We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, Great location”
other travellers have booked this property
The living area with our garden under the snow.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living area with our garden under the snow.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The living area with our garden under the snow.
The corridor through the Shoji screens
Another view on our garden from the corridor area.
Looking at the garden trough the Shoji screens
Enjoy access to Amazon TV.
Living are with the Japanese room on your right.
The Japanese room set up with futons for a good night sleep !
Kitchen counter
View from the counter, the garden is on the right.
Another view on the garden going to the 2nd floor bedroom.
Main house bathroom
The view from the bedroom on the old kimono factory on the right.
Western bedding in the second floor bedroom.
Another view in winter
The main house entrance. Welcome home !
The 2nd floor studio area, with its own kitchenette.
Western bedding in the studio
The bathroom in the studio
The view from the studio windows on the garden and...
…the old Kimono factory.
Our local supermarket just 150 m from the house
Kyoto station is 4mn by taxi, 12mn by foot.
Gojo subway station is 4mn away.
Unesco world heritage Honganji temple is 7mn away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bev072017
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house, Great location”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Plenty of room in this comfortable, traditional Japanese house for our family of 5. We arrived late at night and our shuttle from Osaka got lost but driver phoned Daniel for directions. He waited out on the main road for us and then walked us up the street to the house. House is well equipped and a great location in a quiet little neighbourhood, but only a short walk to metro and an easy 15 minute walk to Kyoto station( even with luggage)Very handy having large supermarket at end of the street and there is a few great little restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood. A highlight of our time in Kyoto was coming home to this lovely accommodation. Thankyou Chris and Daniel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your review. We could not be happier to read you made of our house a haven while in Kyoto. We hope to see you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaliHochm...
Mudgee, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely to come "home" to”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this authentic Japanese home with my husband and two friends and we absolutely loved it!

The booking process was so easy and the owner Mike was a wealth of information regarding suggestions and options for pre-planning our activities.

We walked from Kyoto station, it took about 15minutes, the directions given were easy to follow, we enjoyed the walk and it gave us a chance to get situated with the area. You can easily also just catch a cab from the train station if that suits you more.

The house is situated in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy areas. We loved being in a Japanese "neighborhood" and were delighted to hear someone walking the streets each evening, hitting two sticks together signalling something - we never knew what it was but it felt very peaceful and calming - this little thing meant a lot and added to the authenticity of our stay- something we probably never would have experienced if we were in a tourist type area.

We were met at the house by Laurent, who spent time with us, not only to make sure we were totally comfortable with everything in the house but was also very helpful getting us situated with maps and offering us tips for this and that. He was also available via email during our stay which came in very helpful one afternoon when we were looking for a good massage for our sore touristy feet and had no idea where to find someone! (we didn't bother him too much but it was good to know he was around to help if needed).

The house itself felt very traditional yet with all the modern conveniences. Everything is as the pictures show. It was a pleasure to come *home* to every night and talk about our adventures.

There was a choice of bedding, from traditional futons on the floor to western style beds. The house is in two sections, with two entrances, my husband and I enjoyed having our own section for privacy very much.

There is a convenience store a few minutes walk away and you can also hail a cab from this street. We chose to cab it for all our activities, it was nice to have a chauffeur and to get dropped off exactly where we wanted to go without having to navigate buses and taxis. It was just a matter of pointing at a map if there was a language barrier. All the taxi drivers were most obliging, kind and helpful.

I would highly recommend this house, it is a home away from home yet definitely allows you to feel that you are experiencing some authenticity of another culture.

Our deposit was returned to us in a very timely fashion.

Just a little note on Japan itself, if you are only at the stage of contemplating visiting - do it. It is one of the most amazing countries in the world, the people are incredibly kind and thoughtful - I cannot speak highly enough of the country or the people.

Amazing trip.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
Dear Jali,
Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful indeed to read you enjoyed your stay. The people walking the streets and hitting sticks are part of the neighborhood watch and perform an ancestral tradition of...fire prevention by warning residents to be careful when cooking, smoking (which we cannot allow in our house) lighting candles etc...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wonghappy
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our Home in Kyoto”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thanks Christian, this time we stayed in your bigger property and the only thing we can say is : We are SPOILED

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house decor and facility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
Thank you so much Wonghappy ! Looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very nicely restored house”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is an excellent house for your visit to Kyoto. Newly restored and the house is wonderful. The outside garden is so tranquil while sitting down to dinner. The house has all modern amenities. It is in a nice neighborhood, not too far from the train station. If you want the best of both worlds, modern yet with touches of old Japan, this is your place to stay in Kyoto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil place with modern and old Japan touches, both. Beautifully restored!
Liked least: One set of stairs was a bit steep.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S
1 review
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We are a Singapore family of 5 (4 adults and 1 child) that stayed at the house just after the renovation over Christmas 2015 and the New Year 2016. The house exceeded our expectations. It was beautiful. The owner Chris has put a lot of effort to retain as much of the original house as possible whilst putting in place first class designer amenities which made the stay comfortable. Expect coffee machine, microwave, washing machine and dryer, auto fill bath tubs, heaters, airconditioning, wifi etc.

The house is in a central location, in a quiet neighbourhood that is just a 3 mins short walk to a 24hr Fresco supermarket and a well known main street. And about 6mins walk to the underground station. We didn't take the underground much as it was quite affordable for us as a group to share taxis to get around the city. Getting to Gion or the main shopping areas by taxi is about 800yen. If you are arriving from the train station, its walkable but if you are carrying heavy luggage then take a taxi to get there. It will also costs about 800yen (the flag-down fare itself is 600 yen).

The house itself is generously portioned. As you know space in Japan is a premium. So was very pleseantly surprised that the house was large. The dinning hall has space to host a big family. And each of the bedrooms were generously sized. For us the highlights of the house were the old granite entrance, tatami mats, the warm brown wooden sliding doors with delicate white tracing paper, and of course the secret garden. Essentially the house is built around the garden which is tasetfully curated. Look out for the orange tree which is bearing fruits. I imagine that in Spring when the flowers bloom it will be even more beautiful. The natural light from the garden keeps the place bright.

The stay was memorable and completed our Japan experience. I highly recommend a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Slightly cold toilets in winter
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing