We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Capital Cruises

Capital Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capital Cruises offers a selection of services for any lake event or activity on Lady Bird Lake in downtown Austin. Not only do we offer our famous nightly sunset/bat watching excursion, we also specialize in dinner cruises and private events for all occasions. Looking for something a little more physical? Come down and rent a canoe, kayak, stand up paddle board, swan pedal boat, or an electric boat.With our all electric fleet and the beautiful backdrop of Austin's skyline on Lady Bird Lake, Capital Cruises is the ultimate Austin Experience!
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

The boat tour was fantastic! Our guide(can't remember her name) was amazing with a lot of fun facts about the city. You could tell she was really passionate about Austin culture, animals and of course the bats! We got a great view of the bats!

Thank Bella1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalCruises, Owner at Capital Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Bella,
Thanks so much for the kind words! I'll be sure to pass these along to our staff as they love the feedback! We look forward to getting you out on the lake in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We just used Capital Cruises for our pre-wedding meet and greet for 70 guests. Everything from the reservation process to the site visit to the event itself was perfect! The crew was extremely helpful in loading our food and beverage (they even provided the ice) and let us stop midway back at the dock to pick up stragglers in our party.

The icing on the cake was the perfect positioning of the boat by our captain to see the bats exit the Congress Bridge. Our guests were in awe and raved for the whole weekend about the trip.

Thank you Capital Cruises - highly recommended!

Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalCruises, Owner at Capital Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Brian,
Thanks so much for the kind words! We are happy we could be a part of such a special occasion! Please keep us in mind for the anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We took the cruise on a suggestion from our hotel staff. Glad we did. The boat leaves the dock at just the right time to cruise under the bridge and arrive in a nice spot not too far from it. If you want to see bats, this is the best way to do it. We went on a Friday night. On Saturday, we stood on the bridge for a different angle. It was crowded and difficult to get any kind of a good view, unless I guess you get there really early and stake out a spot. The cruise is much more relaxed with the better view. Also, it is not overpriced, and our "captain" mentioned they work for tips. He was worth it. Just remember to make your reservation in advance, as it seems to pretty much sell out every trip. And yes, if we return to Austin sometime, we would do it again.

Thank coldsooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalCruises, Owner at Capital Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thanks for the kind words! We agree, it is the best seat in the house!
Please keep us in mind the next time you want to get out on the lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This is the second time I have used Capital Cruises, it was great again. You must book online as I didn't see any opportunity for just walk-up business, as they were booked . The check-in process was simply, show up 30 minutes before your cruise, to confirm reservation. If you show up a little early, you can get drinks/snacks ( Starbucks) at the Hyatt Regency. Our boat was a larger boat with air conditioning and bathrooms on the lower deck. The lower deck had some seating but most seats were on upper deck. The accessibility to the upper deck was very doable for seniors. It was a great relaxing ride, and Beck was a very knowledgeable guide. Being on the water was a great experience while the bats came out from under the bridge. We got some great pictures from the angle the boat was positioned. The whole experience was great.

1  Thank renahammerness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalCruises, Owner at Capital Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks for the review and tips for our future guests! We will make sure to pass along your kind words to Beck as all of our captains love the feedback! Thanks for taking a ride with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We took our school-aged grandchildren on this adventure recently. (It was easily booked online) They were enthralled, as we all were! It was as though the bats were perfectly scripted. The scout bats came out first, a few minutes earlier than usual, eventually followed by 5-6 thick streams of eastbound bats, twirling in absolute synchronization! While we were told to keep our mouths closed "just in case...", sure enough, several of us felt a few tiny drops land on us, but not enough to ruin our boat ride. We chose the open flatboat, complete with the 6 ft. mascot on the back, for the best sky view. Because of the early bat flight, our ride past the skyline and park were after the flight. It was relaxing and informative with a delightful guide.

Thank shermanparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalCruises, Owner at Capital Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thanks for the glowing review! The bats are putting on their best shows of the year and we are glad to have taken you out to see them. Keep us in mind for next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Capital Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing