We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We felt like a local and very much at home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The cherry blossoms in Kiyomizu Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Traveladv...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We felt like a local and very much at home”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay very much. The townhouse had everything we needed. A lot of thought had gone into what people may need. We liked the ambience and decor. When we returned from being out and about, we felt like we were returning home. We liked being in the arcade, with little shops, family mart, etc. There was plenty of information on things to see nearby and transportation. Bus 100 became our friend but it does stop early ie about 6 pm. The futons were comfortable. Anyone with mobility problems may need to know that the stairs are quite steep.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdreimann
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a beautifully and sensitively renovated machiya home on the east side of Kyoto, convenient to many attractions and close to shopping and restaurants. The host took time to meet us when we arrived and farewell us when we left, and even had vases of fresh flowers. The instructions in English for the various appliances were very clear, and there was a lot of tourist information. We also appreciated the size of the home for our family of five after staying in tiny apartments in Tokyo, which made for a relaxing stay. There is a little bit of noise (music) in the front of the home from the shopping arcade during the day but this doesn't interfere with sleeping. I recommend this listing highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authentic traditional home
Liked least: Hitting my head on the low doorways (4 times!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nafania
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay in Kyoto's historical townhouse”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

One of the ways to experience Kyoto is to stay at machiya, historical townhouse. This particular machiya was in proximity to train and sites at Higashyama. The owner did a great job at renovating and decorating the place. Besides that, the house had everything you can possibly need during the stay. I'd definitely want to come back to this place if I travel again to Kyoto!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ambience and historical atmosphere
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmt2000
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

If there is one thing I cannot stress enough about lodging it's 'location, location, location!!!!' Komachiya is unparalleled in this aspect as it's at the corner of two large avenues connecting the major sights of the Higashiyama area. Having a 24hr grocery store, a 24 laundromat, and 24 convenient stores just around the corner, and also being within a 10-minute walk to the food heaven of Gion help with calling this place home. All this offered by a very friendly host. Tannaka San is professional and hepful from Day 1, with readied bundle of maps, bus navigator, restaurant recommendations, etc. We were a group of five ladies and we loved our stay~

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adieuswee...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Kyoto Townhouse Tucked Away in Fantastic Location.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I were looking for an different experience on returning to Kyoto, last time was the Gran Via Hotel in the station, this time we wanted to experience Kyoto on a more street level.
What you have is a traditional Kyoto Machiya in Northern Higashiyama, just a series of easy walks from many temples and attractions on the Eastern side of the city, not to mention the more Central shopping areas. What a joy to be able to wander down to the local Book Off one evening and have a splurge on Japanese CDs.

The front of the townhouse is actually under a covered market street or Shotengai, all around are local tradesmen, there are several places to grab foods within seconds and some of the local Konbini are about a two minute walk away.

The house itself has pretty much every item that you would require for daily living, we found Masae-san to be a very helpful and conscientious host, taking a lot of time to explain the best routes to the places we wanted to visit, without her guidance we wouldn't have used the local bus services which turned out to be really straightforward.

The interior of the house is traditionally Japanese, it is comfortable, clean and tidy with lots of available bedding, blankets and cushions to ease any Westerner into living nearer to the floor level than is familiar. There is TV, Books and Magazines, a laptop *and* IPad with good WiFi. By the front of the house is an extended Genkan area with a dining table, the computer and the galley kitchen. The bath/shower room works well and is well kept, with olympic standard water pressure for those that require it.

One thing to be aware of it, if you are taller than say, 5'11" you will have to be mindful of the beams in the house, remember it's a very old property and as long as you duck a little when walking around upstairs you'll be fine.

I would say that if you are looking for a place to use as a base to see Kyoto and want a taste of Japanese traditionalism whist being in a friendly, non-touristy environment, this house would be pretty much perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Bumping my head occasionally :) (I am just over 6ft tall)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing