We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$39
View deal
Hotels.com
US$39
View deal
Trip.com
US$38
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Booking.comUS$46
PricelineUS$46
TravelocityUS$39
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
85
52
24
6
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
52
24
6
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2020

Os funcionários do Royal Regency Palace Hotel no Rio de Janeiro (Catete) não são muito amigáveis. Tudo parecia um inconveniente para eles. Pedindo toalhas de piscina, eles disseram usar nossas próprias toalhas de banho. Os funcionários da recepção não foram úteis ou amigáveis; muitas vezes recebido com um suspiro ou recepção gelada. Especialmente do membro do pessoal feminino. (O concierge / bell boy foi muito bom). A equipe do café da manhã grunhiu para nós (mesmo quando nós gentilmente agradecemos e sorrimos e usamos nossas melhores maneiras). Rio, seu povo precisa ser mais gentil com os turistas, porque eu provavelmente não recomendaria aos meus amigos que eles visitassem sua cidade (uma cidade maravilhosa que tem muito a oferecer). Eu não recomendaria o Royal Regency Palace.

The staff at the Royal Regency Palace Hotel in Rio De Janeiro (Catete) are not very friendly. Everything seemed an inconvenience to them. Asking for pool towels, they said to use our own shower towels. The staff at the reception desk were not helpful or friendly; often greeted with a sigh or frosty reception. Especially from the female staff member. (The concierge/bell boy was very nice). The breakfast staff grunted at us (even when we kindly thanked them and smiled and used our best manners). Rio, your people need to be kinder to tourists, because I probably wouldn't recommend to my friends that they visit your city (a wonderful city that has so much to offer). I would not recommend Royal Regency Palace at all.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank AntonPMelbourne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2019

Lovely hotel, very clean, not very close to the beach or the city centre but the metro station is 2 minutes away, 10-15 mins by metro to the beach.

Nice breakfast, the staff are very friendly and helpful as well. Plenty of restaurants and supermarkets within 5 minutes and there is a cinema near by as well.

I recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Sinbad_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2019 via mobile

Arrived after a long flight from UK
We were given our room and to be honest it was a little disappointing
We said we wanted a large room big enough for 3 ( just to explain size of room required)
The room was very average with a double and a single bed. ( obviously the language barrier had got in the way of what was required)
View from the tiny balcony looked like we were in the bronx. No chairs etc on the said tiny balcony.
Bathroom was very basic and the towels were which were meant to be white were more like a light grey.
In the room was a small but ok fridge
Water was replenished each day......
At No Point was there any indication that at the end of the week would we be charged for the water( no info leaflets, no indication from booking in)
TV on the wall has wires hanging within the weird frame
Breakfast was fine, a good choice of fruit and savoury’s
Minus point was that the lights over the cooked food were just that “lights” no heat to keep the food warm so everything was Luke warm or cold.
The thing that spoilt the holiday was that we returned much earlier that usual from being out for a meal to find our door open!!
We hurried in the room to find a young housekeeper in the room. When I asked what she was doing at 8.30pm ( our room had been fully cleaned 11am that morning.
She didn’t speak English and just left.
I went to reception and they could not explain why the maid was in our room....
This unnerved me and I didn’t not feel comfortable leaving the room without double checking the safe etc
I would not go back again mainly due to this as no one could explain this and there was NO REASON FOR ANYONE TO BE IN MY ROOM.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank PTDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

I stayed there with my husband for a week in January.
This is very simple but well appointed hotel
Rooms are small but clean and comfortable
Breakfast very good with lots of fruit,
Front desk staff extremely helpful,although not everyone speaks English
We are quite happy.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bdworecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2019

1200 EUR were missing from our cash envelope after we departed from the hotel. We stayed 5 nights - Dec 25-30. Here are the facts that make us believe we got robbed and that both service personnel and managing personnel are involved in a planned robbery:
1. We ended using our card and kept the cash money in the safe deposit box of the room the whole time, even recounted it last time 2 days before departure.
2. The bell boy and receptionist kept asking us where we are going and for how long, ordered Uber Taxi for us making sure they knew exactly where we are going.
3. One day the bellboy, not realizing that we had to return unexpectedly, walked into our room without us calling.
4. Only large banknotes (100 and 200 EUR) were taken, and smaller ones left in the envelope so the envelope feels
5. Other Booking.com users reported very similar cases in the last 24 months.

Finally, we have called, emailed the hotel asking to watch the cameras and electronic key logs to our room, but there has been no written response or a single call back. Every time we called in the course of this month, they said they will get back to us. No remorse for ruining our vacation.

Room tip: The personnel is regularly robbing guests
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank natalija706
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews