We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience...”
Review of El Cerdo

El Cerdo
Ranked #13 of 5 097 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Backed by 40 years of experience in various fine dining kitchens around the globe, Werner Kuhn set up El Cerdo KL, in the year 2005. The restaurant is well known to many as the No. 1 European style Pork Specialty eatery in Kuala Lumpur, focusing on traditional recipes. Having gathered many accolades for its outstanding food and service quality, the most popular item is "The Cochinillo Segoviano", a Spanish style roasted suckling pig dish that is served with the obligatory Plate Cutting Ceremony. Our slogan shouts out loud 'Nose To Tail Eating'.
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Number one in KL, amazing suckling pig, amazing ribs, amazing asparragus... I highly recomended this restaurant. If you are looking for something different, El cerdo it's the place.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveller R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hi Traveller R, Thank you for the lovely reviews, we are glad that you enjoyed our food, drinks & service as much as we do! It is our pleasure to be able to serve you and do come back to visit us anytime soon. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

To die for sucking pig and the theatre to go with it

Between three we eat a whole pig and a few bottles if Rose

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank J9715KAkeving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi Kevin G, thank you for the supportive review! Glad that you were enjoying our servings and the dining experience here! We look forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Husband and I loved every second of our time in this restaurant. They serve a complimentary bread and pate, and when you realize that this pate is the best you have ever tasted, you know you've made a good choice. Service was mesmerizing, they have a whole ceremony when you order the suckling pig, they tell you the story behind it, where the pig comes from, and make you actively participate in that ceremony.
The meat was tasty, juicy, perfectly cooked, the skin was crispy and thin, the sides were to die for, the atmosphere was fabulous, and again, the service was fit for royalty.
Price wise? Shockingly cheap for what you get.
Bravo!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Klyp38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Klyp38, thank you for your continual support and the lovely review! It's indeed a pleasure serving you towards a memorable dining experience. Glad that you were enjoying the food, the service and and the overall dining experience! We hope to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Precisely five minutes into the first dish, I realised that this heavily romanticized chopping of piglet with a plate experience was a bona fide tourist trap. Me, I’m all about taste and that’s why El Cerdo just doesn’t do it for me.

The food is grotesquely overvalued. I’m brashly oversimplifying things here, but all that we’d ordered – frito de queso (cheese), toger prawns (wrapped in bacon), guiness ribs, deep fried squid, half a roasted suckling piglet and champinonless angelo were only mediocre.

El Cerdo is overpriced, underwhelming and easily wayyyyyy overrated. Plus, there are plenty of better restaurants nearby. Avoid. This is the true truth as I say it as it is…

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank pauljer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi there, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. Our Roasted Suckling Pig is one of the signature dishes favoured by many, as well as the Guinness Ribs which is always a hit among regulars. While many of our regular clientele has given positive feedback on our premise, we understand that taste is subjective. When you visit us next, please feel free to approach our service personnel who will be happy to accommodate your request to ensure you have a memorable experience with us. We look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We had some very tasty ham and sausage on a plate with a good amount and variety and some olives and pieces of goat cheese. The only minus is it doesn't come with bread.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Lise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi Lise A, thank you for the lovely review! Glad that you were enjoying our servings and the dining experience here! We look forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cerdo also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to El Cerdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing