We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Absolutely Delightful Experience”
Bedroom (futon) and Reading Area (2nd floor)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom (futon) and Reading Area (2nd floor)
Front Door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Bedroom (futon) and Reading Area (2nd floor)
Front Door
Beautiful Front Door Details
Living / Dining Room
Display Area
Handmade Display in Living Room
Beautiful wooden door designed by Osamu Nishikawa, Studio N.
Beautiful Japanese Calligraphy
Living / Dining Room (chairs)
Living / Dining Room (zabuton)
Wash Basin
Beautiful shower room high flow shower head and thermo tiles for winters.
Kitchen was renovated in 2016
Bedroom (futon)
Bedroom (futon)
Bedroom (futon)
Reading Area
Display Area
Display Area
Kitchen was renovated 2016
Front Door Details
High-Tech Toilet
Gion Festival in July (just a few blocks from the house)
Nishiki Market (10 minute walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie F
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An Absolutely Delightful Experience”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were privileged to be able to stay in such a place as this. The attention to detail and quality of restoration is exceptional. We had some cold nights and greatly appreciated the split air conditioners to keep us warm. The owners were ever so helpful with maps for sightseeing and local amenities. Our teenage daughter wanted to dress in a Kimono and Rieko was able to help provide information for us at short notice. We loved the location as we had easy access to buses, shops and the Nishiki Market area. I did find the stairs extremely steep. This is such a gorgeous house I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality traditional Japanese finish.
Liked least: The stairs were extremely steep for me.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank for staying at Senraku house for your Kyoto stay. The restoration could not have been done without the involvement of some true craftsmen and the help of a designer that was able to marry the old with the new. To keep to the traditional and historicalness of an old Kyoto house, we consciously left many of the original features intact; for example, the height of the doorways and the pitch of the staircase. One thing I would like to add is that Senraku has traditional tatami flooring throughout the house which adds to the traditional feel. Thank you once again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jun 2014
We are so glad that you had a wonderful experience at Senraku House. The little things such as umbrellas to laundry detergent make the stay that much easier and relaxing. Senraku House is true to the original architecture, therefore, the door heights, and staircase were left as is, and we believe that this adds to the charm of the house. Thank you once again for a wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kerridrae
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely house that made my stay perfect”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A wonderful little property that really did add so much to my stay!

Senraku House was just as the pictures depicted it to be and it really did feel like coming back to a home at the end of the day. Reiko and Thomas could not have been more helpful from the first email inquiry right through to my last day. The information provided in the welcome pack was tailored to the time of my stay and full of ideas for places to visit within walking distance.

Although a little tricky to find at first (some building work going on at the time confused my directions slightly) the location is ideal once you have your bearings, with easy access to all kinds of shops and sights on foot and no more than ten minutes from the subway for places further afield.

It really did have all the Japanese traditional charm I wanted and added so much to my holiday that I would not have got staying in a regular hotel. It really did feel like the perfect way to stay in Kyoto and I am already saving up to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional feel and fantastic service
Liked least: Steep stairs (but I did get used to them quite quickly)
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that Senraku house added so much to your Kyoto stay. When planning out each aspect of Senraku house we tried to add a little bit of Kyoto charm, from the tatami floors to the art work. We hope to see you in the future, and again thank you for an informative review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MutsumiGo...
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy Retreat in a Dream-come-true Setting”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Those who have longed to visit Kyoto for its preserved historic sites and breathtaking beauty should not stay in a hotel. The secret is out! The price is comparable to a hotel, but the experience of renting a house far outweighs it.

The Location:
Nestled in central Kyoto, tucked away among the business buildings and shopping malls, is the hidden corridor leading to Senraku House. After the taxi driver drops you and your (shamefully large amount of) luggage off, you walk down this corridor, are greeted by Tanuki-san, and instantly feel like a kid on Christmas morning.

The Landlords:
Thomas and Rieko have thought of everything. They have preserved all the charm of a historic building while adding the comforts that we've come to expect. Everything is immaculately clean and organized, with signs in English for how to operate the appliances, take out the recycling, etc. The map they provide will become the most useful tool you have. Yes, more useful than your smartphone and more useful than the guidebook you bought last Christmas. They are very accommodating hosts -- who reserved for us the best seats in the house for the Gion Odori, upon request -- and you will feel indebted to them by the time your stay is over.

The Beds:
Even for Westerners used to Temperpedic, Sleep-number, and all kinds of springy mattresses, nothing feels quite as heavenly as sliding into your futon after walking for 10 hours. You will sleep like a baby... except for the first night, because you're so excited to finally be in Kyoto that even sleeping pills won't work... but after that, the futon is magic. Oh, and that down comforter! It's on my Christmas list.

The Bathroom:
In order to blend in with the sophisticated style of the Japanese, you need a nice bathroom to spiff yourself up. This one is very roomy, with a good hairdryer and amenities. Is the shower floor heated? It was in the 40s (Fahrenheit) at night, but we never turned on the heat (because those comforters are SO warm), so the house was chilly, but the shower floor had no chill. Also, we were 3 adults taking daily showers and we never ran out of hot water.

The Kitchen:
We brought oatmeal, Craisins, and walnuts with us from the US and just picked up some (amazingly delicious and creamy) milk from the 24-hour grocery store down the street. Using the lovely induction cooktop, we were able to save money by not eating out for breakfast. The washer and drier were great too! Bonus: the Korean restaurant "Keg" across the street is very reasonable and ended up being one of our favorite meals.

Overall:
We loved Kyoto and we loved our stay at Senraku House. If you want to stay at a hotel, you can do it elsewhere (and of course, Japan has wonderful hotels to offer), but in my opinion, Kyoto is a place to experience the traditional culture of Japan. When you rent a house, you feel less like a tourist and more like a part of that culture. Thank you, Thomas and Rieko, for the unforgettable experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The futons!!!
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2013
What a great description of Senraku house “Cozy Retreat in a Dream-come-true Setting”
Once again our guest appreciates all of the little details, touches, small things, the items we take for granted like English instructions and maps. The futons are Ryokan quality to provide the best sleep after exploring Kyoto all day. The designer of Senraku house thought of almost everything to make ones stay as enjoyable, comfortable, and at home as possible which included putting in a heat sink floor in the showroom.
Thank you for a wonderful review, and noticing all of the small touches we have carefully thought of.
Hope to see you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jul 2013
Thank you for an honest, insightful, and beneficial review for our future guests. We full heartedly agree that Senraku House is a “Little secret gem in the heart of the city” In Kyoto little alleys are where traditional homes are built just off the main street. This is where Kyoto people have lived for centuries. To address your queries; Senraku house is a traditional Japanese house that is almost a century old, as a result the standard doorways at the time was 173 centimeters high (or 5 feet 7 inches); however, most of our guests want the feel of a traditional Japanese house so during the renovations the decision was made to leave the doorways as is. We just finished renovating the bathroom to accommodate the majority of our guest that would prefer a large shower room, than a very small bathtub (also known as a ‘Unit Bath’ in Japan). The designers were able to design a large shower room that has the feel of an old Japanese bath with modern conveniences, like a thermo sink floor, anti-slip tiles, high flow shower head, and plenty of hot water. Again, thank you for a fantastic review, and we are delighted that your entire family had a great stay at Senraku house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing