We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Tranquil stay in Casa Tartaruga”
other travellers have booked this property
Main Deck and View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Deck and View
Hammock on Main Deck Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Main Deck and View
Hammock on Main Deck
Sunset
Casa Tartaruga
Main House Entrance
Sunset
Main House deck
Sheltered beach by dock
View from private dock
Main House Living Room
Main House Living room
Main House - View from Living Room
Main House Master Bedroom
Main House - Living Room
Main House - View from Master Bedroom
Main House Bathroom
Inside Dining Area
Dining under the trees
View from deck
View from the sea
Stone House - Blue Bedroom
Stone House - Turquoise Bedroom
Stone House
Stone House
Fisherman's House Living Room
Fisherman\'s House Bedroom
Local restaurant
Nearby Beach
View from decks
View from deck
View from deck
Sunset from the dock
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AnonTrave...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Peaceful and Tranquil stay in Casa Tartaruga”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Casa Tartaruga. It is truly paradise. The home is beautiful and located in a tranquil area with a small private beach just steps away. It far exceeded our expectations. It was perfect to accommodate my wife and myself along with our two friends who stayed in the Stonehouse. Everyone was able to have privacy while still enjoying each other’s company. A clear view of the bay can be seen from the living room and master bedroom and it was breathtaking to see the sunrise light up across the bay in the morning. Although being an eco house nothing was lacking. Yara made our arrival seamless. She was waiting for us at the pier in Paraty with a boat transfer and made sure our groceries were stocked and Sueli was on hand to cook a delicious meal. Yara was on hand whenever we needed and also arranged early departure from the home to ensure we returned to the airport in time for our flight home as well. There are many activities to do including hiking, swimming, fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, and paddle boarding the coast. It was relaxing just sitting out on the dock watching the boats passing by on the bay. We also enjoyed a short 20 min boat ride back to Paraty. The town is quaint and the shops are full of hidden treasures. It was nice to return to peace at the end of the day and more of Sueli’s cooking.
Thank you Sue for such a well cared for property.
We had an amazing time and look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay and were kind enough to take the time to post such a lovely review. It means a lot to our team to get such positive feed back. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10nougat9...
groslay
2 reviews
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you are on this page, you have already chosen to visit in the most beautiful bay of South Brazil and you have made the right choice. If you wish to relax and enjoy the bay, Casa Tartaruga is certainly the most quiet and delicious place to stay in Paraty. Pictures on the website are great but do not even reflect totally how amazing and quiet the atmosphere of this place is. We had a wonderful stay there. The house in only 15 minutes from the village by boat. We were lucky to visit the amazing beaches and islands of the bay with Eli and his boat '' Nativo''. We also enjoyed nice rides with the kayak available at the house. The peer below the house is also very nice to jump in the water or just relax. Last but not least : we would like to thank Sue, the owner of the house, and Yara, who is taking care of everything there, for their more than friendly and warm wellcome . Thank you Sue and Yara !!! Take care and see you again !! Pierre, Patricia, Mathilde and Juliette Hott from France

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baso4150
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“First rate property in idyllic surroundings”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a piece of paradise - an amazing house, very tranquil with beautiful views and a
small private beach. The house is stunning and has everything you need, including a discreet and efficient cleaner, Suelee, and gardener Tipa. Yara, property manager, will order anything you wish and act as translater for transfers/local information/organise day trips. The bird life is wonderful and marmosets and monkeys were seen by the house - very exciting. Old Paraty itself, a short boat trip away, is colourful and atmospheric and well worth visiting. It was a wonderful experience and I would definitely go back to Casa Tartaruga.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Boating round the islands and the Laura and fauna
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday - can wholly recommend this property.”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The house is new, but beautifully designed to fit into the exotic trees and plants of the surrounding rainforest. Both the living room and master bedroom have vista windows which make the most of the stunning views/sunsets across the bay. We swam every day from the beach and pottered round the local islands and restaurants by boat. Boats can be hired with ease, as Yara the manager is permanently on call and looked after us so so well. An appreciative word here also about Suelee the cleaner who busied herself each day with our housework, and Tipa who tamed the gardens. The colonial Portuguese town with cobbled streets is said to be the best town for tourists in Brazil, and I wouldn't argue with that. People should remember that the property is only accessible by boat which was the good news for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility and views
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing