We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$188
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

New Miyako Hotel(Minami)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Styles Kyoto Station(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$145
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$216
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$216
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Kyoto Itoya Hotel(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$417
US$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$349
US$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
324
52
38
17
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
52
38
17
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea housesushi restaurantbeautiful hotelpond gardenindoor poolthe general managerluxury hoteljapanese gardenmain restaurantconcierge teambreakfast buffetdinner reservationsspent nightsthe ritzspafskoi
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Four Seasons in Kyoto for four nights. We loved the room: there was a “butler” closet by the front door of our room. We could put lauder bags, pants to be pressed or shoes to be shined in the closet then push the butler button, which was on the wall next to the closet. The laundry, shoes, pressing returned on time, no waiting for pickup or telephone calles. Our room had everything and was well thoughtout. The fitness center in this hotel was well equiped, and included a yoga room. The fitness center was one of the best hotel fitnesses we found in Japan. We eat breakfast every morning and the food was fresh interesting. After some of the dinners we had in Kyoto, I am sorry we did not have dinner iin the hotel. Now some things you should know: cars can ot enter the front door before 9:00 due to school crossing, when we arrive front desk people not frienly, but corrected after comment to general manager, hotel is not in central location. For us this was the perfect hotel. ENJOY

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Davidtravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Davidtravel_9,

Thank you so much for your stay at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto and leaving such a valuable comment on TripAdvisor.

Thank you also for mentioning about our butler closet which is handy for laundry service and shoe shine service not interrupting your privacy when you press for service - I am glad to know you enjoyed this service! Good to know that you enjoyed the Fitness Centre, the only thing missing there are guests in the afternoon (when they are out and about:).

As you mention, we have the restricted car only entry hours between 8 am and 9am Monday through Saturday on school terms for Kyoto Women University students to safely travel up the road to school free from traffic. People can walk in or out at any time and should you need to leave between these hours we have the Hotel Residence entrance a 90 second walk from the Brasserie restaurant where our hotel rooms are located and it is open 24/7. We appreciate your kind understanding on this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This property is exactly what you expect from the Four Seasons. The hotel is a beautiful property that blends its architecture perfectly with nature. This is exactly what I envisioned before coming to Japan. The treatment by hotel staff was excellent. Front desk staff, concierge team, dining room staff, and the head chef were all amazing. Our room had a view of the Koi lake and Tea House. You could sit out there and feel completely tranquil while the neighborhood around the hotel is busy with activity. Location of the hotel is convenient for many of the Kyoto sites. We were met at the train by the staff, helped with our luggage, and whisked into a taxi that took us to the hotel. All-in-all, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wxgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Wxgirl2013,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment on TripAdvisor!

I am happy to learn you enjoyed the service by all of our team here and enjoyed the view of the Koi pond and the tea house at Shakusui-tei. I also love watching the Koi swimming in the garden and I am happy to know you loved the tranquility of our setting and the location just close to the cultural heritage sites and national treasure such as Sanjusangendo Temple.

We look forward to having the pleasure to welcoming you back to the ancient city!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location: close to the railway station. Walking (taxi is preferable IMHO). Close to all Eastern Kyoto sites (Kinkaku-ji, Nanzen-ji) and also close to Imperial Palace etc.

Property: Gorgeous. Deceptive. You get no clue how serene it isif you look at the neighborhood. Public places: calm, open, clean, soothing.

Rooms: Our main need was connecting rooms and it was delivered. Rooms are perfect. All you need and a bit more.

Restaurants: breakfast was great. We also tried lunch and room service. Actually good value for money. Impeccable service.

Front desk and reception: shout out to Yuri who checked us in. Made us feel welcome. Also Norie who checked us out. Very good. Norie asked about my plans and came up with an idea to save me money. Then apologized for taking my time. ( any of my friends reading this, if you have an idea to save me money, I might be able to find time, don’t worry) .

Bottom line: a tad expensive but worth the expense. Actually par for the course for Kyoto. I would stay again. In fact, I might visit Kyoto again to stay here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank ravigodse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear ravigodse,

Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed feedback of your recent stay with us at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto.


I am so happy to read your comment about Yuri and Norie upon your arrival & departure and I will definitely share your compliment with them, they are true superstars and both have been with Four Seasons in our properties overseas and we are so happy to have them back here in Japan and Kyoto.


Thank you also for your compliment about the room's cleanliness and the breakfast as well as the overall our service by the team. Our hotel lobby and the room is designed as a timeless and engaging space that seamlessly adapts with changing seasons (our windows are over 9-metre tall)and I believe these beautiful feature and our location with 800-year old Shakusui-en pond garden made your stay a more memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel in the near future and at that time I am happy to pass on the name of a small sub temple garden near and around Nanzen-ji that is absolutely fantastic. So until then ....


Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this property when the leaves were starting to turn. I can't imagine a better time to be there, except when the cherry blossoms come out. This Four Seasons perfectly encapsulates the elegant beauty that Kyoto is about. Surrounding a, 800 year Koi pond, every single area in this hotel is designed to elicit the perfect Zen experience. The Spa, the pool, the Ofuro, the tea house and the food... everything is amazing. Can't wait till we come back.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies directly on the pond give you an exquisite view waking up.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hector P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Hector P,

Thank you so much for your stay with us at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto.

Our hotel is designed incorporating the beauty of changing seasons and I am happy to know you liked our Zen inspired spa as well as our tea house and dining experience.

We have over 42 Momiji maple trees in our garden and 22 Sakura trees on property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travelled to Kyoto after a lovely stay at the sister property in Tokyo. This new Four Seasons checks all of the boxes. We were met at the station and assisted with our very heavy American bags. Upon check in at the front desk, we met Alex. He happened to overhear that our trip was a graduation present for our son (Aero-Engineer with a Japanese minor and he took it upon himself to make arrangements for our son to meet the Sushi Chef. So special. We loved the ancient pond filled with Koi, ducks, and all sorts of wildlife. The pool and spa are world class. Last but not least, perfectly proportioned rooms designed for maximum comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Robin W,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto and it was lovely welcoming you personally upon arrival and I am so happy that Ayu, our Guest Experience Ambassador was able to introduce our Sushi Chef, Masashi Yamaguchi to your son.

I am also happy to learn that you loved our ancient Shaskusui-en pond garden with Koi, ducks, turtles and more!

Congratulations again for your son's graduation and we look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back to Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews