We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Experience with authentic Japanese Life”
One kind of Machiya luxury facade High Wall Style ''TAKABEI TSUKURI''
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One kind of Machiya luxury facade High Wall Style ''TAKABEI TSUKURI''
The house was designated as ''Important Cultural Properties of Kyoto'' The original traditional Japanese kitchen space ''DOMA''
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
One kind of Machiya luxury facade High Wall Style ''TAKABEI TSUKURI''
The house was designated as ''Important Cultural Properties of Kyoto''
The original traditional Japanese kitchen space ''DOMA''
The kitchen room's high ceiling
Antique Pumpkin Style Lamp
Adjacent to garden from Tatami room
View the Engawa and 3 tatami room from 6 tatami room
6 tatami room for living with ''TOKONOMA''
High Class Handpick White-Goose Futons are provided on Tatami Room
Traditonal ''ENGAWA'' space
Modern Japanese bath room with adjacent to garden.adjacent to garden
Modern Japanese toilet Washlet
Zen Garden
Ikebana of Saga Goryu by owner
Okouchi Sanso Village in Arashiyama
Bamboo Groves in Arashiyama
Rakushisha in Saga
Changing color in the mountain with the houseborts in Hozu River
''Structure of Landscape Importance Kyoto City''
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
westcoast...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience with authentic Japanese Life”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent ten nights at Hanare House in beautiful Arashiyama in April and enjoyed it very much. The House is as displayed in the photos - very authentic and attractive and in a very convenient location just a few minutes from a JR Station with a 15 minute connection to Kyoto. As one local restaurant owner described it (I assume from previous customers) "no chairs, no TV!' but it is nevertheless quite wonderful and with the modern technology and conveniences. The owner is wonderful - very helpful during the booking arrangements and offered with temple reservations and even secured baseball tickets for us during our visit. If you are looking to experience a traditional home in a beautiful location you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElodieFro...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Japanese living”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I visited Japan last year in July for the first time after many years of daydreaming about it. The Hanare was our first real experience of the traditional Japanese way of living. We stayed a week and It couldn't have been better. The Hanare is a beautifully restored 'detached' house in a quiet area of Arashiyama/ Kyoto. It has two comfortable air-conditioned rooms looking onto a beautiful small garden and a very nice bathroom which was very enjoyable in the heat of summer.

The Hanare is situated close to the station (15 min to central Kyoto), there is a nice little supermarket down the street and many restaurants close by. After a day of sightseeing in Kyoto it was always a pleasure to be back in Arashiyama.

Tokuji, our host was very kind and helpful and speaks very well English. He helped us find our way and recommended very special places to us, from a wonderful Yakitori restaurant in Arashiyama to special gardens in Kyoto.

We are very grateful for our wonderful stay and thank Tokuji and his family for their hospitality. Our love for Japan has only growed since then! We hope we will come back some days!

All the best, Elodie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful traditional feel of the Hanare, the garden, the Ikebana & our host
Liked least: Due to the summer heat in July we didn't use the kitchen, unfortunately
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida USA
Reviewed 14 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monika_Re...
Bludenz
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A püerfect place for a visit in Kyoto”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My sister and I stayed at the “Arashiyama Hanare” house for ten days and we really loved it. The place has two main rooms, so we had plenty of space. The owner has been very friendly and helpful. The facilities work well and we enjoyed having a hot bath after a day full of great experiences in Kyoto. We also liked the privacy there. We were on our own the whole time but whenever we had a problem we could rely on the owners who have been living next door to us. The way to one of the stations was about fifteen minutes; the others were even closer just a few minutes walking distance. The neighborhood was also very quiet, nearly no traffic, no loud sounds not even lots of cicadas. The best thing was sitting in the major room drinking hot tea and enjoying Japanese sweets while looking out into the nice garden. For us it was great to have a washing machine just for us because we were travelling with not too many spare clothes. If we go back to Kyoto one day (and we surely will) we will again stay at the hanare house. I recommend this place to any who loves the traditional way of Japanese living.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it is a beautiful place, quiet surroundings
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL USA
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing