We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pristine, Excellent location, Gracious service”
Bedroom (futon) and Reading Area (2nd floor)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom (futon) and Reading Area (2nd floor)
Front Door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Bedroom (futon) and Reading Area (2nd floor)
Front Door
Beautiful Front Door Details
Living / Dining Room
Display Area
Handmade Display in Living Room
Beautiful wooden door designed by Osamu Nishikawa, Studio N.
Beautiful Japanese Calligraphy
Living / Dining Room (chairs)
Living / Dining Room (zabuton)
Wash Basin
Beautiful shower room high flow shower head and thermo tiles for winters.
Kitchen was renovated in 2016
Bedroom (futon)
Bedroom (futon)
Bedroom (futon)
Reading Area
Display Area
Display Area
Kitchen was renovated 2016
Front Door Details
High-Tech Toilet
Gion Festival in July (just a few blocks from the house)
Nishiki Market (10 minute walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LisaM9920...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Pristine, Excellent location, Gracious service”
Reviewed 22 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I was in Japan 3 1/2 weeks staying at a combination of ryokans and hotels. The stay at this house was one of our favorites and the most memorable. The owner met us upon arrival to orient and show us around. She also arranged taxis and took calls from drivers when they had difficulty finding the house. It turned out to be an excellent location to walk around downtown Kyoto. Everything in the house worked beautifully and was excellently maintained. We so appreciated laminated large font instructions for heating, AC and washer/dryer. This can be a challenge in Japan for non Japanese speaker/readers. The beds were heavenly. It is obvious that the owners take extreme pride in this property. I could not think of anything that could be improved.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Thank you for the excellent review of Senraku. It is all about location and Senraku is located conveniently in Kyoto. We have many compliments about the bedding (Japanese futon). Just to let you know there are the same ones used at top ryokans in Kyoto. Even a Michelin stared ryokan is rumored to have used the same ones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgvanvoor...
Auburn, California
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

One of the best experiences in a travel rental yet. We we're truly blessed with all that this home offered we would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
A fantastic review of Senraku! We have to agree. The location and the neighborhood are excellent and Senraku has all the amenities that one needs when they are away from home. Thank you for sharing your beautiful experience of your stay at Senraku.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V
1 review
“This one is a winner!”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This property is in a great location. has great facilities and is very clean.
Access to the property was easy.
Our host Rieko is lovely and very helpful, thoughtful and kind. She went above and beyond to ensure our stay was pleasant. 4th time visiting Kyoto. Best accommodation yet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Four times to Kyoto and Sernraku was the best accommodation. Thank you for the excellent compliment. We try to help our guest in any way we can. That is what real Kyoto hospitality is. Hope to see you on your fifth visit to Kyoto. Thank you once again for your winning review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great centrally-located rental with caring owner”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This rental house is in a convenient location that is 10 minute walk to Nishiki Market, Ippudo ramen, Daimaru Department Store with huge basement food store and many other restaurants. Rieko is very responsive to all questions/emails and try to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, The house is nice and clean and has everything we need for a comfortable stay for 3 of us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you all enjoyed your stay at Senraku. It is in a very convenient location, especially during Gion Festival. One of three main festivals that take place in Kyoto City annually. Thank you for your caring review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrKNewbur...
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An attractive house in excellent condition and a great location”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in Senraku. It is in a quiet and secluded spot within walking distance of central Kyoto. The facilities are of a high standard and in very good condition. The beds, although on the floor, were very comfortable. The dining table is Japanese height (low) so may not suit all western travellers, but we managed fine. The only negative was that there was very little hot water flow in the bathroom basin - but there was plenty of hot water for the shower and kitchen. The written guidance provided by Thomas and Rieko was excellent and they were very welcoming and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean spacious modern bathroom and newly fitted kitchen
Liked least: Poor hot water flow in bathroom basin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Senraku House. The futon bedding is one of the features that many of our guests comment highly about. They are very comfortable and warm in the winter and cool in the summer. Thank you for letting us know about hot water flow in the bathroom basin. You are the first guests in six years of operation that have mentioned it. The problem has been examined by a plumber. Senraku House was built in the Taisho Era approximately 100 years ago, but we hope to have the issue resolved by January 2017. Thank you again for your review and informing us of the situation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing