We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“salmon in lemon sauce”
Review of Mantaro

Mantaro
Ranked #20 of 2 099 Restaurants in Quezon City
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 October 2018

I was able to try a new dish - salmon in lemon salsa sauce.
Its grilled salmon, a generous serving with salsa, similar to what they usually serve for their ceviche. It has a refreshing clean taste.
Always like ordering extra sauces such as chimchurri and the aji sauce to heighten the taste even further.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cchchcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2018

The chef has just introduced 4 new dishes.
I tried the salmon with shrimp sauce.
The salmon was large sized with shrimps and a sour sauce. The fish was well done and not overcooked , and the sourness of the sauce cut through the richness of the salmon.
Shrimps were fresh.
I'll try the salmon dish with dill another time. There are also 2 pork dishes being introdcued by the chef.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

When I heard a native Peruvian says you’ve got to try this place as it’s great authentic Peruvian food, I had to try it! I was taken here by people who either are from or lived in Peru.

The place in tucked in underneath a residential building, so not immediately visible from outside. The decor is homely and bright.

But the food was absolutely outstanding! The fish cerviche was incredible, fresh with a great texture (watch out for the small red chillis!). Had the beef (lomo saltado) and the beef heart dish too, which were both cooked and seasoned perfectly.

My favourite dish was the octopus with olive paste and crackers. Couldn’t stop eating it!

The tres leche cake at the end was amazing. Very balanced sweetness and light texture.

The service was good and English-friendly.

Even though this is Manila, expect to pay Western prices. Ordering multiple starters and 2 main dishes for three people cost us about £38.

The only real cons were they are “Cash only”, and its location on the borders of Quezon City (Dillman) isn’t very central (a decent taxi ride from Makati). I also tried a Peruvian drink, which was syrupy but not to my taste I’m afraid.

There’s a lot of hype around Peruvian food at the moment, and this is an excellent place to try it.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Nomads_Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We’ve patronized this restaurant since it was in the original location. The owners were always there to give personalized service and the food was always excellent. The original location was very cramped with only a small area which was air conditioned but the food was worth it! The new location is wonderful and there is a beautiful Peruvian mural which looks great in photos. The food is just as good and some of our favorites are the Lomo Saltado, Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken, Pescado al Ajillo, Arroz con Mariscos and Pulpo al Oliva. The Peruvian chef and his beautiful Filipina wife are still there to welcome patrons to their “home” and offer their delicious specialties.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank peggyapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

The chef has just started introducing a few seasonal new dishes every few weeks or so.
I was able to try the scallop rockeller(not the actual name);
Pescado huzcaina among others.
Gives you an extra reason to visit regularly to try these aside from the regular favorites.

A fellow regular diner has even commented that their ceviche is better than the one she tried in Peru .

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cchchcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mantaro also viewed

Quezon City, Metro Manila
Quezon City, Metro Manila
 
Quezon City, Metro Manila
Quezon City, Metro Manila
 
Taguig City, Metro Manila
Quezon City, Metro Manila
 

Been to Mantaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing