We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the Orcha Whale Jackpot!!!”
Review of Island Adventures

Island Adventures
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We pride ourselves as being one of the most experienced and dedicated whale-watching companies in Washington. Because of our very high success rate, Island Adventures was one of the first and only companies to guarantee whale sightings on every tour - but it's our team of highly qualified crew that will make your trip unforgettable! They boast over 100 years of combined experience in the islands, over 4100 days with the whales, and have led excursions for over 80,000 satisfied customers.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At the last minute on a short visit to the Seattle area, wife and i decided to do a whale watching trip. I found Island Adventures on the net, along with OK reviews. Wow are we happy we went with these folks. Great friendly crew on a very comfortable boat, made the trip great. The captain worked on the radio to chat with other boat captains about location of wildlife. It was a two hour boat ride, but he put us next to two pods of about 20 to 30 Orcas way up in Canadian waters. We stayed with these beautiful animals for about an hour. What a wonderful trip with very nice folks who understand great service.

Thank kennethsY7291WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing Island Adventures! We take a lot of pride in our vessels and crew. We're just as passionate about whales as our guests and it shows. I'm glad to read that the long journey paid off with plenty of orcas! We appreciate you taking time to write about your experience. It was great to have you aboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took the new tour from LaConner and were blessed with great scenery and an informative guide and boat captain. We were accidentally late and they waited for us and were still very kind. This is my second time to go on a tour with Island Adventures. The first time we saw many, many orcas and unfortunately this time we were not blessed with them, but we saw a beautiful humpback whale that flipped his tail many times and breached once so I considered it a great day. It was a long time on this tour as we booked an all day tour and I wasn't really impressed with where we docked for lunch but we talked to a nice sailor and passed the time. The scenery was amazing through Deception Pass and under the Rainbow Bridge. Our hosts showed us many seals, dolphins, etc. I would do this tour again if I was in the area.

Thank Cormick026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We did a morning tour with Scott, Eric, and Tyson. Our group went out on the new Island Explorer 5. The staff was awesome and entertaining and the boat was spacious. There are restrooms, indoor seating, and a cafe on board. Prices were reasonable. We were able to see orcas, stellar sea lions, bald eagles, and a porpoise. On the way back, they sighted 2 humpback whales so they stopped the boat to get a look. I loved that they took the extra time since they heard about the humpback whales on our way back to the dock. Very knowledgeable crew ! There's plenty of seating outside, but bring a jacket. It does get chilly, but it's worth it. Wish the orcas had come closer, but we had a great time !

Thank nkitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to review your experience. It looks like you had a great tour with plenty of variety, and those humpbacks that were found on the way home were a great bonus find! We love showing our guests as much wildlife as possible, which is especially easy on the new Island Explorer 5! It was a pleasure having you aboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a great time with the crew of the IE5 new whale watching boat. Would highly recommend this trip for any nature lovers. The crew was really knowledgeable and friendly!

Thank Elan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Elan,

Thanks for joining us on the new Island Explorer 5! It was great to have you join us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were on the Island Explorer boat 5. Brand new and wonderful accommodations!
3 staff members were excellent in their presentations.

Thank Naomi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Naomi,

Thank you for joining us on the brand new Island Explorer 5! It was a pleasure to have you join us during her first season on the water!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Adventures also viewed

 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Island Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing