We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/26
Hotels.com
US$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/26
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$92
US$55
View deal
SAVE US$37
TravelocityUS$92
eDreamsUS$92
Orbitz.comUS$92
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
60
25
12
12
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
25
12
12
27
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2020 via mobile

I often looked at this then closed hotel when staying at the now former InterContinental next door.

I was excited when this hotel reopened last year under the Melia brand but couldn't make it before they had already dropped their affiliation (and I can see why).

The hotel is not fully operational based on a walk on the 30th floor. Hopefully they finish before closing the hotel again.

I booked a superior suite that was ok. Only one trashbin for the entire space?

The AC was really weird. It is like they have a standalone unit for each room and not a central one.

The hotel phones in the suite were cheapest possible crap.

The internet didn't work most of the time and had to tether on the cellphone network to get work done. I guess that the hotel is still in the 1990's.

The view of the beach was nice, however.

The front desk is an utter mess and took half an hour to check in.

The breakfast restaurant is like a nursery. They should put some acustic panels on the wall.

The location next to the biggest favela in Rio likely worries some.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
5  Thank LoyaltyLobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

This hotel is spectacular i was there and the sight seen fantastic service wondedrful !Sitting by the looking outside just awesome the service really great and people great Why is it closing=?just love it

Room tip: first line
Date of stay: November 2018
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2019

So wonderful it's hard to describe. For one week it was like being in a fantasy world . Will be a main memory of your life to stay here. The service was great, The people were great . I would love to go again.

Room tip: the higher the better
Date of stay: October 2018
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usatbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketing hnbb, Marketing at Hotel Nacional Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded today
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room tip: mais alto possível.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketing hnbb, Marketing at Hotel Nacional Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews