We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
63
56
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
56
11
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We stayed for 4 nights in March, 2016. Booked a suite on the hotel web site after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Hotel is located not far from the city center, next to Kilnicheskaya (Hospital) street (former Hinterrosgarten Strasse). Our room was on the 1st floor, with 2 windows facing the local hospital and the Dolce Vita restaurant in the yard. The staff is very friendly, they have city maps for free, and can advice you on eating out and transport. The room was cosy, quiet and spaceful enough, with a TV, hair dryer, coffe machine and 'welcome' capsules per person. For breakfast they usually offer juice, tea and coffee, eggs, sausages, flakes, cheese and ham, stuffed pancakes, fruit and season vegetables, and home-made cakes. We highly recommend pancakes and honey cakes!)
Bus and tram stops are just next to the hotel. Besides the Amber museum, you can take a 10 min walk to the local Museum of History and Arts, which I also recommend, or you can walk through a nice park with a pond nearby, or view the orthodox cathedral and modern buildings of the local University.
Getting to the Khrabrovo Airport will take you about 15-20 min by a shuttle bus.

Room tip: Did not see an elevator anywhere, so consider choosing the 1st (ground) floor if your baggage is heavy.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaSl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

The hotel is located close to Dona Tower, housing the famous Amber Museum (probably the top sight in Kaliningrad). It is within walking distance of central square (Pl. Pobedy) and Kant Island, where the Gothic Cathedral is located. The rooms are large and nicely furnished. The staff is professional, multilingual and very friendly. Excellent buffet breakfast. On the premises is Dolce Vita, one of the best restaurants in Kalinigrad

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Were in this hotel in March. Hotel not the big. Rooms small, pure. The hotel personnel isn't so affable. During a breakfast a choice not the big. But hungry weren't. After a breakfast in hotel there is no even a water, it is necessary to go to the next restaurant. From hotel it is convenient to reach in any part of a city and suburb. Nearby there is a museum of amber and good restaurant.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marinamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I think "boutique hotel" is a slight overstatement. Our two-room suite was a little dated in decor and frayed around the edges, although quite functional. We requested a baby crib, and had to support one of its broken legs with an ashtray. The A/C cooled down the sitting room, but not the bedroom - at night, we got some mosquito bites because there were no mosquito screens in the windows. Everything was clean, but I felt that the hotel had its prime time moment perhaps 5 years ago, and things had slipped a little since.

The breakfast (included in our room rate) was nice, if not very memorable. The hotel staff were extremely courteous, helpful and spoke English very well. They were very helpful in arranging taxis and always sensitive to our wishes. The hotel is situated near busy thoroughfares, but expect more than 1 km walk to city center (the route near the lake is definitely more pleasant than the westward route, completely clogged with cars).

I *could *stay there again, but would probably first try some other options - newer hotels are constantly being opened in Kaliningrad, and I'm sure some of them feel more "boutique" than this one.

Date of stay: August 2009
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Melesbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The staff at the Dona were very helpful, particularly as we didn't speak Russian they were very patient with us and our neverending questions. The hotel is located 10/15 minute walk away from the main street (Leninsky (sp?)) and a further 15 minutes from the old cathedral; it's in a busy area but set back from the road so we didn't have any noise. It's a cheap taxi ride from the trainstation.

The decor of the hotel is a dated but well maintained. Our room was spaciousand included a sitting area, the bathroom had a shower only (no bath) but was spotless if a lated dated. Breakfast was had a good selection and eggs could be cooked to order. The star of the hotel is the Dolce Vita restaurant, it doesn't look much from the outside but the service and food were excellent.

I would recommend this hotel particularly because of the helpful staff.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sn00zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews