We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Genuine Japanese refinement in both...”
other traveller has booked this property
Exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior view
Living room, with interior garden Living room with sofa, table, and floor cushions
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Exterior view
Living room, with interior garden
Living room with sofa, table, and floor cushions
An antique hibachi from early Showa period, which we turned into a coffee table
Living room tokonoma (alcove) - a special architectural feature
Fully outfitted kitchen, with dining table
Kitchen table
Bedroom #1, double futon on tatami mats.
Bedroom #1 tokonoma - special architectural feature
Antique globe light (one of many antique light fixtures)
Sudare (bamboo blinds)
Bedroom #2, with double bed
The view of Kenninji, taken from the upstairs window!
Entrance to bathroom (shower with full bath tub)
High capacity washer/dryer
High-tech toilet
Our quiet street, which has no through traffic. Amber House Gion is on the right
Kenninji, the Zen temple immediately neighboring us
Miyagawa-cho, another geisha district 10 minutes walk away.
Near Kiyomizu Temple, 15 minutes walk away.
Maruyama Park, 15 minutes walk away.
The heart of downtown, 15 minutes walk away.
Hanamikoji Street, 5 minutes walk away. The heart of Gion.
Kiyomizu Temple, 20 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
lwu6
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine Japanese refinement in both accommodations and service.”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely home is in the heart of the geisha district. You can sense the history as soon as you enter. Every detail has been carefully chosen; from the fresh flower arrangements to the comfortable bed and even they way the dishes and drink ware is artfully displayed. Junko is such a gracious hostess. Her recommendations and communication with local businesses were a big help. Thank you Curtis for curating such a wonderful place for travelers to experience Old Kyoto.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous accomodation in Gion.”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I was advised by a family member to stay in the Gion district in Kyoto on our recent trip to Japan and I'm so glad we did !! However what made our stay in that quaint and atmospheric district so memorable, was our accommodation at Amber House. Everything about it was perfect - the location in a quiet no through street, the outstanding amenities, and the gorgeous ambience.
It was spotlessly clean, stocked with basics for our short stay, a really comfortable bed for us and a futon in the second bedroom for our daughter who travelled with us. Curtis and his staff gave us great advice about local restaurants and nothing was too much trouble for them. I really didn't want to go home. We will be back .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiness...
1 review
“Amazing House and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

If you're up in the air on whether to stay in a hotel or rent a house let me help you decide , this house rental is the way to go! We wanted to experience Japan and feel like we were immersed in the culture. Staying at the house felt like we took a step back in time yet has the modern amenities to make our stay comfortable. The architecture of the home was amazing and the staff support was phenomenal ! Junko would get back to us right away with any questions we had and would help us if we wanted to make reservations anywhere. The cell phone they provided us with was a life saver! I can't say enough positive things about "Old Kyoto" rentals. This was our 1st trip to Japan and they made everything run seamlessly and our experience memorable. Thanks so much Curtis for an extraordinary stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed W
1 review
“Awesome stay in the heart of Kyoto!”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

From start to end, our 4-night stay at the Amber House was nothing but first-class, and the highlight of our recent visit to Asia. During the early planning stage, owner Curtis was very responsive and prompt with the reservation process and answering all questions that we had. Then we had bombarded his assistants Junko and Saki with multiple restaurant reservation requests, and they were eager, prompt, and diligent in getting us all the reservations that we had wanted... how awesome is that! Needless to say, when we arrived in Kyoto, the access to the Amber House was smooth and glitch-free. The property itself is simply amazing... clean, elegant and minimalistic, a perfect spot of serenity in the heart of the Gion district (we did not ever hear the gongs going off at the adjacent temple as one of the reviewers claimed). The kitchen was a real bonus... we made breakfast each morning and it was a real treat to be able to cook with local ingredients! We couldn't have asked for anything more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregonmeg...
2 reviews
“Excellent Machiya experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed 5 days at Amber House in Gion and it was an incredible experience. They had a cell phone that we could use in case we needed anything and they also had a list of places to go in the neighborhood that they liked. The place was clean and was a great home for a few days. The location was superb in that you're right in the middle of Gion but tucked into a little corner so its quiet and feels safe. We highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing