We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable exterior design”

The Great Mosque of St. Petersburg
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18,00*
and up
St.Petersburg 3 Hour Private Panoramic City Tour...
Ranked #119 of 1 921 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The mosque, on of the largest in Europe, was built in 1920 and is similar to the Samarkand mausoleum.
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Great Mosque of St. Petersburg is the greatest mosque in Europe outside of Turkey. The exterior architecture is one of the most beautiful ones you can see in Europe. The mosaics and colours that are used on the walls and for the Dome reflect the beauty of the structure. The Dome is 39 meters high and what made this mosque look a bit better than the others in Europe is to have only 2 minarets which shows a simplicity also...

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Flyngdtchmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"peter and paul fortress"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful exterior"
in 2 reviews
"gorkovskaya"
in 3 reviews
"minaret"
in 6 reviews
"muslim"
in 4 reviews
"dome"
in 6 reviews
"architecture"
in 8 reviews
"metro"
in 3 reviews
"petersburg"
in 7 reviews
"st"
in 7 reviews
"beauty"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

One of the most largest mosque in Europe part of Russia, it can accomodate up to 5000 people.It's replicate of the Imam Bukhari's mausoleum in Samarkand, Uzbekishtan

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank litaindahsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Up close this mosque is just ugly concrete, but from a distance it resembles one of the great mosques in Samarkand. Presumably this mosque is a modern copy of what one sees in Samarkand. It's close enough to the Peter and Paul Fortress and easily combined with a visit there. But I wouldn't go out of my way to see this structure. If you've seen the real thing in Samarkand then prepare to be disappointed. It didn't seem possible to go inside when I visited.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Passed by the Great Mosque of St Petersburg on my way to Zayachiy Island. I got off at Gorkovskaya Metro and walked passed the mosque.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Quack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Did not expect to see such a wonderful Mosque in St. Petersburg.
We did not go inside as it was closed, but on the outside it looks amazing.
I am not religious, I am just amazed with architecture.
It is near Peter and Paul Fortress, so if you are near there, come by it.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great Mosque of St. Petersburg also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
Peterhof, Petrodvortsovy District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to The Great Mosque of St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing