We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Church prayers”

San Sebastian Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$6,00*
and up
Guided Tour of the Historic San Sebastian...
Ranked #17 of 114 things to do in Manila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 22 July 2018

I went visiting this church with my beloved one and her siblings !! We had a very good evening also prayed for God and our Lord Jesus with his Mother Maria ! After the prayed vows we returned back to Cagaut for having a good meal too.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank PostPaultje1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"steel structure"
in 5 reviews
"historical landmark"
in 7 reviews
"restoration project"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"gothic"
in 7 reviews
"asia"
in 14 reviews
"wedding"
in 12 reviews
"architecture"
in 11 reviews
"mass"
in 7 reviews
"pulpit"
in 2 reviews
"endangered"
in 2 reviews
"god"
in 4 reviews
"worship"
in 3 reviews
"buffs"
in 2 reviews
"parts"
in 4 reviews
"quiapo"
in 3 reviews
"century"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Different feels when you are inside, amazing details and craftsmanship , just need final touches.. but I really love it❤️

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank afersantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Visited San Sebastián Church and the nearby Nakpil-Bautista house with a group of friends and acquaintances.

Personally I was excited but what I saw blew my mind and exceeded expectations. It is a very beautiful church, the first and only one built with steel in the Philippines in 1891. On the outside it’s clear that the church is built with steel. On the inside however, it looked like a well built stone church. The surface treatment and religious paintings painted by about 500 local artists back in the 1800s were sublime. They transformed a steel structure into one that looked like stone.

The visit was made more significant and memorable due to our excellent guide, who patiently explained the church’s history and current efforts to conserve the church. Sadly, time and corrosion is beginning to take its toll. We even got a behind the scenes look of the “interior” steel superstructure of the church, and its bell towers.

This place is definitely worth a visit for history buffs and those who appreciate beautiful churches / architecture.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Edison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Very interesting our guide pointed out the things of interest for us which we may have missed on our own.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Maureencovill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Amazing church which all made of stee. it is the only all-steel church in the Philippines. It was designated as a National Historical Landmark in 1973 and as a National Cultural Treasure in 2011.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank jwus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Sebastian Church also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to San Sebastian Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing