 2 balconies with full view of Copacabana beach and the sugarloaf mountain. Great amenities, technology and “Le Labo” toiletries! The only negative was the very small size of the main bathroom sink. Housekeeping was also perfect!

Main restaurant has an inventive menu which, from our point of view, could be a little bit less inventive with more traditional dishes. Several “to share” options, but hard to find something for one person as they don’t do 1/2 orders.... Very expensive dishes! But food was in general very good. Service was very good - thanks Shirley and Neves!

Main bar is very nice, with great seating and views! Nice food menu. Cocktails preparation service was confusing, but overall bar service was very good - thanks Luana and Francisco!

Pool area is great (in fact the hotel has 2 pool areas, one with the view to Copacabana beach and the other with no view)... Bar service at the pool was also very good - thanks to Jorge! I think the main pool (close to bars and restaurant) should be for adults only, but that is just our opinion.

The only BIG negative review we have is the number of private events the hotel holds! During our stay they held a Feijoada for Vogue magazine and they closed the access of main pool area, restaurant and bar for guests from 11:30am till 7pm on a sunny Saturday!!! Unbelievable! As a result, guests didn’t have food options (rather than a separate arear on the business center floor) and were obliged to use the pool with no view (which was so full that you could not find place to seat). In addition, they played VERY loud live music during the entire event and rooms facing the main pool and ocean had to “participate” on that loud ambiance as the music was “playing inside” our rooms. The hotel management told us about the event in advance, however we think it was a complete disrespect with guests!

In addition, I forgot to mention the the hotel security is not good as anyone can reach lobby, restaurant, bar and pool areas without any security check... For a city like Rio that is unacceptable!

We will definitely come back, but we expect the hotel management prefer to chose guest satisfaction instead of holding big private events...!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank TravelCoachOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful - amazing view- and offers great quality products. The problem is the service, which is, with some exceptions, erratic/inconsistent. The team needs training and step up to what is really expected from a 5 star hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Edzanatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont Rio, Proprietário at Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Fairmont, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Regards,

Netto Moreira
General Manager
Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

I’ve been to Rio many many times and so far this has been the best hotel.
It’s a newly renovated hotel so the standard is quite high. I had a basic room, and absolutely no complaints about it. I had all the amenities I needed, including free water.
I love that the hotel has two pools: one for the morning sun (stunning view over the beach!) and one for the afternoon sun.
The gym is amazing! The staff was great - I was glad a saw some familiar staff from the Sofitel hotel at Ipanema which currently is closed - they provided as always excellent service.
If I have to point one negative thing out: I had food twice in the hotel, and it was not very high standard.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank jonasr727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont-Rio, Gerente geral at Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Hello,

Thank you for take your time for this great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Netto Moreira
General Manager Fairmont Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews