We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tradional Home”
One kind of Machiya luxury facade High Wall Style ''TAKABEI TSUKURI''
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One kind of Machiya luxury facade High Wall Style ''TAKABEI TSUKURI''
The house was designated as ''Important Cultural Properties of Kyoto'' The original traditional Japanese kitchen space ''DOMA''
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
One kind of Machiya luxury facade High Wall Style ''TAKABEI TSUKURI''
The house was designated as ''Important Cultural Properties of Kyoto''
The original traditional Japanese kitchen space ''DOMA''
The kitchen room's high ceiling
Antique Pumpkin Style Lamp
Adjacent to garden from Tatami room
View the Engawa and 3 tatami room from 6 tatami room
6 tatami room for living with ''TOKONOMA''
High Class Handpick White-Goose Futons are provided on Tatami Room
Traditonal ''ENGAWA'' space
Modern Japanese bath room with adjacent to garden.adjacent to garden
Modern Japanese toilet Washlet
Zen Garden
Ikebana of Saga Goryu by owner
Okouchi Sanso Village in Arashiyama
Bamboo Groves in Arashiyama
Rakushisha in Saga
Changing color in the mountain with the houseborts in Hozu River
''Structure of Landscape Importance Kyoto City''
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Kym M
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tradional Home”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

If you are looking for a tradional Japanese home you will find it here. The home is very clean and well equipped. The home is located in a good area, close to the supermarket, shops, train station and tourist sites. as we traveled in November it was cool outside but we were warm inside with heating and the beautiful warm feather doonas.

I personally didn't like the bedding it is very firm and the pillows hard, but we wanted tradional. The big bath was lovely especially after walking all day.

Negatives would be the step down from the living to kitchen, being older I found it annoying getting up and down, and would have liked a larger mirror as the one in the toilet vanity area is little.

Overall we had a nice time and Arashiyama is beautiful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Bedding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Hello Kym M. san,
I am happy that you had a nice stay at the Arashiyama Hanare, and that you left with nice memories of your Kyoto trip. Only negatives side as you said that we have prepared the step after that. We are willing to improve anything for our future guests. Thank you so very much for your kindness and choosing at the Arahsiyma Hanare House.
I look forward to your next visit.
Take good care.
Tokuji Tanaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryZ5683
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique Experience!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed here recently during a trip to Kyoto with my cousin. We found the property very well maintained, offering exactly what we needed, as other posts have mentioned. What I found to be exceptional was the bedding provided, especially the pillow which was made of ergonomic bead filling. As a result I was able to sleep intensely and deeply every night. I wish I could have purchased to pillows to take home! Overall a wonderful experience with wonderful hosts.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Love the peacefulness of the place
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it - the traditional layout, architecture, location.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janie_poo...
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This a charming and lovely place to stay. It is located in the Arashiyama district of Kyoto, which is beautiful itself. The host Tanaka San was very helpful. He arranged for us to go see the Moss Temple and a number of other excursions. He had helpful advice on what to do and had even prepared a folder for us to use that included a map and pamphlets on my hints to do in the neighbourhood. There is a grocery store nearby that carries everything you need. The apartment itself was decorated in typical Japanese style and was very nice. It had everything you needed and was exceptionally clean. We highly recommend the Arashiyama Hanare.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing