We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, great location”
The exterior of Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The exterior of Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn
Stylish and innovative Machiya Townhouse lcoated in the central Kyoto near Kawaramachi and Gion Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The exterior of Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn
Stylish and innovative Machiya Townhouse lcoated in the central Kyoto near Kawaramachi and Gion
Entrance
Corridor
Living room, Tatami Bedroom and Garden
Kitchen
Western Twin Bedroom
Lounge room / Tatami Bedroom
Bathroom
\'Hiniki buro\' or Japanese cypress bath tub
Japanese 'tsuboniwa' garden at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tribecan
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, great location”
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This was the second house I rented in October from Machiya Residence Inn, and it was beautiful and ideally located, as was the first (Koyuan). A few feet from the Pontocho Canal (no view), it has a perfect little kitchen, a washer-dryer, soaking tub, and two single beds, and two chairs, upstairs in a generously-sized bedroom. The house is immaculately kept, in perfect condition, and the agency that rents it is extremely helpful with everything: travel arrangements, advice about local sights, shipping of luggage, everything. I could not have been happier with the house, the location, or Hiro, the manager with whom I dealt. I can't wait to stay with them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely house, great location
Liked least: I'm tall, and the doorways are not.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about Shikokuan. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at both houses. We look forward to seeing you again next time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH83
UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

- excellent alternative accommodation to a hotel, a traditional environment with all the mod cons situated minutes from useful transportation, amenities and of course walking distance to most sights/ areas of interest that are in the east of Kyoto.
- great place to relax after sightseeing and located near a large number of excellent restaurants
- so glad we stayed here and not another hotel, 5 nights after touring other parts of Japan.
- very helpful staff
- people with mobility problems would have difficulty reaching the 1st floor bedroom area as very steep stairs
- very good bathroom
- loved sitting by the garden area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2012
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shikokuan. As you mentioned, since the original stairs have been left in place to add to the authenticity of the house, they are a little steep. However, comfortable futons can be laid down on the first floor to accommodate anyone who has any form of motor problem. Again, we are grateful that you chose to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Kyoto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xtoffa
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous traditional but renovated accomodation.”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the location - right in the middle of town walking distance to the great night time eat streets, and train stations, and a stones throw from the canals & river. The accommodation is traditional in style but new and up to date with a great bathroom, air-conditioning (very necessary in summer!)

We were early for our checkin but were able to leave our luggage in the foyer whilst getting started exploring the city. Similarly on our check out day we left our luggage til 2. It was very easy to find, our cabbie rang Hiro to clarify the directions from the station and all went swimmingly.
Not having a key but a pin code to get in was awesome as the three of us weren't always returning at the same time. And we weren't expecting a cleaning service whilst we were there so that was a lovely surprise!
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style, & Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2012
Thank you very much for your stay at Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn. All of our townhouses are renovated machiya townhouses with modern facilities and offer you a great opportunity to experience the local lifestyle of Kyoto. We are so glad to hear that you were able to make most of the time in Kyoto. It was nice accommodating you and we look forward to seeing you again next time! Thank you very much for your nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayleys25...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Machiya in a great location”
Reviewed 29 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I travelled to Kyoto with my parents. The three of us stayed in Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn for three nights. It is a beautiful Machiya, with a great ambience. The location is fantastic - close to everything you need to see and do in beautiful Kyoto. Very comfortable and highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2012
Thank you very much for your stay at Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family and were able to take advantage of its convenient location and explore the city! It was nice accommodating you all and we look forward to seeing you again next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanhat
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful/affordable/comfortable way to enjoy Kyoto”
Reviewed 22 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The machiya was everything we expected it to be and surprisingly affordable way to accommodate four people in a beautiful setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The machiya itself, location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2012
Thank you very much for your stay and time to post your nice comments. We look forward to hearing from you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing