We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$94
eDreamsUS$94
TripadvisorUS$94
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
179
21
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
21
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

My 12 year old daughter and I stayed here during the Olympics. Helena and Diogo are gracious, kind, and helpful hosts. They gave us advice and directions during our stay. Breakfast was delightful in their stately home with big windows and gorgeous views.

Cosme Velho is a neighborhood up the hill from the Corcovado / Christ Redeemer train station. We enjoyed the steep climb up and down the hill and chose to have uber drivers pick us up and drop us off at the bottom near the train station. You definitely need to be in good shape to navigate the hill, but the uber drivers would take us up to the top if we asked them to. Uber was the most convenient form of transportation from there to other parts of the city, but public transportation was okay, too. The buses pick up at the base of the hill on a frequent basis. I recommend staying in Cosme Velho to get a more intimate view of life in a nice neighborhood in Rio. It's a quiet retreat inside what's left of the rainforest. It's not necessarily the best place for people looking for the raucous party-side of Rio.

My daughter spent the mornings watching monkeys play in the trees and observing the lovely foliage. She also spent hours reading in one of the big chairs in the front of the house.

We had no safety concerns here during the Olympics. It was safe to walk around at night.

The room was comfortable and the bathroom shower was one of my favorite parts for 2 reasons: it was the best hot water shower that I have experienced in a home (as opposed to a normal commercial hotel) in Brazil, and the window looked out into the yard with the lush plants.

We enjoyed our time and would definitely go back.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kimberly_and_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCaminhoCorcovado, Proprietário at Casa Caminho do Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear Kimberly,
Thank you for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to welcome you & Violet. Till now we have kept the text typed by Violet on the old typewriter in our library. She is so sweet. And you're a lovely person.
We hope see you again some day.
All the best,
Helena & Diogo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The approach road is narrow and up a steep hill, but the experience of staying in this family run enterprise is more than worth the effort by car, taxi or on foot of getting there. The attractive and beautifully furnished house, set dramatically amidst delightful terraced gardens into the side of the Corcovado Mountain, on which stands the iconic statue Christo Redentor, has a warmth to it that reflects the personalities of the owners. Even before we arrived Senhora Valença had taken a great deal of trouble to smooth out our plans for our stay and to provide much helpful information. During our stay we could not have felt more comfortable or at home - in fact the experience was more like staying in a friend's house than a commercial activity. Nothing was too much trouble, even the exceptionally late return times to the house occasioned by the Olympic programme. Breakfasts were magnificent and wonderful start to every day. We had a stay of 12 days and at no time did we feel time was dragging or we needed a change of venue. On the contrary we felt so comfortable that we were genuinely sad when the time came to leave. As a footnote it is worth appreciating that one is in the most perfect spot from which to visit the Christo Redentor Statue - one of the musts of a stay in Rio. An early morning start is the best way to get ahead of the crowds that swarm up to this venue and the 5 - 10 minute walk by the short cut downhill, fortified by breakfast, is the perfect way to start a day.

Room tip: We had the Monkey's room on the ground floor, which we found ideal. The house is in a wonderfully quiet environment.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GASCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCaminhoCorcovado, Proprietário at Casa Caminho do Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Gordon & Jenny,
Thank you for your comments and share with the next guests your impressions about our place.
Receive you gave us great moments.
Impossible to believe how 12 days went so fast! We hope that some day we can meet you again. Special people are unforgettable.
Fondly,
Helena & Diogo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We spent 11 nights at Casa Caminho do Corcovado. We stayed in the Toucan Room.

From the moment Diogo greeted us at the airport, to the farewell from Helena the morning we departed, the warmth and hospitality of this mother/son team supported us throughout our entire stay.

The historic home has much character and charm and is well maintained. The location, at the top of the Cosme Velho neighborhood, offers incredible views and the backyard is quite literally a jungle! Helena often goes up into the terraced yard in the morning with fresh fruit to feed the local marmoset and capuchin monkeys. We also saw toucans in the trees, along with numerous other tropical birds.

Continental breakfast, with eggs on request, is served every morning between 8 to 10. Earlier breakfast was also provided with advance notice. Every morning we were served fresh tropical fruits, fresh breads and cakes, juice, coffee and tea.

A few neighborhood restaurants were recommended by Helena, and we can personally recommend Assis (traditional Brasilian) and Mamma Rosa (Italian). There are also grocery stores and banks nearby. And a major bus stop is just down the hill on Rua Cosme Vehlo, adjacent to the Cristo Redentor tram. Uber also works quite well for getting around Rio. The location is central to Centro (downtown), Maracana Stadium, Santa Teresa, Botafogo (Pao de Acucar), the Lagoa, and the beach districts.

Our room had a large bed, ample windows, a small refrigerator, cable television, plenty of closet space, and a spacious bathroom. There's also a ceiling fan and an air conditioning unit. We were able to use the clothes lines outside to dry our laundry, and Helena even washed a load of clothing for us!

We would highly recommend this beautiful home to any of our friends or family, and would gladly stay here again. They helped make our trip to Rio a very memorable one.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderLust_Mike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCaminhoCorcovado, Proprietário at Casa Caminho do Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear Mike,
Thank you so much for your kindly words about us and perfect description to our place.
We enjoy all moments you stay with us. Your period on Casa Caminho do Corcovado will be memorable for us as well. We hope see you again someday.
All the best,
Helena & Diogo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed one week in the chalet three weeks ago, absolutely fabulous so private with beautiful surroundings. Helena and Diogo were the perfect hosts could not ask for more. This b and b really deserves all the great reviews it has, we left here to stay 2 nights at the infamous Copacabana Palace which was a great experience and Coldplay were staying there as they were playing at the Maracanã so quite a surreal experience, but we would have preferred to be back in Casa Caminho in our chalet somewhere we will never forget.....absolutely perfect! The Palace might have had Coldplay but Casa Caminho has Jesus every night !

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahephillips50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

We spend 3 nights in the lovely bungalow of Helena. Her and her son's Diogo hospitality is friendly, very supportive and flexible. We enjoyed the beautiful surrounding around our lovely bungalow. We experienced a customized and relaxed time. Because we slept so nearby one of the highlights of Rio; the Christador. It was easy to catch an early train to the top. Thanks for a fantastic time in Rio, Helena & Diogo!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Renate020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews