We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful experience!!”
other travellers have booked this property
House front - middle of these three houses in a row
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House front - middle of these three houses in a row
House Front Night - very quiet neighbourhood Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
House front - middle of these three houses in a row
House Front Night - very quiet neighbourhood
Entrance
Downstairs
From Dining to Entrance
Master Bedroom - sunny and breezy
Master Bedroom
Dresser and Bench in the Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom (Tatami Room)
Futons in the Tatami bedroom - far more comfortable than you think!
clean and modern bathroom with a deep Japanese tub
antique cabinet
Garden Night
Cassina Sofa and Mini Garden
Street view - neighbourhood
Golden Temple
Holding fan shop
Local French Bakery - beautiful bread
Kyoto Station
Local Nepalese Restaurant - friendly neighbours!
Cherry season
Traditional well
Geisha at Gion Corner - 5 min walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jfi2014
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!!”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Kyoto and the second time we stayed at a machiya. This machiya was much more comfortable and spacious than our last, and also very welcoming! Hiromi, Yukiko and Rob have done a fantastic job of running this Machiya and ensuring that we are happy and taken care of during our stay in Kyoto. The bedrooms were big and the kitchen was a delight to use. We cooked delicious Nabe everynight and we were able to buy some bentos from the supermarket around the corner. Such a shame that the bakery near the machiya closed down after 30 years :(
However, it was a pleasant neighbourhood and it was within walking distance to Kiyomizu temple and the Gion area.
I look forward to visiting Kyoto again and staying at the Gion Machiya!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familyfor...
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We couldn't have been happier”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived late in the afternoon tired and jet lagged and our spirits were immediately boosted by the location and ambience of the machiya with its beautiful wood floors, artistic touches and comfortable beds. There were all the instructions we needed readily available and we felt immediately at home. There is a wealth of restaurants in the surrounding neighborhood and historical sights. We had planned to take a couple of day trips during our stay but found there was more than enough to see and do around the neighborhood. We discovered the small pottery shops on our way to find Sangusangendo Temple with its 1,000 golden Kannons; we tried the small restaurants close by, Aun was just around the corner, and our time flew by. It was difficult to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmas64
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore Kyoto”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Four of us stayed for five nights and enjoyed every minute.
Spacious (by Japanese standards), clean, comfortable, generously equipped, great to come back to after a hard day's sightseeing. Lots of useful info supplied by owner and previous guests. Great location, close to transport routes and train station but also within an easy walk of many interesting sights and of restaurants and shops.
The staircase up to bedrooms is steep and narrow so maybe not one for disabled people or very small children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J G
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We (4 adults) stayed at the Artist's Machiya for a week ... loved the quiet area ... met some of the neighbours. Located in the Gion area/S. Higashiyama ... it was very quiet and in the middle of historic Kyoto. Easy access to the bus on Higashioji-dori. Train not far away. It was a great location. The house had everything we needed. Two BR was perfect for 2 couples. Kitchen had cooking utensils and facilities. Great grocery store a block away. A phone had been left for our convenience. Would not hesitate to recommend it to other travellers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mberti72
Mirano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent 4 nights in this location situated in the heart of Gion Kiyomizu anx it was unforgettable. The Machiya is percectly equipped and both the owners as well as the manager are extremly helpful and very nice persons you can trust. The neighbourhood is also friendly. All facilities such as convenience stores, bakery, bus stops, train station etc. are within walking distance. Perfect for sightseeing and experiencing a bite of Japanese lifestyle
Wonderful place to stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing