We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
R 2 464
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
FilipVR68
Bellville, South Africa

Very nice hotel

Review of Hotel Le Recif
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Feb 2017
Hotel Recif is a very nice hotel and well located.
Only 40 minutes away from the airport.
Just 50-100 metres away from a lovely beach.
Rooms are tidy and clean.
The hotel might need a bit of an upgrade to keep his good rating, but I am sure they will.
Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review
Responded 28 Feb 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you spent a nice time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 3 740
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 740
2.5 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 2 044
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 044
1.0 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vue sur la savane depuis la piscine
Tripadvisor
R 2 604
R 2 274
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Intérieur Piscine Hôtel Blue Beach
Tripadvisor
R 2 824
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 824
1.1 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 3 173
R 3 027
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hotel Website
1.2 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 589
R 1 495
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 495
1.9 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 4 739
R 4 210
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 210
4.0 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 8 876
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 876
2.9 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 216
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Reviews (2 124)
Filter reviews
2 124 results
Traveller rating
863
843
291
99
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
863
843
291
99
28
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2 124 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Our shipped was docked due to electrical issues so this was not a visit by choice. The room was lovely in a minimalist style. The flower blossoms throughout the room were an extra added touch of the beautiful grounds brought to our room. Flowering trees decorated the grounds. There were two pools, didn't swim but both looked great. Breakfast offered more options than one could possibly eat. We ate the dinner buffet in the bar - it was ok, we were tired so it worked. The beach is easy to reach & I highly recommend taking an early morning walk to see/hear the hundreds of birds in the trees near the ocean.

Room tip: We were next to a park area where kids were camping. Room was well insulated so when we closed the door we didn't hear the kids.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenkinghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de L'hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear "karenkinghome",

Thank you so much for leaving your impressions about your stay.

We are pleased that your unexpected stay went well.

Your review rewards the whole team and it is very important for us to have a chance to read your feedback.
We always look for improvements; therefore we make sure we can fully satisfy every guest.

Thank you so much for your comment about the breakfast.

Feel free to contact us again should you wish to visit Reunion Island once more.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We did not expect to have a hotel stay here, but when our expedition ship had mechanical problems in port they put us up here for two nights while it was under repairs. This is an older property but a large resort compared to most in the area. The rooms were spartan but clean, quiet, and comfortable. It has several nice swimming pools. The breakfast offered a good selection of fresh juices, pastries, fruit, and eggs made to order. In the evenings the restaurant can be fully booked, so in peak season make reservations. There is also a little poolside BBQ buffet that was not bad for 18 euros. Can't tell you if it was a good bang for the buck, as I did not pay for the room. What I can tell you is that some of the other passengers were put up in other nearby hotels and complained of poor service, bad food and no air conditioning. This was certainly NOT the case at this hotel where the food was good, staff was friendly, room was clean and the air conditioning worked perfectly. I would stay again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cmhimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Cindy M,

Thank you so much for this lovely comment about your stay. We are pleased that your stay went well.

It is very important for us to provide the best service for all our guests and we are delighted to read you enjoyed the service of our team.

Thank you so much for your comment about the breakfast, our restaurants, your room and the pool. We do our best to satisfy each guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again. Feel free to contact us again should you wish to visit La Réunion once more.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Arrived 30/12/2016 late at night. Check-in was quick. Parking bit of a problem. Breakfast every day was good. Although stays the same every day except for the main dish. Kids loved the pancakes. Clean beach towels every day. 2 x big swimming pools. Literally on the beach to go for snorkeling. Shops about 900m away. Really very convenient, clean and comfortable. Located on the main jogging path along the beach.
We never ate lunch or dinner at the restaurant of the hotel. Tried places in the area.
Please be aware that shops close between 12:00-14:00 or sometimes even 15:00. Even if you go sightseeing remember the little towns almost close down between those times.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank elmien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
Your feedback is a motivation for us to work even harder on the service.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

3rd year of staying here. Very nice hotel with friendly staff and immaculately clean. Rooms serviced daily to high standard and good food. Right next to beach and 2 good pools (although one was being relined during my stay this year). Highly recommended :)

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ajondyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear Valued Customer,

First of all, thank you so much for this relevant review. We really appreciate it.

We are very pleased to read that it is your 3rd stay with us.

The cleanliness is crucial for us and make sure we meet our high every day.

We love what we doing here and it is a pleasure to read what you said about the hotel!

We wish you a lovely Xmas and a Happy New Year 2017!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

what a fabulous location and amazing little hotel. perfectly positioned with beautiful views, great food, cold beer and even good service. I would highly recommend it to families or couples. centrally located too

Room tip: we had an upstairs pool view
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liquidtravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a report about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful 5 star review!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words are highly appreciated, we do try to go above and beyond to create memorable experiences for our guests so it is great to read that we managed to do so for you as well.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews