We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/20
FindHotel
US$80
US$66
View deal
SAVE US$14
Expedia.comUS$73
PricelineUS$77
HurbUS$80
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 560)
Filter reviews
2 561 results
Traveller rating
1 332
921
206
54
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 332
921
206
54
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar christ the redeemer sea view small pool top floor rooms are modern breakfast buffet perfect location overlooking the beach an amazing view felt safe south america copacabana rio internet brazil elevator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2 561 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2020

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe double room with sea view for 5 nights in December 2019/January 2020, i.e. we were also there over New Year's Eve. We'd specifically booked a hotel that would have a view to Copacabana beach.

Overall, this hotel provided a disappointing price-quality ratio. This might partly have been due to the hiked prices over the New Year's Eve period, but there were so many annoyances that we would not return:

- room wasn't particularly well-cleaned and towels were stained.
- this was supposedly a four star hotel, but there were no slippers or bathrobes in room.
- there is zero sound isolation. We could hear absolutely everything from the hallway and adjacent rooms and it drove us mad.
- the lift/elevator is dangerous. Once, it stopped 0,5 metres from the ground and my husband almost broke his ankle when he stepped out.
- we'd splurged on a full sea-view/beach view but were on such a low floor that we really just saw the street in front of us and a sliver of the sea. I'd been expecting to get the panoramic view of the entire beach. Indeed, the hotel's located in the middle of Copacabana beach, so if you're after the whole crescent view of the beach, you should instead pick a hotel at either end of the beach.
- pre-communication with hotel was lousy. They kept sending us mails, urging us to check-in online in advance, which we dutifully did and spent a lot of time doing this. This information was in no way used or acknowledged at check-in. Furthermore, it took forever to book the New Year's party package. We also had to send our credit card details by E-MAIL (!!) for this, which is just a big no-no. Come on, it's 2020, there are a million different ways these details can be submitted securely online!
- we asked them to book us a private airport transfer after our 24 hrs+ travelling. We were told they don't "provide that service currently." WHAAAT?! Again, first time ever. (We took a normal airport taxi instead, which turned out be easy and hassle-free, but if a hotel guest wants to book a more expensive option in advance simply for the ease of it, this should be available.)

On the positive side, the minibar was good-sized, the AC was cold (but loud!) and the shower was efficient. The breakfast buffet was also relatively good. Location is obviously excellent for Copacabana beach and the shops and European-style restaurants and bars in the green zone. We walked on the beach and to restaurants nearby during the day and in the early evenings (when there were still people out and about) and felt safe. We wore no jewellery or watches and I did not take a handbag with me.

For ease and safety, we booked the hotel's New Year's Eve party package, which cost R$ 950 pp and included a buffet dinner with all-inclusive drinks (cocktails, wine, sparkling wine) and a party on the rooftop with all-inclusive drinks (cocktails, wine, sparkling wine) and nibbles. For the price, I wasn't expecting lobster, truffles or foie gras. The food itself was perfectly acceptable, although not particularly festive or exciting. Drinks were very good and top-ups were generous and efficient. The views from the rooftop to Copacabana beach for the fireworks and people-watching were obviously excellent. However, the hotel had crammed the dining room full with tables so it felt extremely uncomfortable and the queues to the small buffet table were just too long. Queues to the two, already inadequate and downright scary elevators were long, and I actually ended up taking the stairs (a long and very sweaty work-out!) to the rooftop. Similarly, we were disappointed that the hotel had put extremely little effort into decorations. There were very small and humble DIY-looking centrepieces in the dining room, but no sparklers, headgear, balloons, confetti, chocolates or anything whatsoever had been left for guests either at the table or in the rooms. (The only notice we received in the room of this holiday was an A4 outlining all the changes to room service and laundry during this time.) There would have been potential for so much more and, considering what we were paying for the room during this time, it felt like the hotel was just trying to maximise their profits to the greatest degree possible. This lack of acknowledgment was a first for us when staying at a hotel over New Year's Eve. The New Year's Day brunch, which was included for guests, was literally leftovers from last night's dinner and a few of the normal breakfast items thrown in. Very disappointing.

In conclusion, we were slightly disappointed with this hotel due to room issues (zero sound isolation, lack of cleanliness, and the view), communication issues as well as the hotel's slightly disappointing approach to New Year's Eve festivities.

Room tip: If you've booked a room with full sea view, ask for a room as high up as possible.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boarding_gate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Geral ... A, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2020

Dear Madam,


We thank you for having chosen the Arena Copacabana Hotel and also for sending your comments to us.

We noticed that you have enjoyed some aspectcs of your stay, however, we apologize for the inconveniences caused. Please be sure that action will be taken by our management to rectify our faults, that is why I would like to thank you for bringing the subjects to our attention, so we can work on better our services towards our Guests.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

My e-mail address is gerenciageral.copa@arenahotel.rio.



Sincerely,

Beatriz Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2020

We have always stayed at the Copacabana Palace, but since it has now become overated and overpriced, decided to spend 12 days at the Arena Hotel. Delighted we made the switch, and found a new "home" in Rio!
Brilliant location for all amenities, and the hotel is spotless, serves a great breakfast (perhapss a small microwave in the area would be of benefit to people who like hot food?), in a restaraunt overlooking the beach. Didnt see any other hotels on the "strip" with this big plus.
Book a Suite if you can, well worth the price difference. They provide great sweeping views, ceiling to floor windows, comfy bed and powerful shower. Pool area also very attractive, and thanks to Matheus there. Also want to thank our brill chamber maid of 905, tall girl and such fun. Whole place very clean. Wifi fast and reliable.
Thanks to all at Reception, particularly Bruno and Felipe in reservations, especially during the "corona" period. ALL the staff handled the difficult situation with great professionalism, a credit to them.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Obrigardo John

Room tip: Book a suite if you can.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank harrisonford13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clément I, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you so much for staying at our Arena Copacabana Hotel!

Your comments are very important to us and we were delighted to hear that your stay was great and that we met your expectations.

We hope to receive your visit again soon! How about already booking your next stay with us?

Sincerely,

Clément Izard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

First time in Rio. My childhood dream. In reality - earthly paradise. Telling my friends in US - they don't believe, the never ever imagine place like this. Great, clean white sand beaches, most friendly people on the earth, very safe - walking on the beach until midnight. Nobody ask for money! In Cambridge will ask every 5 min. Food is amazing, plenty restaurants, service is great. Taxi drivers are so polite and knowledgeable. Practically without Brazilian (Portuguese) and little Spanish, we can communicate with people and even make friends. Taxi driver in our ride to Christ the Redeemer even made 20 min lecture about statue and Rio, on mix of Brazilian, Spanish and English.

Room tip: Ocean view rooms are the best, open window, you do not need AC, fresh ocean air in the room. Amazing!
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SergeyS2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clément I, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you so much!

Your comments are very important to us and we were delighted to hear that your stay was great and that we met your expectations.

We hope to receive your visit again soon! How about already booking your next stay with us?

Sincerely,

Clément Izard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020

What can I say, I booked a partial beach view and ended up with the beach to my left and Christ the Redeemer to my right, I guess that will do!!!! This place is a wonderful hotel, right in the middle of the beach walk from end to end of the cococabana, I would say, best location, and service, we were completely impressed by Lucas and Matheus, while everyone was great, Lucas and Matheus made our week stay above and beyond, from morning breakfast with Lucas to afternoon drinks by the pool with either Lucas or Matheus. Both speaking English or Spanish with us to help with the language barrier, not just that but, over all very professional, but also friendly and welcoming, when you are at a place for a week, having staff treat you like a friend really makes a difference, we will remember them both for the great service. The hotel rooms are very clean, professional to get work done if you need, have a safe, extra blankets if your husband freezes you like mine, wonderful shampoo and conditioner and kept daily. The breakfast was a huge plus for us, so hearty that we only really ate one other meal a day, if you have no had pineapple from south america - go to Brazil just for that!!! All around just wonderful, the pool was so clean and refreshing, the bar and drinks so tasty, I just cannot say enough. 32 countries 6 continents - I rate this one high.

Room tip: 1202 - beach one side, christ the redeemer on the other!!!
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank louannz2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clément I, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Thank you so much for staying at our Arena Copacabana Hotel!

Your comments are very important to us and we were delighted to hear that your stay was great and that we met your expectations.

I will certainly inform Lucas and Matheus of your comments! Our vocation is to welcome our guests in the way that they feel in a house of dear friends and we are extremely happy that their perception of our hotel is exactly that.

We hope to receive your visit again soon! How about already booking your next stay with us?

Sincerely,

Clément Izard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Felt safe security in the foyer lovely roof terrace view of the beach and Christ the redeemer lovely poo
Yes there was only one lift working it was not an issue really
But I would say check your bill we found a smoking charge added they didn’t point it out and we don’t smoke so we were a bit outraged requested second check and it was removed from bill .
It wouldn’t deter me from recommending this hotel though

Date of stay: February 2020
2  Thank minxypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clément I, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Thank you so much for staying at our Arena Copacabana Hotel!

Your comments are very important to us and we were delighted to hear that your stay was great and that we met your expectations.

We hope to receive your visit again soon! How about already booking your next stay with us?

Sincerely,

Clément Izard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews