We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
45
86
35
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
86
35
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skylight window three star angara river small room top floor lake baikal train station tidy reception english kirov mongolia square
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel was clean and tidy. There is access to hot and cold water on each landing.
The breakfast buffet is adequate and set out well.

The hotel is opposite the railway station but please note that lots of stations and hotels in Russia do not have ramps for access and there are usually stairs to climb and this hotel is no exception.

The issues that need addressing are as follows;

The heating was on full on our visit and was so hot we could not sleep. We tried to call reception a number of times but no one was on reception and our calls ignored.

Towels are very small . More like hand towels.

Positive is they provide tea and coffee sachets in room.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lorraineh126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Nice location, easy walk to some of the sights in Irkutsk. Hotel staff is generally pleasant with most reception staff speaking some English. Rooms are pretty basic - bed was ok, small TV, bathroom is clean but simply done. The suite I stayed in didn't have any real windows, just a skylight - was a bit weird if you like being able to actually see outside.

Decent area for a morning jog - just head west until the river and follow the river path/park for whatever distance you like.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Forca_Barca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaKarakich K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest! Thank you for your feedback.We will be very happy to welcome you back in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The impression is Soviet style. The location is in the northern parts of Irkutsk and close to Kirov Square and the Angara river. The receptionist was far from service oriented when we arrived, but the staff that replaced her later was fine - and even smiled a bit. The shower cubicle was very narrow. The beds were good! The breakfast was acceptable. The internet is supposed to be "free" but you need to call a local number to get access; complicated and it did not work.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank what_is_next_to_see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaKarakich K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the current situation connected with the Internet. We are already looking for solution how to fix it. The law compels us to identify users. We hope to see You among our guests at any time. We will do everything we can to following Your stay in the hotel "Empire" was extremely comfortable and left only positive impressions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with a group riding motorcycles from Mongolia. Hotel is one street back from the river next to the drive with a small market type premises nearby. The hotel has parking right outside and it appears relatively safe. Reception staff are friendly and efficient. The room I had was on the top floor and by description, a single room is just that, a single bed in a relatively small room. Having said that the bed was comfy and the room was clean, well maintained and air conditioned. The place is quiet. The room had a single skylight window, so no view. The hotel has a small lift and all rooms and the downstairs restaurant are accessible from it. Plenty of shops and places to eat nearby and the river is very close by. I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Vic_Huss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaKarakich K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about Empire hotel! It is very pleasant to know you loved the hotel and enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

In this hotel you get the minimum for the price you pay. Welcome is nice, for sure langage is a barrier but some are talking english and do their best to support. Room is efficient let's say. You have a good bed, a clean but old type bathroom with shower. Take care of water pressure, if you don't want to be wetted by leak in the hose. The wifi is correct and breakfast as well. It isnt a huge buffet but large enough to find something to start well the day. So, don't go there for honeymoon or lovely weekend, but if you are in transit in the town for business, why not.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Arnaud P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaKarakich K, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about Empire hotel! We will take into account your remarks about our bathroom . It is very pleasant to know you loved the hotel and enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews