We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great because of the whales”
Review of Island Adventures

Island Adventures
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We pride ourselves as being one of the most experienced and dedicated whale-watching companies in Washington. Because of our very high success rate, Island Adventures was one of the first and only companies to guarantee whale sightings on every tour - but it's our team of highly qualified crew that will make your trip unforgettable! They boast over 100 years of combined experience in the islands, over 4100 days with the whales, and have led excursions for over 80,000 satisfied customers.
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We saw humpback whales but not very close. I took photos and it's very hard to see the whales. You really need a great telephoto lens. We took the morning tour and the boat was very crowded. Even though they explicitly say you must be there 20 minutes before departure and that they'll leave on time, they wait for the stragglers. We didn't enjoy the crew banter as much as others. They kept pushing the beer and food and drinks. We had friends who took a smaller boat and although they said it was very cold (no interior room), they saw whales closer than we did. Glad we did it but don't need to do again. And yes, it's very cold on the water even though it was late August. We had jackets over sweaters and were still cold.

Thank Boopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience. It's very important to us to follow all local, state, and federal guidelines when viewing whales. All vessels from catamarans to zodiacs, sailboats to kayaks, must follow the same regulations. It is a common misconception that smaller vessels are able to legally get closer to whales.

Thank you again for reviewing your experience, and your advice about dressing warm in spot on. We always recommend warm layers for our guests, as temperatures can be 10-20 degrees cooler on the water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Whale watching is one of our favorite things to do and we have been on a lot of whale watching trips. This was our 2nd time with this company and this time we were fortunate enough to be on the brand new boat...Island Adventure 5...and we were definitely excited to help break it in. :) Super nice boat with lots of big TVs. We loved being able to watch our course on the TV and see other boats that were around us as well on the map on the TV. We also really enjoyed after viewing the whales that these TVs were used for showing us the pics that the naturalist took and giving us more information about the animals. This was great and made the trip back go very quickly. Stephanie was our naturalist and she gave us so much information. This was our second time with Captain Carl and he is phenomenal at not only finding the whales but keeping up with them and tracking their moves to get us the optimal viewing experience. We are definitely happy with both of our experiences with this company. They make everything easy from the check-in to the boarding. We love not having to worry about the ferry and getting to Friday Harbor. We will definitely be taking more trips with them. Thanks guys for all your hard work and your love of these animals and for making each trip a great adventure. :)

Thank GStrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent tour. We enjoy feedback from all of our guests, but it's especially nice to hear from visitors that are frequent whale watchers. The new vessel was designed specifically for whale-watching in the Salish Sea and it shows. She is comfortable, quiet, and has the longest range of any vessel in the region. We'll pass your compliments on to your crew and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

My daughter and I took the 3:00 tour from Anacortes and had a fantastic experience on the brand new boat. It is very spacious, has excellent seating inside and out. The captain and crew are very knowledgeable and fun!
The views are spectacular and the ride is smooth! GO!

Thank MSBak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Island Adventures! We're thrilled with the new Island Explorer 5 and are happy to see that you were as well! It was great to have you aboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

My daughter and I went on a whale watching cruise with this company but we left from La Conner. It was fabulous! The three person crew took care of us very well. The boat was perfect-no complaints! It just so happened that we only had 28 passengers, so we had so much room to roam! The captain and crew kept a lookout for the different wildlife we wanted to see, and boy, did we see it all including two minke whales, one humpback whale, and lots of Orca-one which did a dive under our boat to surprise us all! Our orca encounter happened because the captain was getting reports of orca pods that were being seen further north than we were going to go, so the whole boat voted to forego our 1.5 hour lunch stop at Lopez to go search for the Orca! They did not have to do this, and it just shows not only how much they enjoy seeing the whales as much as we did, but that they really wanted to do what they could to see that the paying passengers had the best experience possible. I can't say enough good things. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Julie,

Thank you for reviewing your tour from yesterday! We can count on one hand how many tours we've had this year with THREE different species, so you definitely were part of something special! I'm glad we were able to go the extra mile (or many miles) for you and our other guests in order to see so much variety. It was an absolute pleasure to have you join us from La Conner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

The boat makes all the difference! Large, fast and stable makes the ride super comfortable and minimizes seasickness. There's tons of space on the decks to move around and get a view of the wildlife without having to fight other passengers for a spot. Throw in the stadium seating on the bow of the ship and everyone gets a great view.

And unlike other tours using smaller boats, there's a comfortable cabin to retreat to when you're tired or cold (and I did get pretty cold). There's a cafe to grab surprisingly decent food, drink or even a beer.

The staff from check in to the guides to the staff at the snack stand all were exemplary. Rather than feel like they were there to make a buck, you genuinely felt they cared whether you had a good time, cared about the welfare of the wildlife and for the local environment.

The guides were also super informative, giving me knowledge of the local area and the wildlife that I didn't know I wanted to know. Amazing stuff. And they really did get us right to the whales - at one point a pod of orcas swam probably within 20 feet of the boat. An amazing view of these majestic creatures!

Throw in the endless string of really corny nautical theme jokes and the experience gave us everything we wanted and more. We had a blast!

Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacortesWhales, Manager at Island Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Adrian,

Thank you for choosing Island Adventures! Our crew is passionate about sharing this region's wildlife with others and it reflects in their work. We want our guests to see whales as much as, if not more than, than they do! Thanks for taking time to write a thoughtful review with lots of helpful information for those planning a tour. It was a pleasure to have you aboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Adventures also viewed

 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Island Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing