We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful day & experience”
Review of Island Adventures

Island Adventures
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We pride ourselves as being one of the most experienced and dedicated whale-watching companies in Washington. Because of our very high success rate, Island Adventures was one of the first and only companies to guarantee whale sightings on every tour - but it's our team of highly qualified crew that will make your trip unforgettable! They boast over 100 years of combined experience in the islands, over 4100 days with the whales, and have led excursions for over 80,000 satisfied customers.
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We were on the Island Explorer boat 5. Brand new and wonderful accommodations!
3 staff members were excellent in their presentations.

Thank Naomi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Naomi,

Thank you for joining us on the brand new Island Explorer 5! It was a pleasure to have you join us during her first season on the water!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

As another reviewer said...We saw Orcas! We also saw harbor seals and steller sea lions. We were on Island Explorer 5, a very comfortable large catamaran. Our captain always kept us informed about what we were doing, where we were headed, and why. The on-board biologist explained animal behavior and habitat and the difference between transient and resident orca pods. We could observe the orcas at an appropriate distance. There were a variety of seating areas, indoor and outdoors so we could find what was comfortable for us for viewing, temperature, and wind. Highly recommend!

Thank RBMBCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking time to review your recent tour with us. We are quite happy with the new Island Explorer 5. She was built specifically for whale watching in this region and we couldn't be happier with how she turned out. I'm glad you were able to join us for her first season and see plenty of whales and other wildlife to boot.

Thanks again for choosing Island Adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Definitely a "must do" experience whether you are a tourist or a visitor to the Northwest. The boat is beautiful, the crew is top notch, and the area this tour visits is amazing. The crew knows how to find whales, and we were lucky enough to see 4 different pods while we were out. The boat is spacious and can accommodate a large group comfortably either inside or outside. We thought the price was very reasonable and was an experience we would definitely do again.

Thank kathyw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you, Kathy, both for joining us and for reviewing your experience! The Pacific Northwest is by far one of the best places on the planet for whale watching. It sounds like you really lucked out with four different pods of orcas! Watching just one is amazing enough. It was a pleasure to have you join us and please keep us in mind if you're ever back in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We had an amazing time on our whale watching tour with Island Adventure! We had the opportunity to spend over an hour watching a pod of transient Orca whales as they fed and played. It was an awesome experience! We also saw a bald eagle, blue heron, harbor seals and osprey nest not to mention the beautiful scenery of the San Juan Islands! Highly recommend this company to anyone visiting the area!!!

Thank lovetotravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for taking the to review your tour. There's really no place like the San Juan Islands to watch wildlife, especially when you're lucky enough to spend an hour watching orcas do what they do best! We appreciate your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Island Adventures did a great job finding us whales! We saw 4 different pods. Probably about 20 Orcas in all. We also saw Puffins, sea lions, seals...it was great. The crew was very knowledgable. We went out for the 3:30 tour...very cold but we had brought a lot of layers. The boat was brand new...super comfy and clean. When it got too cold we went inside. Definitely a great adventure in Anacortes.

Thank Stevi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Stevi,

Thank you not only for joining us, but for taking time to review your experience. It sounds like you saw a great variety of wildlife! We are beyond thrilled with the newest vessel, the Island Explorer 5, and are happy to see that you found her to be comfortable. She was specifically designed for whale-watching in the Pacific Northwest and it shows! It was a pleasure to have you aboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Adventures also viewed

 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Island Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing