We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to relax in the sun, highly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Main Deck and View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Deck and View
Hammock on Main Deck Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Main Deck and View
Hammock on Main Deck
Sunset
Casa Tartaruga
Main House Entrance
Sunset
Main House deck
Sheltered beach by dock
View from private dock
Main House Living Room
Main House Living room
Main House - View from Living Room
Main House Master Bedroom
Main House - Living Room
Main House - View from Master Bedroom
Main House Bathroom
Inside Dining Area
Dining under the trees
View from deck
View from the sea
Stone House - Blue Bedroom
Stone House - Turquoise Bedroom
Stone House
Stone House
Fisherman's House Living Room
Fisherman\'s House Bedroom
Local restaurant
Nearby Beach
View from decks
View from deck
View from deck
Sunset from the dock
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Vince09
quebec
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to relax in the sun, highly recommended !”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a Brazilian blast at the house, everything is perfect, the place, the small beach, the view on the bay, the nearby village, etc, etc. This is a place to discover. We found out new definition of "Relax".

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
We are so please you enjoyed your stay. It's our privilege to be able to share such a special place with guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingha...
Birmingham
1 review
“A tranquil escape from the hustle and bustle of life - beautiful eco house”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a must stay place if you are looking for a place to unwind and re-charge your batteries. Yara the local manager of the Casa Tartaruga was very welcoming and ensured that there was an adequate amount of chardonnay (where she sourced it from I don't know but it had to be replenished during the fortnight we were there). Suelee kept the place spotless and it was a novelty to see her arrive by speedboat everyday. She also sourced the largest prawns I have ever seen on two occasions and prepared a mean creme caramel for our dinner. The peace and quiet and vistas are stunning. There are a couple of restaurants nearby that you can walk to through the forests, otherwise it is a boat trip the Paraty. I was astounded at the way Antonio (the boat taxi) could wing his way past the various islands at night, cut his engine after about 20 minutes, and then the jetty of Casa Tartaruga would magically appear in the darkness. We saw turtles swimming by on more than one occasion. I can highly recommend this place which more than lived up to my expectations. Can't wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation of the house and having to get about by water taxis
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abuchan10...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely peaceful holiday house”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a wonderful week at Casa Tartaruga after our daughter's wedding in Sao Paulo. It was the perfect place for an exhausted family to relax and enjoy this lovely area of Brazil. The house was great - well cared for and managed by Yara who was very helpful indeed. Lovely swimming off the jetty just below the house and exploring locally by boat and foot was a delight. The house was simply but comfortably furnished and well equipped. Most evenings we BBQed fresh fish on the veranda. Would love to return. Thank you . Fiona Buchan and all the family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnonTrave...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Peaceful and Tranquil stay in Casa Tartaruga”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Casa Tartaruga. It is truly paradise. The home is beautiful and located in a tranquil area with a small private beach just steps away. It far exceeded our expectations. It was perfect to accommodate my wife and myself along with our two friends who stayed in the Stonehouse. Everyone was able to have privacy while still enjoying each other’s company. A clear view of the bay can be seen from the living room and master bedroom and it was breathtaking to see the sunrise light up across the bay in the morning. Although being an eco house nothing was lacking. Yara made our arrival seamless. She was waiting for us at the pier in Paraty with a boat transfer and made sure our groceries were stocked and Sueli was on hand to cook a delicious meal. Yara was on hand whenever we needed and also arranged early departure from the home to ensure we returned to the airport in time for our flight home as well. There are many activities to do including hiking, swimming, fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, and paddle boarding the coast. It was relaxing just sitting out on the dock watching the boats passing by on the bay. We also enjoyed a short 20 min boat ride back to Paraty. The town is quaint and the shops are full of hidden treasures. It was nice to return to peace at the end of the day and more of Sueli’s cooking.
Thank you Sue for such a well cared for property.
We had an amazing time and look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay and were kind enough to take the time to post such a lovely review. It means a lot to our team to get such positive feed back. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10nougat9...
groslay
2 reviews
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you are on this page, you have already chosen to visit in the most beautiful bay of South Brazil and you have made the right choice. If you wish to relax and enjoy the bay, Casa Tartaruga is certainly the most quiet and delicious place to stay in Paraty. Pictures on the website are great but do not even reflect totally how amazing and quiet the atmosphere of this place is. We had a wonderful stay there. The house in only 15 minutes from the village by boat. We were lucky to visit the amazing beaches and islands of the bay with Eli and his boat '' Nativo''. We also enjoyed nice rides with the kayak available at the house. The peer below the house is also very nice to jump in the water or just relax. Last but not least : we would like to thank Sue, the owner of the house, and Yara, who is taking care of everything there, for their more than friendly and warm wellcome . Thank you Sue and Yara !!! Take care and see you again !! Pierre, Patricia, Mathilde and Juliette Hott from France

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing