We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
19
11
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
11
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ten minute walk hotel experience by chinese standards hotel grounds rooms are small west lake bungalow yuan taxi shanghai china
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

My boyfriend and I (26 & 27) stayed at the Lotus Glade for one night in November 2016. I feel so fortunate to have come across this hotel randomly, as it was such an oasis after spending several days in Shanghai. Our only issue was that we had to flag down probably about 10 taxis before I could convince one (in my broken Mandarin) to take us to the hotel, as it was off the beaten path a bit. Once we arrived, it was 100% worth the trouble of getting there. Check in was pretty easy. It was helpful that I have studied Mandarin, but there was one employee who spoke English well. We had our own small cabin, which was completely renovated and modern. Very comfortable bed, wonderful bathroom, tv, wifi, heater. The hotel grounds were the most amazing part of the stay though.. We were surrounded by lush vegetation, right on West Lake. You can see the temples across the lake from the hotel. We took a walk late at night to see everything lit up, as well as as the sun was rising the next morning. Unfortunately, due to being so tired from traveling, we missed their dinner hours, but made it for breakfast the next morning. Food was good, traditional Chinese options, as well as some attempts at a more Western cuisine. I wish we could have stayed longer, and after spending two weeks traveling in Shanghai, Hangzhou, Wuhan and Hong Kong, we both agreed that the Lotus Glade was by far our favorite stop. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stormy516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Lotus Glade is not your usual hotel in a Chinese city, it is difficult to access, secluded, no buffet breakfast, and has limited amenities. What it does provide are individual cabins in a private and almost secluded area to the west end of the lake and this is the very reason we chose it. As others have said the hotel is difficult to park out the front of and almost indistinguishable from the street, if you have gps with the address it is recommended or call the hotel to have them wait at the street. There is also a bus stop a very short distance from the entry and parking close by across the road. Once in the hotel the street is no longer visible and it is an almost surreal setting with a number of cabins surrounding a main outdoor dining/bar setup all amongst tall trees and glimpses of the lake beyond. All the staff are friendly and helpful and the cabin although small and starting to age, was comfortable with good heating ( winter) and a decent bathroom. We stayed 4 nights here and each night after hectic touring of the West lake area we felt the cabin was a welcome and comfortable refuge away from the city and tourist areas. They do provide breakfast and a small menu throughout the day here, but we chose to eat elsewhere purely to try different places and also to grab good coffee first thing in the morning. Starbucks is only a 5-10 mins walk through the lake area and there are plenty of places to eat here also. Alternatively the causeways are both easy walking from here, and the stadium 20 mins walk away provides a good range of food outlets including mcdonalds. Taxis are also easily accessible from the main street to the north near Starbucks. Overall we found the hotel to be exactly what we were looking for with easy access to all the tourist spots and without the city or tourist traffic around us!! Only downside would be it's hard to find and is quite dark and eery coming back at night with no one visibly on duty around the cabins. We didn't have a problem with it and walked back via the lake paths each night, which have cctv cameras everywhere, but others might be bit put off.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Should have done more research before I booked. Indecent environment, inconvenient location, unpleasant stay, but the staff were not bad though not very helpful, not recommended! Too dark once after sunset.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cynthiasclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

1. my guide cannot park his car there. 2. The hotel doesn't take foreign bills. 3. the room is stuffy and uncomfortable. 4. There is no clear sign to lead guests to the right location of the hotel. 5. The scenery around is pretty, particularly the lotus flowers.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wafaa Shehata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We wanted a Chinese hotel experience and got it. We were the only Westerners in the hotel. The location was right in the middle of the park surrounding West Lake. Our room was actually a little cottage suite with large glassed in porch. The furniture sizes overwhelmed the rooms. Food was surprisingly very good and the staff, although no one spoke English, was very attentive. There is also a Shangri-la hotel in walking distance that has a couple very nice restaurants. One night here was great but three were a bit too long.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFrancisco_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews