We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw Orcas!”
Review of Island Adventures

Island Adventures
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We pride ourselves as being one of the most experienced and dedicated whale-watching companies in Washington. Because of our very high success rate, Island Adventures was one of the first and only companies to guarantee whale sightings on every tour - but it's our team of highly qualified crew that will make your trip unforgettable! They boast over 100 years of combined experience in the islands, over 4100 days with the whales, and have led excursions for over 80,000 satisfied customers.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Island Adventures did a great job finding us whales! We saw 4 different pods. Probably about 20 Orcas in all. We also saw Puffins, sea lions, seals...it was great. The crew was very knowledgable. We went out for the 3:30 tour...very cold but we had brought a lot of layers. The boat was brand new...super comfy and clean. When it got too cold we went inside. Definitely a great adventure in Anacortes.

Thank Stevi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Stevi,

Thank you not only for joining us, but for taking time to review your experience. It sounds like you saw a great variety of wildlife! We are beyond thrilled with the newest vessel, the Island Explorer 5, and are happy to see that you found her to be comfortable. She was specifically designed for whale-watching in the Pacific Northwest and it shows! It was a pleasure to have you aboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

From booking to leaving at the end of the trip this group is a class act. When I called to ask about the difference in their trips, they were totally jazzed about how great their new boat was, so we booked their trip out of Anacortes.

I was a bit worried about the large size of the boat as the previous whale watch in this area was in a zodiac with around 12 people. However the boat was great. It is a 3 level catamaran which means that there were lots of areas inside and out to sit, and everyone was able to be up against a rail when we watched the whales. Of note they have stadium seating in the front of the boat, a comfortable downstairs cabin with a small cafe, padded seats in the middle cabin, and open air seating on the top deck.

We headed south based on information from the other whale boats, and spent a few hours with transient whales. The naturalist seemed to be everywhere and her info was informative.

While we were warned to hold on to our hats, I forgot once, and my cap went flying off the boat never to be seen again.

My one issue with the boat was that there are only 2 bathrooms which is about half the number they needed.

In honor of the new boat, we each got a mug with its picture. A whale on it would have been nice too, but hey it is a free mug. In response to one of the earlier posts about being able to see more at Sea World. Yup you do. The whales there are in a tank. These are real animals happily being whales in the wild, the way they should be seen.

Sometimes locals have to sightsee to really appreciate where we live. Thanks guys.

Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Kevin,

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your recent tour on the Island Explorer 5. We appreciate your feedback and perhaps if there is an Island Explorer 6 in our future, we'll keep that in mind! We certainly agree that nothing compares to seeing these creatures in their natural habitat, and are thrilled to have been able to make that possible for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We saw humpback whales but not very close. I took photos and it's very hard to see the whales. You really need a great telephoto lens. We took the morning tour and the boat was very crowded. Even though they explicitly say you must be there 20 minutes before departure and that they'll leave on time, they wait for the stragglers. We didn't enjoy the crew banter as much as others. They kept pushing the beer and food and drinks. We had friends who took a smaller boat and although they said it was very cold (no interior room), they saw whales closer than we did. Glad we did it but don't need to do again. And yes, it's very cold on the water even though it was late August. We had jackets over sweaters and were still cold.

Thank Boopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience. It's very important to us to follow all local, state, and federal guidelines when viewing whales. All vessels from catamarans to zodiacs, sailboats to kayaks, must follow the same regulations. It is a common misconception that smaller vessels are able to legally get closer to whales.

Thank you again for reviewing your experience, and your advice about dressing warm in spot on. We always recommend warm layers for our guests, as temperatures can be 10-20 degrees cooler on the water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Whale watching is one of our favorite things to do and we have been on a lot of whale watching trips. This was our 2nd time with this company and this time we were fortunate enough to be on the brand new boat...Island Adventure 5...and we were definitely excited to help break it in. :) Super nice boat with lots of big TVs. We loved being able to watch our course on the TV and see other boats that were around us as well on the map on the TV. We also really enjoyed after viewing the whales that these TVs were used for showing us the pics that the naturalist took and giving us more information about the animals. This was great and made the trip back go very quickly. Stephanie was our naturalist and she gave us so much information. This was our second time with Captain Carl and he is phenomenal at not only finding the whales but keeping up with them and tracking their moves to get us the optimal viewing experience. We are definitely happy with both of our experiences with this company. They make everything easy from the check-in to the boarding. We love not having to worry about the ferry and getting to Friday Harbor. We will definitely be taking more trips with them. Thanks guys for all your hard work and your love of these animals and for making each trip a great adventure. :)

Thank GStrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent tour. We enjoy feedback from all of our guests, but it's especially nice to hear from visitors that are frequent whale watchers. The new vessel was designed specifically for whale-watching in the Salish Sea and it shows. She is comfortable, quiet, and has the longest range of any vessel in the region. We'll pass your compliments on to your crew and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

My daughter and I took the 3:00 tour from Anacortes and had a fantastic experience on the brand new boat. It is very spacious, has excellent seating inside and out. The captain and crew are very knowledgeable and fun!
The views are spectacular and the ride is smooth! GO!

Thank MSBak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Island Adventures! We're thrilled with the new Island Explorer 5 and are happy to see that you were as well! It was great to have you aboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Adventures also viewed

 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Island Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing