We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience The General Staff Building
from US$55,20
More Info
from US$105,00
More Info
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
689
162
38
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
162
38
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van gogh impressionist art winter palace palace square fourth floor neoclassical building foreign ministry manolo blahnik modern interior triumphal arch empire style amazing collection hermitage collection large collection day ticket on display renoir
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 904 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We started our Hermitage day at the General Staff Building. We were there when it opened and there were perhaps 15 others waiting so no lines to buy tickets or check bags. We have seen the Impressionists in Paris but this collection seemed almost as complete

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank KatyDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Such a wonderful collection for just 300 RUB (700 if also Winter Palace).
Compared to WP there was only few people, no big groups. So can enjoy art in peace and quietness. Building itself is great and interesting!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Piret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

I didn’t get the opportunity to visit this gallery. I was in the winter palace earlier and unfortunately lost my ticket. I went to the administrator with my receipt and have never encountered a more rude person with a manager role. She said “why did you lose your ticket? Not going to help you” and left me there. Having the receipt and all, I know it was my fault to lose the ticket but did not expect this rudeness and treatment on behalf of the museum. Lesson: don’t lose your ticket, there’s no way you’ll be let in, even if you do have the receipt.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Camilajose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Not to be missed. The Hermitage has one of the largest and most resplendent collections of French paintings. It is breath taking.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank DCMDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

The General Staff Building is a great newer addition to the museum complex. The great names of Impressionism are represented here. There is also a large collection of Post-Impressionism works up to the Russian Revolution. Private collections were expropriated by the government for the enjoyment of all the Russian people. We were on a tour and saw both the main Hermitage building and the General Staff Building in the same day. It would have been better to spread it out over two days.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Mmarymomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews