We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Country AND City”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ginny46
Tianjin, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Country AND City”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We really enjoyed a relaxing week here during the autumn foliage. There's an electric train within walking distance to the north that will take you to Kurama, a beautiful mountain village with a temple, cable car, and hot spring spa. Or the subway is 20 minutes walk south and then you can access all of Kyoto's sights.
We biked down the river to Nijo Castle and again another evening to go out to dinner at Les Dex Garcons- delicious, French bistro. The restaurants in Kitayama were great. Because we live in Asia, we tend to go to Western restaurants whilst on vacation. We recommend all we tried: Shinshindo bakery for our daily baguette, Radio Bagel for pumpkin bagels, Indian food from Chandre, Japanese Udon noodle restaurant next to Perfect World, and Touyoutei's pizza and steak.
We loved being able to walk home at the end of the day for 20 minutes and be out of the city. The apartment is up a very steep hill, though. We liked the exercise and it gave us an excuse to eat more... I think it also deterred us a few times from going out to dinner, so that saved money in a sense. The kitchen has all you need to cook.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
1 review
“Comfortable spacious clean and friendly”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The guest house is located up a road that is well lit and safe for walking. One could also call a taxi if the walk was too long (less than 1/2 mile). The train station is convenient and there are nice restaurants shops, cafes and a supermarket nearby. The kitchen has everything needed to cook. There is a nice bathroom with a good tub and shower, a washing machine and a comfortable bedroom. Kenta was a wonderful host doing everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. His family with two small children are upstairs so family life is audible but not disturbing. We would definitely recommend this guest house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.I appreciate you for spending your time.I hope someday in near future, please welcome .
have a wonderful life .
I hope to see you again.

kenta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kyoto and more...”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect accommodation for my son and myself. A fantastic location in Kitayama north of Kyoto city. A quiet village with friendly locals.The accommodation was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. Our host Kento was great. He met us at the station on our first day, provided bicycles for our use which we did not need as the walk down to the underground station passed through the village and was a very present walk.Kento also gave us great information on the local area and in other interesting places in Kyoto. I would recommend this accommodation if you like to have a peacefully retreat after a hard day's sightseeing in Kyoto. Thank you to KENTO and his family for making our stay so perfect. M&E

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
245sue
Luneburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Nice peaceful place to stay on edge of Kyoto”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

As other reviewers have said Kenta is an excellent host, kind, generous and thoughtful. We really enjoyed staying in his apartment, the use of the bikes he provided, one of them brand new really enhanced our enjoyment of our time there. We cycled into and around Kyoto one day, around the local area on another and up to the junction of the roads to Kibune and Kurama on another, we then walked to Kibune, across the mountain to Kurama and back down the valley to the bikes. On the other days we got the subway into Kyoto, about 15 minutes walk and about 20 minutes on the metro. Kyoto was very busy on the Saturday and it was a great relief to return to the peace and quiet of Kenta's apartment. The apartment is within easy reach, about 10 minutes walk, of plenty of local shops and good restaurants. We had an excellent meal in one of the restaurants and found plenty of good food locally to prepare on the days we ate in the apartment. Thank you very much indeed Kenta for all your help and kindness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, peaceful location yet within easy reach of shops and restaurants.
Liked least: The pillows are more solid and bulky than we like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamayele...
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr.”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at kenta's vacation house for 4 weeks.
It's a lovely comfortable and sweet apartment fully equipped with anything you may need. It's surrounded by a garden and facing a forest.
The location is great. It's about 15 minutes walk north towards real nature and Eijan electric railway or 15 minutes walk south to Kitayama subway station from where you can get easily to any location in Kyoto / Osaka. There are number of coffee shops / restaurants and grocery stores along the walk to the station.
Kyoto is a bicycle city. We often used the 2 pairs which Kenta provided us. It's about 6km, 25-30 minutes ride to the city center. You can ride to the city along the beatifull river, the perfect way to start the day for us!
Kenta is the perfect host! He was always available to support us whenever we needed anything and in English.
We had a perfect relaxed and beautiful vacation at Kenta's vacation house. We strongly recommend it to anyone who can spare the time for more than a few days!!! We'll come again!!!
Adam & Ayelet

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing