We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
231
265
55
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
265
55
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kitahama subway station business hotel business district quiet area laundry room commercial area trouser press minute walk reception staff very pleasant stay hotel is located good size massage chair three nights hotel breakfast rooms are small checking in
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

This hotel has the typical Daiwa Roynet chain format - affordable price, no bells and whistles, small room but functional and clean, toiletries upon requests at reception, vending machines with microwaves on a couple of floors.

Location is not that convenient as its not near any major tourist attraction or main transport hubs, however, it's just a short subway ride away so it's not an issue. For me the big plus was able to get from Kitahama subway to the hotel via exit 6 with elevators i.e. did not have to pull the heavy suitcase up and down the stairs as not all subway platforms in Japan have escalators or elevators. Once you get out on to the street level, turn left and hotel is only about 10 steps away. Across the hotel is a small plaza with a supermarket in the basement which was very handy especially on a wet day.

Lobby staff were very helpful and checkin was fine.

This is a good hotel if you are on a budget!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Daiwa Roynet Hotel Osaka for a couple of nights on our 14 day trek of Japan. It’s part of a chain of hotels and we came across them in other major cities. They are pretty straightforward hotels. They provide good, clean rooms with nicely stocked bathrooms. I have to say that during our entire visit to Japan we were never short of a toothbrush, shaving sets and other essential sundries. Their base-line expectations are higher than those in the U.K. on average.
We went for the inclusive breakfast and we really liked the choice. Not being a great connoisseur of Japanese food it was a good introduction to food stuffs I would have probably never otherwise eaten. For those of you with greater western style needs there would be enough choice to satisfy your hunger.

The hotel is located right next door to the Kinahata underground which is absolutely no use if you are relying on your JR pass for your travels. Getting there from Osaka station you have the choice of buying individual tube tickets; buying an Osaka pass or walking. Beware that Osaka station is a veritable labyrinth and takes some getting used to.
Osaka itself is a really cool city with a great mixture of traditional -as in the castle; the ultra modern as in the shopping in the Shin Sai Bashi district and the downright loud and fun as in the endlessly lively Dotonbori district which teams with life on both sides of its dividing canal. Just mind out for the cyclists that dominate the pavements everywhere and have a very un-Japanese disregard for their fellow pedestrians.
Why only 3 stars? Because the hotel really isn’t anything very special.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Location is good & the room is clean.The facilities in this hotel are all new.
However,we have to pay extra money when I asked whether there is available room for earlier check in. This is the first time I was requested to pay extra money for early check in. Also,washing machine always occupied at night time...

Room Tip: Choose a room nearby washing machine floor
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

The hotel lobby and check-in are not on the ground floor; you have to take an elevator to the 2nd floor. Hotel entrance is not easily visible on street however, it's extremely close to exit from subway. Check-in and lobby staff were friendly and quick. All rooms are relatively small in Japan however Daiwa Roynet is clean, modern, with adequate space and well equipped. Compared to other hotels we stayed in Japan during a 3 week visit, the Daiwa Roynet was one of our faves. It's located close to the restaurants, river, parks and Osaka suburbs. We walked to Osaka castle in 30-45 mins. Metro subway & train lines are extremely close & it's easy to get around Osaka to visit the various sites & attractions. Conveniently located across the street is a supermarket where you can purchase prepared food, drinks, and all..I would definitely recommend staying here & probably the chain of Daiwa Roynet hotels in Japan.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inger_ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka-KitahamaDRH, Front desk staff at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Osaka Kitahama, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Thank you for your staying at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Osaka Kitahama.
We are happy to hear that.
When you come to Japan again, we are looking forward to seeing you.

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Osaka Kitahama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

The location is quite good with the subway underneath the hotel and easy to connect to the other places. But the Wi-Fi and internet connection was always a problem since day 1 (and I stay for 6 nights). The worst thing is today my birthday and I cannot replay any one at my Facebook even asked twice (morning and just now 11PM) to solve the problem. But once the signal connected, it goes very slow with a simple download of the Facebook page took half and hour!!! I had to go out and get the SIM Card Internet and connect with my mobile phone to be able to use the Social Media and reply my Emails. All things are good but we will not come back again because of this little issue.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be okay only the wi-fi connections
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DominicVeeranat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews