We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just the right mix of tradition and modern...”
Main dining and kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main dining and kitchen
apperance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Main dining and kitchen
apperance
Bathroom
Wash basin
Bicycles for the guests
Courtyard
Matsumi-an and Kamogawa-an are the same location and together can accommodate maximum11 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Traditional) first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Canada4me
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just the right mix of tradition and modern convenience”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in March 2014

My son and I stayed here for 10 days and could not have chosen better. This house was located just out of the busiest parts of Kyoto but easy walk to several Metro lines and lots of buses just at the end of the street. We hardly used them though as walking was easy and interesting and we could get to all the historical areas.

The house was a little tricky to find at first because we caught a different airport bus than the one indicated on the directions and the drop-off was not in the same place. (Our fault). We did not know this though, so followed the directions and were completely lost. A few minute taxi ride took us back to the house though and the picture of the shop out the front helped to locate it.

The owners were great. They had given us a pin number to enter the house but came by the next morning to check all was OK and whether we needed anything.

We used this house as a base to explore the region with my son even taking day trips on the fast train to the closes snow fields 1.5 hrs away. They were not the largest but had plently to entertain an experience Black run skier. The metro connect to the main train line making it a short trip into Osaka city ( 35mins) but we had somewhere peaceful at the end of the day.

Good points - there were two mini - marts less than 5 mins walk - one with an ATM that accepted our cards ( not easy to find in Japan). There was a choice of metro lines within 1 mins walk and a choice of restaurants within 2 mins walk - including right out the front.

Not so Good points - There was not wi-fi but a computer was provided for our use so no issue with that. The stairs are very steep and very narrow so heavy large bags should stay downs stairs.

Despite these things I loved the stay and would definitely recommend this to anyone who does not have mobility issues.

Sorry I have taken so long to review but thought I had already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional feel and being part of the real Kyoto not just the tourist part.
Liked least: The stairs - just a little narrow and I was worried about marking the wall with my bag.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret3...
Taiwan
1 review
“Very comfortable and fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very comfortable and fabulous place to stay. The house very beautiful and warm ,kitchen amenities and the bedding super comfortable. it's a best choice for family trip,even with friends. we all love the house and have a wonderful time here, If we back to kyoto again here will be our first choice.

By the way, we were got lots of helped from k's house employee, they not just can speak very fluently English and also provide the good service to customer. The Whole experience make our trip very please.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: mattress / Heated floor / Luxury toilet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanfordC...
1 review
“Convenient access to various attraction sites, very helpful services from staff”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Location is very good, just 15-20 mins walk from JR Kyoto station, and 2-3 mins walk to Shichijo (Keihan Line). Very convenient because Gion-Shijo, Kiyomizu-Gojo & Fushimiinari are all on Keihan Line. Furthermore, from Gion-Shijo it's again a 2-3 mins walk to Kawaramachi (Hankyu Kyoto Line) which could access Osaka / Umeda or even Kobe. In all, despite a bit far from JR Kyoto station, vicinity to Keihan Line is very convenient for us.

Very timely e-mail responses with good English which are very helpful to us who do not understand Japanese. The staff were very kind to help us check availability of various local restaurants upon our request and arrange reservation for us. We enjoyed no in-room clean-up / other services because we stayed for 3 nights only, but still I found their services to tenants very helpful.

All the in-door area are properly air-conditioned so I felt very warm even during early spring (around 10 degrees Celsius). However the rooms are a bit dry even with the humidifiers turned on. And the lighting is not bright enough. Otherwise, there are various tools one can use to cook their own meals so on average the in-door environment is again very good.

I would recommend this to those who enjoyed privacy and traditional Japanese house with modern facilities.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chunxiao...
Beijing, China
1 review
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Like our home in Kyoto, peaceful and fabulous.
I think it's a best choice for family trip, especially for kids.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesskhant...
1 review
“Home away from home in Kyoto”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in k's villa and our family of four had a very comfortable stay.

We were walked to the villa by a k's house employee and from then on it felt like a home away from home. Kitchen amenities were great and the bedding was comfortable.

Small touches like the clear instructions, maps and bikes for use were the icing on the cake.

Only caveat were the narrow and exposed stairs which will make it difficult for the young and seniors.

Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing